We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware this hotel refused any credit cards and demanded cash”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ionion Hotel Piraeus
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“beware this hotel refused any credit cards and demanded cash”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

the hotel is directly across the street from where the big Blue Star ferries dock that is the one big undeniable advantage it has the hotel physically is mediocre the price is not particularly cheap the wifi was horrible but the one thing that was inexcusable was that upon checkout the desk clerk demanded cash and cash only and refused credit cards and I have the receipt they gave me to prove it this is a violation of its agreement with booking com I reported it to them they confirmed that it was a violation if true and why would I make this story up and the hotel is currently under investigation by booking com

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    23
    15
    8
See reviews for
27
25
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great location to stay overnight to catch the early ferry to Paros. The hotel is less than a five minute walk from the bus stop from the airport and the Metro is a hop skip and a jump too. the rooms are clean and tidy, can get free wifi and the guy at the desk is very helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The four stars are for those who need to catch an early morning ferry, especially to Santorini. The location of the hotel, in the back streets of Piraeus, may not be overly confidence inspiring, but the hotel itself is fine. The rooms are somewhat spartan but clean, large and perfectly adequate for a 1 or 2 night stay. The management friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast fine. The big advantage is the fact that the ferry terminal is a few minutes walk. The Blue Star to Santorini leaves just across the street. Recommended for a night or two.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel was easy to reach, it's so close to the airport bus, the trolly bus and the metro. There is Wi fi in the hotel, the breakfast was fine.
The location is perfect to catch a ferry to go to the islands, you just cross the pedestrian bridge to the port.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located next to the night bus X96 from airport, merely 2 blocks from metro station and about 7min walk from port... Rooms are clean, great balcony in our room (402), but surrounding noise can be a problem, since not very soundproof.. but overall great for short stays of 1 or 2 nights! will go back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courbevoie
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Very simple confort, noisy, but perfect for staying one night before or after going to Cyclades Islands. The hotel is at 2 minutes from the Blue Star Ferry & Hellenic Seaway boats boarding spots.
The manager is very kind, very reliable, just tell him at what time you arrive so you are sure to have your room (specially when the boat is late at night).
Price is good for the location and confort offered.

Room Tip: We had room 201 (2 adults + 1 child). Ok but a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPS92400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived late in the evening - took a taxi from Athens airport which was pricey but we wanted to get to Piraeus in time for supper. This hotel is great because it's a few steps from the marina which has nice restaurants overlooking the small boats - rather than being in the big sprawl of the port itself. The staff were fantastic - kind and helpful - they got breakfast for us at 6am and ordered us a taxi to take us the 5 minutes to the port. Hotel simple, but clean and a good place to rest before taking an early morning ferry. We'd return and very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsKateCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#6 of 27 in Piraeus
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Anemoni
Hotel Anemoni
#7 of 27 in Piraeus
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niki Hotel
Niki Hotel
#18 of 27 in Piraeus
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Argo Anita
Hotel Argo Anita
#12 of 27 in Piraeus
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#3 of 27 in Piraeus
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionion Hotel Piraeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionion Hotel Piraeus

Property: Ionion Hotel Piraeus
Address: 10 Kapodistriou, Piraeus 185 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ionion Hotel Piraeus 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ionion Hotel Piraeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing