We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

After 30+ hours of traveling from Australia this hotel was a welcoming haven of rest. Room is great, well appointed ,staff exceptionally friendly. Looking forward to next 28 days on SeaDream II cruise to Mumbai and onto Singapore.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Theoxenia Hotel was in Piraeus, Greece (the port of Athens) where all the cruise ships and ferry's go in and out. The hotel was very clean in the middle of a busy older part of town walking distance from restaurants and shopping; it was a long walk or short cab ride to the Cruise ship and ferry terminals. We stayed there to wait for boarding our cruise the next day. The staff helped us with missing luggage, finding fun restaurants, and shopping locations to replace lost clothes. The bus driver from the Athens Airport dropped us off on the main road two blocks from the hotel; it was very convenient. The bus was hot and crowded but the bus was very accommodating even though we arrived early. The let us check in early. They spoke excellent English and the room was lovely.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a nice view of the city.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Tired, just came from a cruise. This place took one look at us and brought us water and coffee. Rooms spotless and exceptional. All the comforts of home highly recommend.tv, hand showers and tub,queen bed ,restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chezchea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Needed a hotel in Piraeus to catch an early morning ferry to the islands. Wanted something safe, clean, quiet, convenient. Checked all of the boxes. Good price point, staff was very friendly and accommodating. They knew we were checking out early and as we couldn't grab breakfast, they had sandwiches ready and waiting for us for our journey. All in all, quite pleased, and stayed with them again eight days later on the night our ferry got back before heading to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a mdern hotel very near to the port of Piraeus and is very comfortable. Piraeus itself is a very run-down area of the city with lots of vagrants, and the hotel, with its modern, high-class facade and interior looks somewhat incongruous in the road. We had one night there on a Bed & Breakfast basis. The buffet breakfast was excellent with eggs cooked to order and a wide range of fruit/bread etc as well as serving dishes with hot food.
The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the en suite clean with a good "in bath" shower.
The staff were very helpful We checked in very quickly at 01.00 and got a late check-out at 14.00 at no extra charge.
We had a somewhat traumatic visit as I had had my shoulder bag stolen between the port and the hotel! The staff, who all spoke reasonable English, were very helpful in arranging taxis to the port police etc, but advised us only to use taxis which they organised for us as they only used known, reliable drivers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niall F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Recently my husband and I spent 2 nights at the Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel. The main asset of this hotel is the location. We walked to the pier to get the ferry at 6 a.m. and we walked back to the hotel at 1:30 a.m. It's quicker to walk (about 10 minutes) than to take a taxi, and the streets seemed to be safe---as the hotel staff said they would be.

Our first night was spent prior to getting the early morning--7 a.m.-- ferry and the room was very nice, but the shower didn't work properly. The second night our room was even nicer with windows on 2 sides, and we had no problems. Wifi works well in the rooms also, and there is no extra charge for it.

We were only able to have breakfast on the second morning we were there and the breakfast was very good. Lots of choices and excellent food. We also ate dinner here and it was good. Staff was helpful.

Shopping is nearby---lots of small shops and a couple large department store; however, as mentioned, the hotel is really excellent if you need to be close to the ferries to the islands.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights prior to meeting friends for a sailing trip. Hotel was very comfortable, a large room and excellent facilities. Breakfast had an excellent choice, the staff were friendly and very helpful. It is very close to metro making a visit to the Acropolis easy and stress free. Drinks are a bit expensive, but you can eat and drink close by much cheaper if you are a bit adventurous. We would stay again, but will book an early arrival flight so we can use the excellent Airport to Piraeus bus and not get ripped off by greedy Taxi drivers - though this is no reflection on the Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank higadoconchianti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.3 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
0.1 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#2 of 27 in Piraeus
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phidias Hotel
Phidias Hotel
#1 of 27 in Piraeus
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#6 of 27 in Piraeus
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lilia Hotel
Lilia Hotel
#3 of 27 in Piraeus
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anemoni
Hotel Anemoni
#7 of 27 in Piraeus
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel

Address: 23 Karaoli & Dimitriou, Piraeus 185 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range: £71 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing