We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A traditional greek restaurant with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Myrtia

Myrtia
Ranked #53 of 3,640 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A traditional greek restaurant with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We went there for a dinner after a friend recommended this place for it's excellent food and big portions. The place prooved to be worhty of my friends recommendation. The place is a classic greek restaurant, but the staff is very helpful and professional. We ordered mostly meat dishes which were very well prepared and the portions were certainly above average. At the end they served us "loukoumades" (a greek pastry) with honey and melted chocolate on top. Totally recommended for families and for tourists, as a very safe place to eat extremely well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aggelos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    62
    13
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Forlimpopoli, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The ultimate greek experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

If you love typical greek food you must visit this place. Excellent quality, huge portions and fair prices! Service is fast and accurate. Friendly staff. This is no fake tavern for turist! Here you find greek families...so, you definitely gotta try it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mykonos
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quality Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Food was local and well prepared need to get a taxi or go by tram there station (Ag. Paraskeui). Seems like an original greek tavern where locals hang out, nice quiet location.. Didnt like - I couldnt take any food back home with me.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mykonosadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The masters of meat flavor, for the purists among the meat lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

i went to Myrtia after reading the review in here and i clearly was looking for a good piece of meat.

It wasn't easy to find the restaurant, the neighborhood is very calm despite the vibrant and loud atmosphere of the restaurant.

the service is very good and quick. i wanted to try as many flavors as possible so i ordered a mix of fried vegetables as an entree and a selection of skewers for the main course.
The portions are huge, the entree is ok. The meat is just amazingly tender and flavourful. I always considered chicken skewers to be dry and falvourless. At Myrtia, i think i had the best chicken skewers in a very long time.

The beauty of Myrtia's and their art resides in that the meat is not soaked in sauce or it flavor altered by spices and other condiments. It is a puristic meat skewers with minimal fuss: barely some salt and pepper and a hint of spice. A plain meat skewer can be tasty only if the meat quality is excellent and the grilling time is perfectly mastered!
I strongly recommend this restaurant for the purists among the meat lovers!

I ate maybe double what i would eat on a normal meal, yet i couldn't finish the main course. so i had to skip the dessert and cherished a fresh watermelon offered instead.

All the above + a raki added to less than 20 EUR bill! just AMAZING!

i would definitely come back to this restaurant on my next trip to Athens. I will make sure though to skip a meal before heading there! :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece athens
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“By far the best meat in athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I have been several times and always have great food experience.
Food and so good grill meat can find only in greek villages.
I would suggest it cause all the central and near acropolis tavern and rests are awful and are tourist traps.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaltsilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Myrtia also viewed

 
Paleo Faliro, Athens
Paleo Faliro, Athens
 

Been to Myrtia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing