We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, economical option for connections with ferries” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ideal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ideal
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, economical option for connections with ferries”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

This is sister hotel to Hotel Glaros, which is just around the corner. They are similar in style, with clean, comfortable rooms with TV and basic toiletry supplies provided.
An economical option when connecting with flights and ferries. Close to Gate E9 (walking distance if luggage is manageable) and reception will arrange a taxi to the further gates - around 6 Euros cab fare.
If you are there at the weekend try to get a room at the rear of the hotel as there are a couple of bars on the street front close by which can be a little noisy, but otherwise a reasonable overnight option in Piraeus.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandroulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    61
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
48
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Like most travelers who stay in Pireaus, we needed a room for one night before an early morning ferry. Ideal Hotel fit the bill. Relatively inexpensive, quiet, and a quick walk to the ferry terminals. The room was clean and of moderate size, the bed was comfortable, A/C worked perfect fine. That's really all we wanted! The area is a bit sketchy, but not unsafe. In addition to the strip club across the street, there are other hotels on each side of the Ideal.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

If you are travelling to the Greek Islands from Pireus, and have an early ferry, this is a perfect choice. Yes, it's in a back street, but is only 10 minutes walk (or a 2 minute taxi transfer) to all the main embarkation gates and the airport bus stops just round the corner.

The rooms are clean and the airconditioning worked perfectly when we were there - despite the fact that it was incredibly hot and humid. Unusually for Greece, we had a shower with a separate foot tray - very useful, as opposed to everything draining across a marble floor and creating a trip hazard.

The only slight downside was the fact that the lift didn't go to the very top floor - but carrying bags up one flight of stairs was a miniscule problem when you consider the excellent value for money that this hotel represents.

The concierge couldn't have been more helpful, giving us restaurant and bar ideas to try out and providing maps so we didn't get lost. And that despite the fact that Pireus doesn't have a huge amount of nightlife to offer - we had a great meal just round the corner from the hotel.

All in all, superb value for money and a real find - perfect for island hoppers!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRFluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

So, only stayed one night but I experienced enough in that one night to really regret our choosing the Hotel Ideal. So, we arrive at the hotel after a flight, a long bus ride and a mile-walk in the wrong direction only to discover the concierge on a private phone call in which she continues to talk for 3+ minutes while we wait, standing in front of the desk. She then continues to act like we interrupted her vacation while she checks us in and cannot even tell us if there is a good grocery nearby for us to buy food or inquire whether or not a good restaurant is still open at 5PM in the evening. Next, we ask her for help ordering food into our room, and she asks "do you need it right now?" as she continues to paint her nails. We answer "yes," and she hands us a menu for a pizza place, which was written in Greek, and when we asked if she could help us read it, she gives us not only more attitude but never ordered what we originally asked.
It got worse. After 3+ weeks in Europe, we thought air-conditioning was our friend, but in this hotel whatever was going on with that air-conditioner seriously messed up my sinuses and I ended up getting sick the next morning with a sore-throat and sinus problems. ALSO, PAPER-THIN walls. We could hear EVERYTHING coming from other floors floating up through the stairwell. Plus, the hotel room was on the street-side and right across the street is a topless bar & a night-club so we didn't sleep due to the noise coming from both sides of our room, through the window and the door.
Also, when we asked for the concierge (it was a man) to ring us a taxi to take us + our luggage to the docks where we would catch our boat, he said they would refuse and there is always traffic @ 6AM. There was no traffic, and lots of taxis dropping people off on the piers.
So not worth it. You would be better off staying somewhere else and getting a good nights sleep before you continue your travels the next day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Piraeus hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Vestfold
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

Clean hotel and rooms. Aircondition was working perfect, operated by a remote control. Free internet, PC in lobby, connection in rooms. Super location for shopping and close to the port, metro and airport bus. Several cafeterias located right outside with great local food.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

This hotel is located by the port and is good for an overnight stay before an early ferry the next morning. The hotel about a 5-10 walk from gates 9&10 and a 15 min walk from gates 7&8. The room was clean and in good condition. The only negative was that there was no shower curtain, so water gets everywhere in the washroom.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cloud925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

For a cheap clean hotel close to the ferryport parius look up the "ideal Hotel" e25 each a night, nice and clean.

For getting around , the train is only e3 for a day ticket available at any atation. For tickets to airport you can get a single ticket for two people for e10.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrShaneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.7 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#4 of 27 in Piraeus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phidias Hotel
Phidias Hotel
#1 of 27 in Piraeus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Faros 1 Hotel
Faros 1 Hotel
#5 of 27 in Piraeus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lilia
Hotel Lilia
#2 of 27 in Piraeus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Argo Anita
Hotel Argo Anita
#11 of 27 in Piraeus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideal

Property: Hotel Ideal
Address: 142 Navarchou Notara, Piraeus 185 36, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Piraeus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ideal 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ideal is located in the very centre of Piraeus and just a few minutes walk from the Port. Leisure travellers wishing to find a value for money accommodation and business travellers looking for good services and convenient location will appreciate our hospitality, the hotel’s amenities and the easy connection to the historic and commercial centre of Athens, which you will reach in less than 30 minutes. Customers will enjoy a bar and lounge area serving breakfast in the morning, coffees, soft drinks and light meals. Free Wifi is offered throughout the hotel, room service is also provided, as well as 24 hours money exchange service and laundry service. A concierge service is also available in order to arrange your Ferry Tickets, Tour in Athens, Rent a Car or any other service or information you will need during your stay in Athens. Hotel Ideal proposes 31 single and double rooms. All rooms are modern, cozy and fully equipped. Within the room, you will find individually controlled air conditioning, private WC with shower, a small sitting area with desk, fridge, LCD television, free WiFi, opening window, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ideal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing