We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Anissaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week at the Laguna resort hotel. Rooms beautiful, clean towels every day, the hotel is spotlessly clean, the food in the main restaurant is very good in quality and variety. Yes, you have to pre-book for the Cretan, Italian, Mexican, Sushi, and Asian restaurants at the reception (ideally in the morning). You can make 1 booking each day for either lunch or dinner. The earliest booking we could get was 2 days in advance, after that, we ate there every day.The pool bar serves tea, coffee, beer and soft drinks however if you prefer something stronger you can go into the main hotel bar for other drinks, they will serve your drink in a plastic cup if you are taking to the pool area (very sensible). The pool side bar also serves delicious fresh crepes, waffles, with various fillings, cakes and ice creams. All of the staff were fantastic and looked after us very, very well. We put towels out for the sunbeds on our way to breakfast at about 9am and never had any problems. The evening entertainment in the main bar was occasional but that suited us. The cocktail and champagne bars are very good.
Overall an enjoyable holiday. Some people will always find something to complain about, but on the whole this is a great hotel!. But i can imagine it is very busy in July and August. The hotel is great for a relaxing holiday, but would not suit those looking for a busy night life.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

Have just returned home after spending two weeks at the Mitsis Laguna, our rooms were superb and was just infront of the huge pool. From the moment we arrived at reception (greeted with hot flannels) to the time we left the Hotel staff were excellent. The Hotel itself was like a Palace as was all the furniture and fittings. All the Pools were great, my only gripe was the lack of Sunloungers(may i suggest Mitsis you buy a lot more). Food good, restautants good, beach not so good but a little walk along the front and there are others that are very good. We found the Animation Team excellent and kept us busy with activities most of the day, also the Night bar staff were great, remembering our drinks from previous and preparing them as soon as we walked in (excellent). In our opinion the staff work very hard to make sure our needs are met and All deserve a Pat on the back.Would defo recommend this hotel as a great Holiday destination.

Room Tip: All rooms are Fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We just came back from Crete.
We spend (2 families = 8 people) 5 days on the Mitsis Laguna hotel and were so sorry to leave...
I think it is a great place for families but also for couples or friends
THE BEST HOTEL
BEST ROOM I HAVE EVER BEEN TO
BEST FOOD
The hotel was fully-booked but still, looked very clean and with a lot of space.
The workers of the hotel did everything with a smile and let us enjoy every second we spent there.
I will return back for sure!!!
Ronit from Israel :)

Room Tip: Every room is great!! I guess the rooms next to the parking zone are less comfortable because of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RonitMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Can't wait to go back. The hotel is beautiful. One Down fall is the beach. but if you walk for a few minutes towards the town of herssonissis there a few great we coves for swimming.
The decor of the hotel is 1st class and the food and service is fantastic, theres so much choice.

Maria who serves the drinks in the night bar is very attentive and really made our holiday special. She realy took the time to make us feel welcome and was more than happy to help when we had questions about the area.


Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davyfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Have just returned after spending a glorious week at the Mitsis Laguna Spa, I cannot rate it highly enough. Having read previous negative reviews prior to going, all I can say is that we had a fantastic time right from the minute we arrived. We were welcomed by the reception staff who immediately provided us with hot towels to help us refresh. We were given a room on the island facing the main pool and were assisted there with our cases. Our room was spacious and immaculate. We were surprised how big the complex was but how quiet it was. During our week we were able to visit the Italian, Cretan and Asian restaurants outwith the main buffet restaurant and was amazed at the quality and selection of food available. During our trip we made the most of the various bars avaialble and cannot praise the staff highly enough. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly but special praise to Maria in the Champagne bar and Maria and the guys in the Day Bar. How they were able to put up with some obnoxious guests with a smile was unbelievable. Re getting a sun lounger at the main pool, this was not a great problem as we always managed to get one prior to heading for our breakfast. When there was a shortage staff brought out more beds to accomodate the demand. For those of you considering visiting, I would say go and judge the place for yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BRIANCAMPBELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Brilliant hotel with excellent facilities. The rooms are spacious and the restaurants are superb. The champagne bar was a welcome indulgence and the children loved the animation team. The crepe bar served lovely food and the children loved the pools and loungers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Returned yesterday with my family from 2 weeks at the Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa Hotel and what a great time we had.

To dispell a few myths I read on here before we went away:

a) Pool Towels and sunloungers. At the start of out holiday, this was a major problem and found myself having to get up at stupid-o-clock to get sunbeds, but guess what? As soon as other Brits started to fly home to get kids to school, guess what? Loungers became available! This is a problem created by us Brits so to blame other nationalities or the hotel is ridiculous. If we were all sensible we would all enjoy our holiday a lot more.
b) Food. Meals at the A-La-Carte restaurants were superb. In the main restaurant I wouldn't call the food repetitive as there were enough main courses to vary your choices. I'm assuming those who think the food is repetitive may be a tad fussy?

The hotel, even when full, never feels overcrowded so there's not that sense of continuously walking past people and feeling claustrophobic, which is key for me. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and some (already mentioned on other posts) go out of their way to make you feel welcome and a valued guest. The entertainment was... entertaining! The rooms were always clean, modern fittings with a hint of antiquity which was charming. Loved the large walk-in shower!

Would def recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an all inclusive holiday looking for peace & quiet yet if you like activities in the day/evening, you can find these here too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank scrumpy3708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anissaras
1.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 173 in Hersonissos
3,207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 173 in Hersonissos
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Serita Beach Hotel
Serita Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Anissaras
1,585 reviews
20.1 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
21.5 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa

Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Anissaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Family Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anissaras
Price Range: £123 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAGUNA RESORT & SPA lies on the beach of Anissaras in the area of Hersonissos in Crete. It is a majestic and luxurious 5-star hotel with a state of the art Wellness Spa that provides premium service. Guest accommodation includes 351 luxurious rooms, consisting of 180 bungalows (34 of which shape a small island, surrounded by a lake and the rest are family bungalows), 90 beautiful sea view and garden view rooms, 79 superior rooms in the main building, and 2 presidential suites with a private pool for each. A number of infrastructures and facilities such as meeting rooms, tennis courts, beach volley, mini soccer court, gym, 3 seawater swimming pools, a kid’s pool, water slides etc. make the hotel an entertainment paradise for guests of all ages. The hotel places great importance on high quality gastronomy, as guests can try various gastronomic selections in the resort’s 7 restaurants and 4 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Laguna Hotel Anissaras
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa Crete/Anissaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing