We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a nice place to invite friends”

Agora Select Restaurant
Ranked #105 of 3,750 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$73
Cuisines: Greek, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a nice place to invite friends”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a place I love to go by myself or invite my friends. It can get busy so reservation is highly recommended. There is a good balance between quality and price. Portions are big, 2 people can easily share one main course. Very quick and polite service. In the end we had a very nice treat, half pineapple stuffed with mango ice cream.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    132
    33
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Huge portions of great food!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Foolishly we ordered 3 starters and 3 main courses, when one or the other would have been fine! Grilled Halumi Cheese - excellent! Fried mushrooms - excellent! The Tuna steak, the rump steak and the seafood linguini were cooked perfectly.

Oh yes, the French Fries, don't forget the French Fries, they were out of this world! :-)

Helpful?
Thank PhatTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dusseldorf
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“top recommendation for lunch or dinner in the center”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

a centraly located restaurant with friendly and proffesional waiters interesting customers and a very nice atmosphere both winter and summer. Fast the whole year you can eat outside on the terrace. Prices are faire and the portions big enough to get you satisfied.
It is a very good choise to go there as a couple,with friends or for business.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a very good proposal”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Right next to the Hilton , but in a nice garden patio giving you the impression that you are out of town. Indeed a very beautiful environment though too hot for the warm nights of Athens and the air fans are not of great help. However, you should expect generous and tasteful food, professional service and attention therefore recommended as a down-town restaurant. The place was packed full hence reserve in advance.

On the negative side just like almost everywhere in Greece we were most annoyed if not disappointed with two show-off peasants next to us chain smoking not cigarettes but cigars, table on our left with seven smokers and on our right five chain smokers. We felt like being in a furnace though we were in a half open patio, yet this is something common and seems to bother nobody in Greece. Ourselves, will choose non smoking properties but they are very very few much to non smokers' regret.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NSIM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice and simple”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This restaurant is in a small street just behind the hilton. It has a pleasant green courtyard and over all looks very attractive. We had lunch there twice (no dinner) and were satisfied after each visit. There is not a lot on the menu but there is something for everyone. I was a little surprised not to find anything lamb related though in a Greek restaurant, but perhaps they have it on the daily specials. Portions are big and the food is good without being star quality, but the bill is not high either. Waiters are very pleasant and speak good English. Do not go if you are in a hurry though. We had to wait over half an hour before our food appeared (one salad, one spaghetti and two pork chops). But then it never serves to be in a rush in Greece.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spillemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agora Select Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Agora Select Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing