We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The circus!”
Review of Great Escape

Great Escape
Ranked #1 of 50 Fun & Games in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Great Escape is the biggest real life escape room game in Athens. Located at the heart of the city, Great Escape Rooms expand ones imagination while exercising perceptual skills, and promotes collaboration processes. The team is consisted of 2 to 8 members, which are getting "locked" in a theme room. Their goal is to complete their mission within the given timeframe, by overcoming obstacles and solving puzzles, activating not only the mind, but all five senses as well.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Great time competing in the circus this week. The room was very unique unlike a lot of the escape rooms we have done in the past. Would certainly recommend to someone looking for a challenge and some fun.

1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Angelo89, Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

John, we are glad you enjoyed playing The Circus! Hope to see you back in Great Escape soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"perfect crime"
in 33 reviews
"escape room"
in 24 reviews
"schindler's list"
in 9 reviews
"escape game"
in 6 reviews
"circus room"
in 5 reviews
"live performance"
in 4 reviews
"secret agent"
in 3 reviews
"amazing activity"
in 3 reviews
"great fun"
in 7 reviews
"exciting game"
in 2 reviews
"live action"
in 2 reviews
"interesting puzzles"
in 2 reviews
"experienced team"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 6 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 5 reviews
"riddles"
in 29 reviews
"guantanamo"
in 14 reviews
Filter

32 - 36 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017

Lots of fun, great set and interesting puzzles, also a logical plot lines. We played Circus which was an enjoyable introduction to escape games. (As an experienced pair we completed it with 24 minutes to spare). We then tried "Secret Agent"/Schindler's List - it was a much tougher game with more to do, and more distractions, which had some lovely twists within the activities themselves! (We escaped with 10 mins to spare - but had to take three hints)
They have a number of rooms, so good for big teams. Also you can purchase table top 'Escape the room' brand games from those reception.

Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Angelo89, Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hello Audrey, thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Great fun, creative escape room, good hints. Great to do with kids--we did it with our 11 and 13 year olds. Easy access to metro stop. The room is a little dingy--but that is part of the feel.

1  Thank HawaiiBunnyLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Angelo89, Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are happy you enjoyed your time at Great Escape. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Having done a few "escape rooms" in other countries, we thought we knew what to expect when we signed up for Great Escape. Our expectations were met, then exceeded and then raised to such a high level that whatever escape room we do next is only going to look amateurish after coming here. It really is that fantastically thought out and executed.

The waiting room initially looks small, until you step around the corner of the entrance and realize there is a larger sitting room with chairs and sofas, plus a water cooler and bathroom. When we arrived, we were the only ones there, and when we made our way out, the place was getting crowded with families, friends and groups of travelers of all ages.

The woman working the counter was very polite and welcomed us to get situated while the room was prepared. Once it was, she guided us outside into another room and our Schindler's List challenge started. For this one, we were spies tasked with finding the titular list and then finding our way out of the room. There's way more to it than that, but I don't want to spoil the fun for anyone looking to sign up for this one. Just remember if you get stuck, your monitor will display helpful clues to point you in the right direction. (Also, if you decide to go through with this one, you might want to use the flashlight on your phone - this room gets a little dark in some places.)

We made it out with a whopping four seconds to spare but had an absolute blast. If we had more time, we would have gladly done another room (especially since they look to offer discounts on doing multiple rooms in the same day). They have so many themes, including some live-action escape rooms a la a horror movie, and if they are done as well as the room we did, this should definitely be on your list of things to do in Athens.

(With all that said, be forewarned that this is a good challenge. The three of us have successfully escaped other rooms before, but this one was the most involved and mind-bending we had seen yet. And they have harder rooms here, too! Flex your mental muscles and you'll have an awesome time.)

2  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Angelo89, Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you Alex for your extensive review. It is always pleasant to hear such good words from our players!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Even after around 15 escape rooms so far I found this room challenging. Took the Guantanamo escape room with 2 members more. You must hurry and think fast if you want to enjoy the entire room levels. We really enjoyed the game with its beautiful decoration although everytime we got stuck, the operator sent us a clue. Not recommended as your first or even second room.

2  Thank Shlomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Angelo89, Manager at Great Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hello Shlomi! We are glad you enjoyed the "Guantanamo" escape room. We hope to see you again at Great Escape, to live a new experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Escape also viewed

 

Been to Great Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing