We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel close to port.”
Review of Hotel Ideal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ideal
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Many of the ferries to the islands seem to leave at 7am so it was handy being able to walk to the hotel in 10 minutes. It was also close to the bus station if catching a bus from Athens airport. I arrived late at night and left early so it was perfect for me. It's in a narrow dark street but the foyer is well lit and the staff friendly. I was offered a wake up call and it was on time, also offered a non smoking room. Perfect for my needs but one night was enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lauren_w4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night after my ferry returned from the greek islands.

The hotel is budget and cheap and is great value for money.

Rooms are clean and spacious, however they smell highly of smoke and for a non-smoker this is quite potent. I could not tolerate the smell for any more than one day and even then it was a struggle.

Service is great and staff are helpful if you need anything.

Would recommend for a short stay as it is good value and very close to the port.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

As form personal eperience, this hotel is good for arriving or departuring from Pireaus with the ferry.

As other people wrote, the first way to the hotel might be less nice. The ally seems far away from fabulous and you will expect the worst. Yet, once you arrived at the hotel, you will see it is a great deal for the little money spend. The room are tidy, you even have a TV, own bathroom, fridge etc. for a very small budget.

Important is the distance to the port. We could walk there with our baggage. But it is about 10-20 minutes. As for discovering Athen itself, I would recommend to look for hotels closer to the city centre.

We stayed here only one night but were really satisfied with the room and the service. For this price, it was more than good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank And S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

As others have mentioned, this hotel is in a quiet part of Piraeus and convenient to the cruise terminal (we walked there). There is nothing of interest in the immediate area after dark, which is when we arrived. For dinner, we walked to the Marina area (up the hill in the opposite direction from the Cruise/Ferry ports). The marina area had an active nightlife with a number of places serving dinner; it is about a 15 minute walk.

The hotel is basic, nothing fancy. The room was the size of a typical budget room, with small but adequate bathroom. There is free WiFi in the rooms. The "view" from our room was facing the back of another building. The breakfast service was not consistent for us. One of us ate about 20 minutes earlier than the other and we each were attended to by different staff members; the one I experienced was not the usual attendant, but was filling-in for a brief period and she provided minimal service, My travelling companion arrived later and had a more pleasant and thorough breakfast service.

In general, this hotel is a good value (we paid €40 for a double with breakfast) and it was fine for a one-night stay, and we would consider it again for a future trip. If we were to stay longer than one night, we would most likely stay in Athens.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFCAcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night before we took our cruise from Piraeus. The main reason for chosing this hotel was that it is very close to the cruise ship terminal. The hotel was clean and service was really good. The room size was average, the A.c worked fine, the bathroom had supplies of bath gel and shampoo. The internet worked fine and we could make calls from Skype. So connection was good. The breakfast was not very elaborate but they served it with a touch of homely hospitality. They served the coffee or hot water for tea in a pot as and when we asked and the lady at the kitchen made cheese toasts for us just as the way we wanted. The front desk people were very ready to help. When we asked the direction to the Port terminal, the lady at the front desk came out with us and showed us the direction in details. The locality seemed to be quite safe and also quite. There is a small bar and restaurant with the hotel but not much crowd and traffic as in the area around the Metro station of Piraeus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Excellent and absolute cost-value relationship. Friendly and supportive reception desk. Everything worked just tight and fine. It is a strategic place to stay before getting into a cruise ship docked in the very close port of Piraeus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

It's hard to complain about this hotel, except maybe the location which is a little to the south of the main port. Having said that, the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and modern. Good value

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.3 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
0 mi away
Faros 1 Hotel
Faros 1 Hotel
#5 of 27 in Piraeus
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Argo Anita
Hotel Argo Anita
#13 of 27 in Piraeus
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#2 of 27 in Piraeus
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phidias Hotel
Phidias Hotel
#1 of 27 in Piraeus
1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ionion Hotel Piraeus
Ionion Hotel Piraeus
#22 of 27 in Piraeus
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideal

Address: 142 Navarchou Notara, Piraeus 185 36, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range: £26 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ideal 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ideal is located in the very centre of Piraeus and just a few minutes walk from the Port. Leisure travellers wishing to find a value for money accommodation and business travellers looking for good services and convenient location will appreciate our hospitality, the hotel’s amenities and the easy connection to the historic and commercial centre of Athens, which you will reach in less than 30 minutes. Customers will enjoy a bar and lounge area serving breakfast in the morning, coffees, soft drinks and light meals. Free Wifi is offered throughout the hotel, room service is also provided, as well as 24 hours money exchange service and laundry service. A concierge service is also available in order to arrange your Ferry Tickets, Tour in Athens, Rent a Car or any other service or information you will need during your stay in Athens. Hotel Ideal proposes 31 single and double rooms. All rooms are modern, cozy and fully equipped. Within the room, you will find individually controlled air conditioning, private WC with shower, a small sitting area with desk, fridge, LCD television, free WiFi, opening window, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ideal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing