We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yuck!”
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Park Hotel
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This hotel is NOT good. Dirty. Bugs. Looks like the decor was selected from a garage sale. TV is more or less the size of my palm. Bed extremely short. Oh you wanted to use the desk? Well, you're out of luck, because the refrigerator is beneath it. Bathroom tiles from the 1970's. Oh the big curtains on the room's back wall? Wanna pull them back to see the view? There isn't one. They cover a cement wall. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Piraeus Dream Hotel instead. Also not the fanciest, but MUCH more hygienic and comfortable. I'm a college student used to hopping between hostels, and in my year abroad these are the yuckiest accommodations I've come across.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    13
    17
    11
    17
See reviews for
9
25
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Rooms comfortable and clean.
Toilet/shower room small and dark due to the dark coloured wall tiles and no natural light.
Staff at reception very helpful and informative.
Breakfast was basic Greek version of a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed 4 nights (€55 a night) and really enjoyed our time.
It's not luxurious but you have to see the whole thing in context. The room will be clean and sheets changed daily but don't expect chocolates on your pillow or a rose petal turndown. The bathroom may have a cracked tile or two but it will be clean and useable and will always have fresh toiletries. The balcony may have only a view of the garden but bear in mind the hotel is on the port side and in the (paraphrased) words of Basil Fawlty "What did you expect to see from a Piraeus hotel window, the Sydney Opera House, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon?"
The staff are very friendly and ready to help with any questions. The breakfast is quite simple and consists of cereal, pastries, toast, juice, tea and coffee. 
The hotel has free Wifi and is a 10 minute walk to either the Greek Islands ferry port or the Zeas Marina which has all kinds of restaurants and is lovely for a wander. The Athens open top bus tour goes right by the end of the road and it's a 5 minute walk for the airport bus.  
In summary don't expect 5* luxury but it's not the flea bitten hell hole some would have you believe! Overall a very good and underrated city break hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed_n_Hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

A room, advertised with a queen bed, down quilts was a joke. First of all, this hotel is in a VERY seedy area with druggies passed out by the alley. The front feature, lobby was pretty classy, lucky them because the rest of the hotel was less than the condemned hotels in the city we live in.
The queen bed was two twin beds, pushed together. We pulled off the sheets to put a bed bug protector on the mattresses and were disgusted by the filth of the stained dirty mattresses. There was no place to put out luggage down as all the "wooden" furniture reeked and was broken. No luggage stand, of course. Two people could not walk side by side in the room it was so tiny. The "balcony" looked out at the drunks and druggies in the back alley, the park next to it was full of wild dogs that barked and chased vehicles at night. We didn't stay though, after I left the stench to throw up on the streets outside we realized we could not and would not stay here. We checked out and the desk clerk said"Oh, I'll book you into a queen bed". I would rather sleep in the park with the homeless than stay there. STAY AWAY, there is NO good reason to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Piraeus hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed at The Park Hotel twice on our way to Crete and on our way back. The hotel is just 5 minutes from the port of Piraeus! It is also very convenient as you can walk around the market of Piraeus, to the yatching port and to the museums or take the bus (next to the hotel there is a bus stop) and visit Athens. We had to spend a day in Athens in order to take the boat to Crete so we had the opportunity to look a bit around! The hotel is very clean, cozy, and the personel is very helpful. The rooms are small but colorful and nicely decorated. There is also free WiFi and NON smoking floors!!!!!! Also the breakfast is really good! Freshly baked croissant that I loved, nice coffee (a very important thing for me!), and many more things! It is a very convenient hotel and I got a very good rate through their website (Ithink booking.com also had the same rates)!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller360W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Its not a bad hotel to spend the night if you are waiting for a ferry for the next day. The rooms where a bit outdated and the elevator was a very small and scary but for the rest it was not so bad.

The hotel is located 5 minutes walk to the port and close to the shopping street in Piraeus so I can recommend this hotel if you need to spend a night there but stay away from here ( from Piraeus ) if you not need to be here.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dutchtravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We found ourselves stranded in Piraeus for a night because of the Greek ferry strike. I made the school-boy error of selecting this hotel because of another online site, and because I thought the 'Best Western' affiliation would guarantee a certain standard.

That was mistake no. 1, the next was not checking the previous Tripadvisor reviews. If I had of read them then I would have steered well clear.

Just about everything was substandard - bedroom like a prison cell, tiny bathroom that hasn't been modernised since the 1970's ? The lady on reception said she was unable to match the online price offered - so I sat in the Reception and booked online there and then.

I'd already told her we were off first thing the next morning for the ferry, and so booked Room only. I heard other guests later complaining that they'd paid for breakfast as well, and the receptionist had taken their extra cash, whilst knowing that b'fast didn't start until after their departure.

This place is a shocker !! And I'm stunned that Best Western associate themselves with it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesandNichola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Noufara
Hotel Noufara
#7 of 27 in Piraeus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Faros II Hotel
Faros II Hotel
#17 of 27 in Piraeus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Anemoni
Hotel Anemoni
#8 of 27 in Piraeus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#12 of 27 in Piraeus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#6 of 27 in Piraeus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Faros 1 Hotel
Faros 1 Hotel
#5 of 27 in Piraeus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Property: The Park Hotel
Address: 103 Kolokotroni, Piraeus 185 35, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Piraeus
Piraeus Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing