We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”
Review of Hellenic Seaways

Hellenic Seaways
Ranked #10 of 45 things to do in Piraeus
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Does the job”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Was concerned after reading both good and bad reviews what it would be like to sail with this company but I have to say we had no problems. We sailed from Pireaus to Ios, Ios to Santorini and Santorini back to Pireaus all on the Highspeed 6 with the longest of the trips being about four hours. The boats are incredibly punctual, this does involve being a bit manic when the boats pull in to a stop but its nothing to be concerned about, all part of the fun!

We booked our first boat trip separately (3 girls travelling together) and even though we didn't pick up the printed tickets until we got to the port we were still all seated separately. Seats our obviously assigned when you book online and not when you pick up the actually printed tickets, an error on our behalf. We booked economy tables for our shorter trip which would be very handy if you are travelling with children, however for our longer trips we picked economy seats as these seats recline and the table ones do not.

Had the same staff for all three of our sailings and they were pleasant while trying to keep to a strict timetable.The boat itself is fine, easy to walk around and there was a small souvenir shop and somewhere to buy food which was quite nice. All the days we sailed were quite windy and the boat was slightly rocky, however nothing too drastic and didn't see many people who were sea sick but to keep in mind that the boat does pitch and roll if you are prone to sea sickness.

The luggage is kept downstairs where the cars are, having read reviews about someones luggage getting stolen we lugged our suitcases up two flights of stairs on our first journey and stored them on luggage racks near our seats. However we didn't bother for our other two sailing and had no issues but it is easy to see how suitcases could be taken with little bother.

All in all would recommend Hellenic seaways for fast sailings between islands, while the tickets are more expensive than other slower sailings it was worth it for us as we had a relatively short trip. There were no problems booking online and picking up the tickets upon your arrival at the port, just ensure you leave plenty of time to que and get your tickets before the boat arrives, and if you want to sit together, book all in one booking!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hkegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    124
    67
    30
    104
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK Trip”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were delayed due to weather on our trip from Heraklion, Crete to Santorini. The staff were not extremely helpful getting us rescheduled. We really had to push them. The boat itself was nice but a lot of people got sick and the bathrooms got pretty gross toward the end of the trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highspeed 6 from Santorini to Pireaus”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Took the Blue Star Delos from Pireaus (Athens) to Santorini and was unsatisfied with the amount of smoke on the aft (open air) deck. Opted for the "VIP" section on the Hellenic Seaways Highspeed 6 back to Pireaus and was incredibly pleased with the difference. The 6 cruises at 40 kts (vs 26 kts on the Delos), and the ride was wonderful. We had our own table with A/C power and large, reclinable, leather seats. If you're looking to travel with comfort, splurge for the VIP ticket on the Highspeed 6; it is totally worth it.

Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great experience on Cat 5!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My daughter & I recently traveled on the Hellenic Seaways Cat 5 ferry and had a wonderful experience! We have read so many reviews about this ferry and heard two extremes--really great and really bad. We were worried and wondered if we made a wise decision to travel by boat. We think it all depends on the weather conditions. Thankfully we had a GREAT experience. We took the ferry from Santorini to Mykonos and it was a beautiful day--little wind. Loading on the ferry was not very organized. Although we waited in a line to board, others rushed the barricades and rushed onboard. That was a little crazy. We placed our luggage on the lower level and headed up to business class. Business class seats placed us in the front of the boat. Seats are comfortable and windows all around allowed for great views. They have a food service and prices were reasonable. They announce over loud speaker system when you need to prepare to exit the boat and we had plenty of time to get our bags and wait for the door to open. However, you don't want to delay getting on/off the ferry. We met friends that missed the boat because it was such a quick stop. They don't waste any time! Again, we had a great experience and would do it again. It was fun seeing the other islands on our way to Mykonos.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CbrandOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Alternative to Flying”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We took the Highspeed 5 from Mykonos to Santorini and the Highspeed 6 from Santorini to Athens (pireaus). We traveled business class on both trips and let me tell you it is worth the cost. We sat in business class with a table but looking back we would have chosen regular business class seats. Table seats are good for groups. They dont recline like the regular business class seats and when you book tickets for two, they put you on opposite sides of the table and not next to each other. This wasnt a huge issue since business class is usually half empty and you can go sit where ever but if it was full your mate would be across from you and a stranger by your side. VIP didnt seem to be worth the cost. Maybe a little more comfortable seats but nothing special for the price. There is a separate cafe for business class on the HS 5 and a shared one with VIP on the HS 6. It serves a select amount of food that is okay. They tend to run late so expect this. The port in Mykonos is nice and breezy the port in Santorini is a sweat box. It is crowed but so are the greek islands in june, july and august. We found it to be a nice alternative to the hassle flying had become. BUSINESS CLASS all the way. Coach appeared to resemble herded cattle. Hot, cramped, nauseated and miserable. Would travel this way again and recommend to F&F

Helpful?
1 Thank Dinner-For-Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hellenic Seaways also viewed

Piraeus, Piraeus Region
Piraeus, Piraeus Region
 
Piraeus, Piraeus Region
 

Been to Hellenic Seaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing