We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pireaeus Theoxenia Hotel, Pireaus, Athens, Greece”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a mdern hotel very near to the port of Piraeus and is very comfortable. Piraeus itself is a very run-down area of the city with lots of vagrants, and the hotel, with its modern, high-class facade and interior looks somewhat incongruous in the road. We had one night there on a Bed & Breakfast basis. The buffet breakfast was excellent with eggs cooked to order and a wide range of fruit/bread etc as well as serving dishes with hot food.
The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the en suite clean with a good "in bath" shower.
The staff were very helpful We checked in very quickly at 01.00 and got a late check-out at 14.00 at no extra charge.
We had a somewhat traumatic visit as I had had my shoulder bag stolen between the port and the hotel! The staff, who all spoke reasonable English, were very helpful in arranging taxis to the port police etc, but advised us only to use taxis which they organised for us as they only used known, reliable drivers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niall F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Recently my husband and I spent 2 nights at the Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel. The main asset of this hotel is the location. We walked to the pier to get the ferry at 6 a.m. and we walked back to the hotel at 1:30 a.m. It's quicker to walk (about 10 minutes) than to take a taxi, and the streets seemed to be safe---as the hotel staff said they would be.

Our first night was spent prior to getting the early morning--7 a.m.-- ferry and the room was very nice, but the shower didn't work properly. The second night our room was even nicer with windows on 2 sides, and we had no problems. Wifi works well in the rooms also, and there is no extra charge for it.

We were only able to have breakfast on the second morning we were there and the breakfast was very good. Lots of choices and excellent food. We also ate dinner here and it was good. Staff was helpful.

Shopping is nearby---lots of small shops and a couple large department store; however, as mentioned, the hotel is really excellent if you need to be close to the ferries to the islands.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights prior to meeting friends for a sailing trip. Hotel was very comfortable, a large room and excellent facilities. Breakfast had an excellent choice, the staff were friendly and very helpful. It is very close to metro making a visit to the Acropolis easy and stress free. Drinks are a bit expensive, but you can eat and drink close by much cheaper if you are a bit adventurous. We would stay again, but will book an early arrival flight so we can use the excellent Airport to Piraeus bus and not get ripped off by greedy Taxi drivers - though this is no reflection on the Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank higadoconchianti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for five nights. It was located in a quiet road which we found was very conveniently located, providing easy access to the ferries, buses to the airport and metro to central Athens. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was spacious, but did not include a bathtub. The overall condition of the room was not as good as one would typically expect for a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was good and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here to catch an early ferry from the port. The hotel is nice and exactly what we needed. It is clean, a little worn around the edges but the service is outstanding. They were able to accommodate us with an early check in and helped us when our lost baggage was delivered to the hotel. As we missed breakfast included in our room fee due to our early ferry they even gave us sandwiches to eat on the boat!

Would recommend as the place to stay if you need to catch a ferry in and out of Athens.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was a nice hotel; not quite up to five star standards, but reasonably priced and convenient. Our room was large and the service was good. We had an early ferry, and the hotel provided coffee and sandwiches. Overall, we had a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxdebruyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel is quite nice and very clean even if rooms are a bit old.. Staff is friendly and hotel is well located and close to pireaus port.. Inwas
Disapointed with the service as i drank the bottle of waters from the mini bar and they were not replaced even 2 days later.. These are maybe details but for its important..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeeyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.3 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
0.4 mi away
Phidias Hotel
Phidias Hotel
#1 of 27 in Piraeus
1,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#2 of 27 in Piraeus
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lilia Hotel
Lilia Hotel
#3 of 27 in Piraeus
603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Poseidonio Hotel
Poseidonio Hotel
#10 of 27 in Piraeus
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#6 of 27 in Piraeus
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel

Address: 23 Karaoli & Dimitriou, Piraeus 185 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range: £54 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing