We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloi Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Oceanis(Anissaras)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$204
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Malliotakis Beach Hotel(Hersonissos)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Petros Village(Anissaras)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anissa Beach Hotel(Hersonissos)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
1
4
2
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
4
2
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Have just returned from my 10th visit to Hotel Aloi in Anissaras crete - and once again not disapointed.
The hotel is quiet and relaxing - no fighting for a sun bed by the pool
The rooms are clean and bright. All have a balcony or terrance and either a view of the pool or gardens - both of which have very beautiful colourful flowers and trees.
The hotel boasts a very good bar - where Christos is happy to pull you a nice cold beer or make an exotic cocktail followed by a shot of raki!
The hotel is a short walk down to the beach or up to the main road and local buses.
This hotel has such charm and great for a great relaxing creten holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms have A/c fridge and a view
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My boyfriend and I recently returned from a 7 night stay at the Aloi Hotel in Hersonissos and we were not completely satisfied at all! I wanted to write this review to make sure that no one else has the experiences we had at this hotel. From the facilities to the staff, there were a number of problems during our stay. I have broken things down to be as clear as possible

Upon Arrival
•One member of staff present at reception who did not seem prepared for our arrival, he wasn’t aware of my name until I handed him a document from Monarch with my details.
•Informed us on breakfast times and a/c charge only.

Breakfast
•Poor variety. Two options of cereal, ham and cheese. Halved hard boiled eggs (cold) and salad? One loaf of bread was expected to be shared between all guests, no toaster was available either.

Room
•Promised a room that was suited for up to three people, the room we were actually given was rather small and compact. Little space around the double bed which took up most of the room.
•Extremely small shower space in the bathroom, no window or fan to ventilate the room. Became extremely stuffy and unpleasant.
•When fridge was plugged in it became very hot which added heat to the already humid room.

Hygiene & Safety
•There was a rusty nail sticking out from the frame of the door way leading from the room to the balcony (a poor attempt to file it down had appeared to have been made). This was actually stepped on at one point causing discomfort.
•Pool had no shallow end and the water seemed to be quite green in areas. We did not swim at any point of our stay in this pool.
•Our room was cleaned only once in our entire weeks stay which resorted to us having to ask staff for essentials as simple as toilet paper. By the end of the week our bins were overflowing, we had no fresh towels or bedding since our room was cleaned 5 days prior.
•Bathroom sink was wobbly, not properly secured into the wall.
•The hotel’s general toilet facilities were poorly kept, humid with dozens of flies in each cubicle.

Staff
•Throughout our whole 7 day stay, we only ever saw three members of hotel staff.
•A female member seemed to be responsible for both catering and cleaning of the hotel as well as sitting at reception. No sign of a maid.
•One of the two male staff made his first approach to us on our very last day. We had only briefly seen him at the bar late at night. This gentleman was extremely rude and had an aggressive manner. Not at any point of our stay were we informed of our check out time until he came knocking on our door vigorously demanding that we had to be packed and out of our room in 10 minutes! We were completely appalled as we weren’t due to leave till 1:30am the next day. For 13 hours we had no room, therefore had no way of showering and we were expected to change and wash in the grim toilets in the basement of the hotel.
•No clear idea of who actually owned the premises.
•All staff spoke English poorly and did not seem to acknowledge or take our complaints seriously.

Hidden Charges
•Apparently it was 5 euros per day to use the fridge in our room. We used the fridge everyday to chill our bottles of water which was essential. Not at any point were we informed of this charge rate until the rude male member of staff (as previously mentioned) told us right after he chucked us out of our room. He had noticed that our fridge was chilled and figured we had been using it and began demanding the week’s worth of money for using it. We explained how no other member of staff had informed us about this charge and fortunately he seemed to let it pass. I have never known any hotel to charge for the use of the fridge, its utterly ridiculous.

Location
•The hotel is very isolated from other hotels and restaurants. At least a 5 minute walk to the beach which itself wasn’t fantastic, very rocky and full of seaweed. Another 15-20 minute walk to get to any form of a decent Greek restaurant and a further 30 minute walk to get to the nearest sandy, clear water beach.
•You will most likely need to pay for taxis or hire a car/moped/quad to reduce these distances.
•Parts of beach are occupied by other hotels, therefore you won’t be able to use their sun chairs.
•Not a resort I would recommend to people around our age (21/22 years). No form of nightlife at all and absolutely nothing to do in the day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank tamjam15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Lovely calm hotel! Super friendly staff, Nice pool and great lunches & dinners. The food is super fresh and good price.
We've really enjoyed our stay. Would nog recommend for children, because of the lack of
Children facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boterkaasje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We booked this hotel for early May. When we arrived, we found it closed and nowhere near ready for business. There was no notification anywhere that the hotel was shut (we could haer a radio blaring loudly inside) and no amount of knocking caused anyone to come out.

We went to the local police station to try and contact the owners but no luck. It was not until we returned there the next morning to find the owners there, that we were told that the hotel was shut for a further 2 weeks. The owner insists that they notified the agents about this but somehow that is hard to believe. At least they could have left a note or telephone no. on the door so that we could get in touch!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Melaniedanrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

This is only the second review I have ever written the first was for the brilliant Aquis Bella Beach which we moved to after a totally horrendous first night at the Aloi. I was so appaled at this hotel I had to write this in the hope that it will stop anyone having the awful start to the holiday we had.
My best friend and I took our two three year olds here for a relaxing break and instead we got violent staff, appaling food and a serious lack of any health and safely, if you have children please NEVER go here!
Our room was small and shabby and had a huge rusty nail poking out of the concrete floor leading onto our very small "terrace" with no view at all. We had to put clothes over the nail to stop the children stepping on it. The afternoon we got there one of our boys lent on the fence surrounding the terrace and fell straight through it (bearing in mind he was only three so hardly heavy!) it totally collapsed leaving huge splinters of wood and a gaping hole. Next we decided to attempt the pool which had no shallow end so no safe place for the children to get in the water (we were told by one guest there had been a serious accident involving a child to do with this earlier in the year) you have to be a good swimmer to doggy paddle constantly whilst in there with them even adults (I'm 5ft8) can't reach the bottom.
Next we decided to go get a drink at the bar and had to bypass a huge open man hole cover with a ladder going in which both boys made a dash for this was left open the entire time we were there. The children decided they wanted to play in the playground described on the website as a place the children could play safely whilst parents relax, are they kidding! The "playground" consited of three badly made wooden frames and a slide some of which were broken and all were so worn and badly kept there were splinters everywhere. So if the children hadn't hurt themselves on that they had an incredibly deep pool and an open man hole cover at arms length, very relaxing for parents!
After one night we had had enough we took the boys for breakfast which consisted of three cereals and some toast we packed up and went to leave, luckily we hadn't paid for our entire week. As we were putting out things in the taxi the mangers husband came outside to see what was going on, on realising that we were leaving he pulled my friends folded up pram out of her hands and grabbed a handful of our bags from the boot. We were toally in shock my friend went to grab her pram and he swung it at her bruising her entire forearm. We honestly couldn't believe what was happening we were two women with young children on our own in a foreign country and this was happening it was really awful. We then tried to get our things back which he had locked in the room behind reception and was demanding the whole weeks rate to let them go and when my friend tried to reach for the door he pushed her roughly out the way, both our children were crying obviously very worried about what was happening to us. Luckily the taxi driver came and and manged to get our things back for us and we left very shaken and upset about what had happened. We thought about reporting it but honestly we didn't want to ruin any more of our holiday or drag the boys to a police station when it was very likely nothing would be done.
I really hope that this has helped some of you and if it puts off even one person going to this awful place then thank god for that.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chocolateandpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews