We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude guide”

Piraeus Express Bus
Ranked #1 of 20 Tours in Piraeus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We provide exciting tour's from the Port of Piraeus.
Alingsas, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rude guide”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

(NOTE! This review is for the Piraues/Athens tour - not Katakolon/Olympia)

The guide George is probably very knowledgeable, but he was quite rude towards both coworkers and guests/customers (incl children), which made the guided tour less than a pleasant experience.

We also had some problem with the port authorities, delaying the departure (and thus shortening the tour) 45 minutes. Whether Piraeus Express could be blamed for the delay (b.o. their choice of bus) could probably be debated, but what really was bad was that nobody took responsibility and provided information to the parked bus packed with people. "I don't know anything, I'm just the guide. I don't know anything, I'm just the administrator. I don't know anything, I'm just the driver."
Some choose to leave and grab a taxi instead, and in retrospect, maybe we should have too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedishFamilyOfFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T, Owner at Piraeus Express Bus, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for writing your review. Unfortunately you did not travel with our Company but with the "copy cats" who started business using our name and exactly the same signs at the Port of Piraeus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    66
    6
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diepenbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect way to discover Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were greeted by Katarina at the port of Piraeus. We could immediately get on the air-conditioned bus while we waited for the other participants. From the minute we left the port Katarina and her team were smiling and making sure we had a fun day discovering Athens.

They told us lots of interesting stories and fun facts about the city and its residents. We got just the right amount of time to see all the sites. The programme was planned perfectly so that we got to see certain activities such as the changing of the guards without losing any time waiting around.

So if you would like to have a fun day in Athens, Piraeus Express is definitely the way to go. These people really enjoy what they do and this shows in their approach and the way they interact with their clients.
If you arrive on a cruise ship, don't book an expensive excursion on board but look for Katarina and her team just outside the port. They will show you more of Athens for probably half the price the cruise line charges.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T, Owner at Piraeus Express Bus, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tour of Athens was worthwhile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had not made provision for any tour in Athens. It was our original intention to just take a taxi to the centre and make our own way around. There was a lady holding a Piraeus Express sign at the port. She was taking a spanish your, but she said if we waited she would arrange an English guide for us. Anna was our guide and I have to say, she alone made the tour very special. Such a lovely person with nice friendly smile and very good English. She clearly loves her city. It was great value at $25 per person (excluding cost of entrance to Acropolis, Temple of Zeus and lunch). The free wifi was a bonus and we all (seven of us including two children) used it. We were taken from sight to sight (I grabbed the best frappe coffee at the first stop whilst we waited for others to use the restrooms). We purchased tickets at the Temple of Zeus which also allowed entrance to the Acropolis. Anna did not accompany us into these sights. The Acropolis in Particular was very crowded, especially at one point. It is worth being patient there is a lot of space once you reach the top. Anna was waiting for us as arranged and we enjoyed a lovely lunch before being taken back to our ship. Lastly I had been searching for a post box during our tour but as I never saw one Anna kindly offered to post them in my behalf. Thank you Anna the post cards all reached their destinations. We had a beautiful day and the Greek baclava we took took away with us was better than that in Turkey!! I wish I had some now!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank karensusanperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T, Owner at Piraeus Express Bus, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good tour for a very good price! !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our guide Anna was very friendly and helpfull!!
We simply went of the boat and booked this tour in the harbour, on the airconditioned wifi bus. Same tour on boat € 90, this tour € 25!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoniempjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T, Owner at Piraeus Express Bus, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful introduction to Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We joined Anna on a tour from the port of Piareaus to Athens and back just a few days ago.

We were met right outside the port as promised and were led to the bus so we could wait in the air conditioned interior and use the free wifi which was just wonderful! We were able to update family and friend was we saw the various sites.

Anna was friendly, honest and informative. We loves listening to her history stories and her own experiments of living in the area.

We stopped first at Castello to see the panoramic view of the area. We then stopped and saw the pantheatic stadium. The Temple if Zeus was impressive and here we bought a joint ticket for the Acropolis.

The Acropolis was crowded and hot, but Anna showed us where to enter and where to meet her. As promised, there she was after we had explored on our own.

Then it was time for shopping and lunch in Plaka. Anna recommended Taverna Plaka and the lunch was delicious there! We loved wondering around.

Anna was a fantastic hostess and your guide. For €25 each this was amazing and excellent value for money. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Athen a for a day! Thank you!!

Helpful?
1 Thank DJBSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T, Owner at Piraeus Express Bus, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for writing your review we're very happy you had a great time visiting Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piraeus Express Bus also viewed

 
Piraeus, Piraeus Region
Piraeus, Piraeus Region
 

Been to Piraeus Express Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing