We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yellow hop on hop of bus”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Athens Street

EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
160 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Yellow hop on hop of bus”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We were on the Crown Princess that docked at Piraeus
We decided to take a Yellow hop on hop of bus but stay on for the complete route. We say the girl she confirmed this was possible and with confirmation bought tickets.
So. on 27th November, we that is 4 of us selected to do a 90 minute tour Piraeus to Athens!
What happened was dreadful, at the Acropolis told to change bus, so we repeated the city centre tour! then hit a demonstration and traffic!. Eventually back to Acropolis again, and another change and whisked back to Piraeus by direct route.
We were tired worried about was happening cold desperate needed a WC.
On return contacted Yellow hop on hop of bus and no reply.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    10
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
concord nh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Athinas St. . . . THE Street to Be in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Whenever we go to Athens we stay at the Attalos Hotel on Athinas Street . . . one of the best locations to be in Athens. A short walk from the Monistiraki Metro Station & Square, the Acropolis, the Plaka, the Central Markets (Fish, Meat, Produce) it's lined with shops for the "everyman" in all of us. We have been there when strikes & protests were held and never had any problems. Always lively and never once been accosted or approached by anyone to pester us. If you are looking for real Greek experience then Athinas St. is for you. Of course, like any major city one always needs to use common sense, but again, we have never had any problems during our stays there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank crazyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Is the subway safe?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I took the subway to go to the ferry, very early in the morning.
I witnessed someone being mugged. 5 guys went inside the subway and jumped on the tourist. At the next stop they where out.
When arrived at the final stop to the Ferry, the person who sells ferry tickets told me that the past few weeks it did happen often at the same time (5.30-6am).
My point is just be alert if you are taking the subway very early (in the ferry's subway line)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walking throuh all Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Clean, safe, interesting. Good bus and metro system. People very friendly. Tourisitc information office very useful and generous. Absolute nice, cozy, good weather, every thing perfect

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's just a street and not a beautiful one...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

It's just a street and not a beautiful one... I pass it on a regular basis since it's in the center of Athens, but I wonder why it's even up for review

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nizz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Athens Street also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Athens Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing