We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming Pools with Salty Water??!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Anissaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We (Family of 4) were excited to visit Crete and relax for a week. When we go there at around 9:30 in the evening, the very nice reception staff told us to go to the restaurant before checking in as they were about to close soon and so we did. But one of the waiters was not too happy to see us and when I asked him for wine he said they were closed! so I asked another waitress for wine and she told him and he did bring the wine but told me off! So I told him to do his job and let us get along with our 1 week £3500 holiday!
Back to reception room to check in and we were told the sea view room that we had paid for was not available so we were sent to a family room that could not be any further to the restaurant and the main swimming pool.
The food and service was generally OK but one day we left at 8:00 in the morning to go to Santorini island (again 400 Euros which I dont think it was worth) we got back at 10.00 PM and noticed that the toilet seat cover had come off and was resting on the bath!!!!
Apparently cleaner managed to break it and had left it there and failed to report it to maintenance staff. I put it back and reported it next morning but the only fixed it at around 4:00 PM. Not nice to go to reception with 2 kids anytime you need to use the toilet.
And whats with pools with salty water???? You cant help the water getting in your mouth or nose or eyes and believe me its difficult to adapt!!!
Also only 1 of the 3 pools had a toilet so you had to travel to find a toilet in your room or receiption!
Over all most of the staff were very nice, the hotel was very clean and the food was good.
But we wont go back!

Room Tip: pool view rooms are best. sea view nothing especial
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bahman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 2,242 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

OK, so maybe you are sat at home looking through holidays and have come across the Laguna Beach and also another Mitsis in Kos that looks very similar and cant decide which one to choose as they look the same.

Having stayed at both hotels several times (my other reviews are on here if you want more detail) I can confirm Looks can deceive…Essentially the Laguna beach is considerably better than Blue Domes.

The key asset this hotel has is its Fabulous staff.

Starting with the reception team; Some on here have complained about them being unhelpful.?! From the warm welcome we received on check in through to the check out the ladies (and gent) on reception could not do enough for you, from ordering taxis, booking restaurants both the al-a-carte in the hotel and also on occasion one in Hersonisis. OK, we couldn’t find anything to complain about so we don’t know how they handle complaints…but I guess they don’t get much practice in this !. The management of Blue Domes should send its reception team here for a few lessons!

Throughout the restaurants the waiters were very efficient and (especially at the al-la-carte ones) very happy, knowledgeable and down-to-earth, whether it was the pizza chef sharing his dough making secrets with a interested guest or the Maitre d’ (Georgia) chatting to my son about the Game of Thrones book he was reading. Special thanks to guys in the awesome Mexican for making my birthday special.

It goes without saying (but I will) that all the cleaning staff worked very hard as well to ensure rooms and public areas were spotlessly clean everyday.

Bar staff were once again very efficient and friendly (although the guys in the night bar could have been a bit more friendly). As last time we stayed the ladies the in Champagne bar were spot on with service and full marks again to Antonois in the day bar who makes the best Margaritas this side of Cancun!

The only negative we found with staff was the guys on the beach who pack away the sun-beds at night. I know they have a job to do but its quite intimidating having them stand over you until you relinquish your sun-bed.

A few improvements have been made since last time we last stayed (2 years ago) notably the addition of waiter service during the day for drinks on the beach and at the main pool bar (just needs rolling out to the other pool areas now…). They have also expanded the range of drinks available at the pool bars to include limited cocktails and spirits. Also the ‘Long Trouser rule’ at night in the restaurants has been stopped so (tailored) shorts can now be worn by Gents, also there is no need to get up early to reserve sun-beds as this can now be done the night before…but don’t worry if you don’t want to do this as even in peak season there are plenty of beds to go around.

I can still, however, suggest a couple more improvements for the Management to think about;
- Have coffee readily available in the morning from 7am, so you can grab a cup after booking the A-la-carte restaurants without having to harass the restaurant staff for cardboard cups.
- Open the Mexican at Lunch too!
- Consider allocating and enforcing quiet pools, there were quite a few more children here than previously who were at times annoyingly loud.
- Move the Beach area 100 yards to the left (past the volley ball net) its much wider and you could even fit in a beach bar!

Better (less windy) weather this year meant that we could go snorkelling almost every day in the clear waters outside the hotel but if you enjoy this I would suggest walking along the beach towards Hersonisis and past the other hotels where there is a lovely bay where the glass bottom boats take people, so well worth a walk there. Also managed to take the free canoes out a couple of times as well as a spin on a Jet-Ski.

As others have said the entertainment at night is pretty poor but they do bring in other entertainment than the just the animation team dressed as lions prancing about which is an improvement. If you are there for 2 weeks I would suggest taking a €7 (each way) into Hersonisis to break up the monotony.

I overheard one guest saying “its not as good as Mexico”. While I agree with this it is better than Blue Domes and the Weather in Crete in July/Aug will certainly be better than in Mexico!

Room Tip: Booked a split family room (648) as with our son this year which was to the same standard as the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank HumberBridgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had a great time at this great hotel. Fabulous food, delightful staff, nothing too much trouble. The pool bar was staffed by Nicos and Costos who looked after us well. Pantelos in the all day bar was equally great. Georgina outside restaurant manager was always happy to assist and we enjoyed many meals at the booked restaurants where again the staff could not do enough. Fabulous food in all areas, nice touches like champagne and smoked salmon at breakfast every few days. Fruit brought round to us on the sun beds twice a day. Really a five star experience. Well done.

Room Tip: All rooms had good points
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank RK20S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just returned from a week with two adults and two teenagers...the most impressive feature was how friendly and helpful the staff were - a big shout out to Georgios at the Theatre Pool bar, Anastasia at reception and the Maître d'. Without exception the staff went out of their way to help and were great to chat to, even when they were busy. Georgios remembered what I liked and when h e saw me coming over even had my drink waiting on the bar by the time I got there!
Cleanliness everywhere was top rate - the staff were very diligent. Facilities also very good and importantly for us...the food was excellent in all the a la carte restaurants and in the buffet and the creperie was a massive hit with my boys.
Space round the pool was not a fight like it can so often be and there are also sunbeds on the beach which is right in front of the hotel. We found the beach and the sea really clean and although we did hear of one or two complaints that the sand isn't soft, we walked east along the beach round to a beautiful bay and the next village along - that's where they run the windsurfing school. And the sand was perfectly fine for playing beach volleyball on.
That was another good aspect - the animation team worked really hard at running various activities throughout the day. Apart from the volleyball daily features my boys played were water polo, football, table tennis, darts and there were loads more besides. There was evening entertainment every night, but to be honest we didn't pay much attention to that as we were enjoying the many different bars, while the boys never seemed to fail to find other teenagers to hook up with.
There are so many good things I can say about this place, but it's all the little touches that make the difference. For example, on our last day we checked out at midday, but weren't leaving the hotel until 20.30, so they offered us a courtesy room to shower in for an hour before we got something to eat ahead of our transfer to the airport.
Lots of different holiday requirements can be met by what's on offer at Laguna and I would definitely recommend it to anybody

Room Tip: It's difficult to go wrong here because none of the rooms are a long way from the centre of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank L5051PKpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our second visit to the Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa and our second trip was every bit as memorable as our first! The weather (of course) was phenomenal in late July and early August. The hotel and all its facilities were spotless and looked amazing in the Cretan sun, the pools and surrounding areas were carefully and methodically maintained and cleaned, all the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly (especially those in the main restaurant, the champagne bar, and the animation team - Mr "Very Good" and the lovely Shakira are worthy of particular mention), and even the lady who painstakingly cleaned our room was both meticulous and charming. In fact, it was everything you would want and expect of a 5 star all inclusive and pleasantly exclusive resort. My boys - 12 and 11 - loved their stay at the hotel and they loved that one minute they could be fishing off the breakwater, the next diving into one of the main pools, and the next diving into the clean blue/green seawater and snorkelling with the shoals of fish. The creperie was also a big favourite of theirs - as were the sports (the water polo and the football being particularly popular) and there was always plenty of choice - all of it of a very high quality - as to what to eat. Thank you to all at the Mitsis Laguna for making our stay such a wonderful and memorable one! We hope to see you all again soon! The Oliver Boys

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Booked a family room for 2 adult+2 teenagers. Room very good (except no blackout blinds) ,food quite good(could be hotter but overall ok). Was surprised and disappointed that no wine list available, only local house wine red/rose/white and not very good- would have been happy to pay extra for a decent bottle of wine but none available and that doesn't seem right for a supposed 5* hotel. Entertainment RUBBISH !! Occasional entertainment in bar area but not advertised or frequent. Beach very poor, coarse gravelly sand and rocks - for miles either side. Nowhere near enough sunbeds available and many people getting up at silly times to bag sunbeds. Hotel made little effort to entertain, didn't even have the usual leaflet area for 'what-to-do' which was left to the reps to provide. Free Wifi available in reception but payable elsewhere. Kids ok as they fortunately met up with others and did their own stuff most of the time. Parents appeared mostly bored or perhaps resorted to drink, wandering aimlessly around as no local shops/bars anywhere nearby. Even tried watching ALJazeera news channel which constituted the only English language satellite tv in each room. Got thru several books thanks to Kindle.
Restaurant areas impossible to book unless you got up at 7 am but were good when you got there - actually not really restaurants but more like small cafe sized areas with about 10 tables in each hence the difficulty in booking.
Overall has the potential to be a good hotel but let down by lack of entertainment and poor location which makes for a very average holiday experience.
Gymnasium consisted of just a few machines which were additional charge.
Pools ok but unusually was salt water.
Not a 5* experience and a very disappointing holiday considering the cost.

Room Tip: One of main reasons we chose was because of the family room - which has a separate area with 2 beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

One of the if the best Hotel I've stayed at for overall satisfaction. Lots of Wow, Great layout, lovely food etc.......

Only real negatives were the awful entertainment, poor Cocktails at the Pool side - otherwise a fantastic holiday & would definitely consider going back.

Room Tip: Could'nt see that any rooms would be bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richardo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anissaras
1.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 184 in Hersonissos
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#8 of 184 in Hersonissos
779 reviews
69.3 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
6.3 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa

Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Anissaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anissaras
#1 Family Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anissaras
Price Range: £97 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAGUNA RESORT & SPA lies on the beach of Anissaras in the area of Hersonissos in Crete. It is a majestic and luxurious 5-star hotel with a state of the art Wellness Spa that provides premium service. Guest accommodation includes 351 luxurious rooms, consisting of 180 bungalows (34 of which shape a small island, surrounded by a lake and the rest are family bungalows), 90 beautiful sea view and garden view rooms, 79 superior rooms in the main building, and 2 presidential suites with a private pool for each. A number of infrastructures and facilities such as meeting rooms, tennis courts, beach volley, mini soccer court, gym, 3 seawater swimming pools, a kid’s pool, water slides etc. make the hotel an entertainment paradise for guests of all ages. The hotel places great importance on high quality gastronomy, as guests can try various gastronomic selections in the resort’s 7 restaurants and 4 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Laguna Hotel Anissaras
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa Crete/Anissaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing