We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”
Review of Acropolis Museum

Acropolis Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.55*
and up
Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum
Ranked #1 of 349 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Modern, uptodate building on the foot of the Acropolis housing important ancient Greek statues and much more
Auckland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I definitely think it's worth visiting before the Acropolis for some background information as well as the pure enjoyment of a well thought out museum. My only issue was the somewhat confusing layout of the slopes of the Acropolis, because weaving through everything felt long and complicated. However, overall, this was an amazing museum and well designed.

Tip: the floors are see through so you may want to reconsider a skirt/dress as people on lower floors might look up. Or wear leggings, your call.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22,628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,160
    4,242
    991
    181
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We visited here after going round the Acropolis. Well worth it! A very good museum. It was also good to get into an air conditioned environment! We went with a guide who we abandoned to explore by ourselves. This is easy because the direction and signage are very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pickwick53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Do it.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just had a great lol reading the 'terrible' reviews. This place is awesome, and I get bored in museums. Wonderfully curated, beautifully designed building, Acropolis visible through most windows (very cool), neither crammed nor sparse, top floor gallery is incredible (laid out like the real Parthenon), good value for money. Nice way to spend half a day out of the heat, and a must see in Athens.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank zoeb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved this museum”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This museum didn't exist the last time I went to Athens, so it was a nice addition to the sightseeing circuit. The architecture of the building itself is very nice, mirroring the Parthenon across the way. The layout of freizes on the top floor mirrors their positioning in the Acropolis, though they're much easier to see and appreciate (what's not at the British Museum, that is). the antiquities in the lower levels are laid out very nicely with very helpful descriptions. Even my 10 and 12 year old boys enjoyed this museum. It's very well done.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MamaAyinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great museum”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We loved the new Acropolis museum but we would like to be able and take photos as a memoir of our visit.
Unfrotunately photos are not allowed but people still do take some when they think they are not watched.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eleni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acropolis Museum also viewed

 

Been to Acropolis Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing