We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at this hotel. Mosquitoes, shady neighbourhood and very bad service”
Review of Niki Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Niki Hotel
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay at this hotel. Mosquitoes, shady neighbourhood and very bad service”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose to stay at Niki hotel as we had thought it will be a convenient place for an overnight before catching the early ferry. But we regretted it very much as we hardly got much sleep!!! The aircon was apparently undergoing upgrading and the staff did inform us upon checkin. It was already 7pm and the neighbourhood was rather shady and we just wanted to checkin quickly. So we requested for a fan but the reply was "if I can find one". The room was stuffy and when we opened the doors to let the much cooler outside air in, mosquitoes filled the room. It was very unbearable and I hardly got any sleep. The next morning, despite having to wake up earlier (and we were actually relieved the night is finally over!) to shower so as to freshen ourselves up. That's how bad it is. Upon check out, I wanted to just feedback to the staff so at least they know about the situation and can improve the stay for future guests. To my horror, the staff actually knew there were mosquitoes and when I questioned why alternatives (like fan or repellent) aren't provided, the staff said matter of factly "it's only one night. When you change your aircon at home, don't you have to bear with the same thing". So if you don't want your holiday to be ruin for "just one night", stay at other hotels!!! Even if they are slightly further from the port, you will do much better with a basic good night sleep that paying guests should deserve and Niki hotel obviously do not understand.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sytan1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikOs83, Ιδιοκτήτης at Niki Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Good evening.we want to inform that when you checked in to our hotel my brother informed you about upgrating our air conditions that night and you had the choice to leave our hotel with no charge of course because we understand the fact that you may need air condition .in addition we had fan in most of the rooms but when you asked for we didnt have anyone available.we choose that night to make this upgrating because the weather wasnt so hot.also,about mosquitos you could asked for a tablet from reception.because of summer etc most of the places specially in Piraeus have mosquitos thats why we do disinfection so often.about your check out i was in the reception and i just asked for your understanding(thats why i said its like upgrating our home and we will have a few problems until we finish and i believe that happene d in every renovation even in a hotel even in a home) and i just said that we apologize for everything(i never said that we dont need to replace etc) and we tried the best for our customer thats why we tried to finish the upgrating as soon as possible.we are a family hotel almost 40 years and we try the best for our customer even the choose us for one night even for more.thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    18
    28
    12
    17
See reviews for
10
61
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

the hotel was clean enough but the bathoroom was tiny and the shover had no even the curtai!! so when we took shover we flooded it! the bed was confortable enough, but honestly i wouldnt saty there for more than one night, coz the area is kinda creepy (all athens in general is very dirty and bad looking) and almost 10 km from the city center, the acropolis and the leisure area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violetta1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed at Hotel Niki twice for two nights in June 2011.

I would say it is best suited to seasoned travellers, solos or young couples who don't have high expectations of a budget hotel. It definitely is not very suitable for young families. Female solo travellers should take care walking around the area at night time.

Rooms are basic but adequate. First room I had was on the 3rd floor, very small and dark and it was noisy during the night. When I returned I stayed on the top floor and the room was spacious, very clean and had a balcony - don't think many rooms had balconies. Bathrooms have hand held shower - yes the bathroom gets wet as one expects in a budget Greek hotels, its no worse than any other.

The surrounding area isn't pretty, rather unkempt, the hotel is located in a back street about 7-10 mins walk from the Port. I never felt unsafe whilst walking around the local area but there were a few dodgy looking characters about.

Although I didn't witness it I am fairly certain that the hotel is used by the ladies of the night, the 24hr porn on the tv leads one to this conclusion as well...

Despite its slight seediness this hotel is far better than another budget hotel I stayed at closer to the port. If I have the need to stay in Pireaus again as a budget traveller I would return to Niki.

Room Tip: Request the rooms on the upper floors as they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I used to stay in this hotel with my wife for one night waiting for the ferry the next morning. The hotel room was good and also the service was ok, but the neighborhood was horrible, really poorly attended. Good for the ferry (really near to the port). For one night should be fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Piraeus hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loutra, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Bad erea but close to the port if u need to go early in morning to some island's. The service was great helpful and always nice. The room it self is clean but me problems like the toalet had some problems.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Pros : *Situated close to Port of Piraeus .
*You can get good breakfast in your room and at any time you want .
*Staff is kind and helpful.
Cons: *We ordered room with balcony but we got without one.They had problems with air - conditioning.It did not work and in the room was too hot and uncomfortable.We asked they to switch on that but the answer was unfortunately it broke but we will fix it till tomorrow .Next day nothing changed we just got answer they cannot fix it so quickly .After two hot nights they still switched something like air-conditioning but anyway it did not work like it must.So if you want to sleep in cool room solve this question before making reservation.
*The room was too small .
*For the first time it is not very easy to find hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the room faced to the street not courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Very nice hotel in Piraeus. We had rather spacious clean room with big balcony. Stayed for 1 night and were very satisfied with the service, we had an opportunity to leave the luggage for the whole next day. Room also had very modern lightning.
Not very easy to find!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Argo Anita
Hotel Argo Anita
#12 of 27 in Piraeus
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#9 of 27 in Piraeus
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#2 of 27 in Piraeus
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ionion Hotel Piraeus
Ionion Hotel Piraeus
#22 of 27 in Piraeus
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#6 of 27 in Piraeus
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niki Hotel

Property: Niki Hotel
Address: 5 Tzelepi Giannakou | Ippodamias Square, Piraeus 185 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Niki Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niki Hotel, offers since 1976 its warm hospitality in the center of Piraeus. Our location is ideal, as situated in a discreet and quiet area, near(5 minutes walking) the main port of the country, the subway, the Athens suburban train station, as well as all the commercial shops. Our long experience makes us one of the best choices in our sector. We offer 24 spacious rooms with modern decoration, 2 suites with king size beds (located in the first basement of the hotel ), four options isometric lights and jacuzzi for 2 persons. At the same time we believe you will be impressed by our reception area, which is harmoniously completed by a beautiful lounge.The Hotel is Located 8 km from the Acropolis and 35 km from the airport. The bus-station from where you can go to the airport, Acropolis, or various beaches is located 500 meters from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Niki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing