We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for a couple of nights”
Review of Faros II Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faros II Hotel
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A useful hotel for arriving and departing from Athens. In a couple of nights stay you can see the Piraeus Archeaological Museum and take the metro to central Athens. Piraeus is not only cheaper than Athens the air is fresher, there is the market and restaurants. Faros II is a functional hotel which is useful for coming and going. You can leave your luggage after checkout and the reception is fairly helpful.

Room Tip: Better at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumblesmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I will try to judge the hotel as urban planner, engineer and visitor.
First, the location is very good, close to the harbor and the beautiful Passalimani!!! The under construction, metro station near the hotel, it will do even better in terms of location.
Secondly, the hotel and its equipment, even in the rooms, are quite old, and broken like in our case. Also, the room was too small for double if you don't pay a lot attention, you will hit your legs in the furnitures!!!
Thirdly, and last, as visitor, I didn't satisfied!!! :/ The staff, it wasn't so friendly to make me feel like my home. The towels in the first night was threadbare, and the hanger in the bathroom was broken. There wasn't enough space in the room... Also, the sound of the room was zero. And finally to finish, the bathroom door had rotted and smelled very bad.
This hotel, is good only for a night, until to take your boat for an island.
Advise: ask for a room with view at Kolokotronis street...At the back side, there was a under construction building....

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WordTraveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

10-15 minutes by foot from the ferry terminal. Neighborhood isn't exactly nice, especially when arriving from one of the islands, but I guess it will do for one night. Requested a non-smoking room but everything smells of cigarettes, there's even an ashtrey. Other than that, the room is small but clean, airconditioned and seems to be quiet as well. Only real complaint I have is that my mattress is damaged, otherwise this hotel is really good value for money and an option you should consider when travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We arrived late and were able to get food which was great. We were only staying 7 hours to catch ferry in morning so didn't have breakfast. Ten minutes walk to ferry gates or 4 euro taxi ride. Only complaint would be that air con was so noisy that could not it on, so the room was pretty stuffy. Very cheap so wasn't expecting much. Overall, Happy to stay here for overnight as we did .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The concierge didn't know the locations of the respective ferry compagnies. Should be a fairly basic service in a Piraeus hotel? We asked for breakfast at 07:00, but didn't get it untill 07:20, when we had to go. Were offered coffee to go, though.

3 of 4 lightbulbs in our room were missing.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mijo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

First, Piraeus itself is a bit of an ugly town. The only reason to be here is for the ferry. That said, and for that purpose, this was a good hotel. First, I got an extremely good online price deal so it was extremely inexpensive. Second, it's clean, the air conditioning works, and the staff were friendly and helpful, bringing a beer to the room rather than have me wait for it in the lobby. The attached restaurant served a very nice Greek salad and ouzo, which was a great way to start my Greek vacation. There was an evening wedding at a nearby church which made this otherwise dreary city look a little, no a lot, nicer.

The rooms are typically fairly small, with doors that conduct noise, like you find all over Europe in budget hotels. But it was all decently clean and I had a good night's sleep before the early morning ferry, which is the only reason to stay here. I would recommend it if you are not looking for absolute quiet and luxury, but a decent cheap place near the ferry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzuki267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at faros 2 for 2 nights and had 2 rooms. The service desk is always attended to with great mutilanguage service. They offer good breakfast for 6 euro pp, and a reasonable menu for room service.

The rooms are average, but clean.
The location of the hotel is good for the ferries. It's a few minutes walk to bus stops and about a 15-20 minute walk to the train station which we took to Athens and back. For the prices of the hotel, it is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.1 mi away
Faros 1 Hotel
Faros 1 Hotel
#5 of 27 in Piraeus
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Argo Anita
Hotel Argo Anita
#11 of 27 in Piraeus
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#9 of 27 in Piraeus
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lilia Hotel
Lilia Hotel
#3 of 27 in Piraeus
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#2 of 27 in Piraeus
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros II Hotel

Address: 117 Kolokotroni, Piraeus 185 36, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range: £28 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Faros II Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Faros II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faros Ii Piraeus
Hotel Faros Ii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing