We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visited August 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitsis Laguna Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mitsis Laguna Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Anissaras
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Visited August 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Fautless. On arrival at 2300hrs we found sandwiches had been freshly prepared and left in our room. Nice touch. Also sparkling wine brought to reception by a waitress as we checked in. One thing about Mitsis is the excellent staff. Very attentive and polite. Cant do enough for you. The food was very varied and nice to be able to eat in the bookable seperate restuarants on site which are also part of the all inclusive. 5 star has to be remembered in the context of Greece 5 star. Stay in a 4 star and you will see a massive difference. We have stayed in other Mitsis before but this was the best which is in part down to the staff. Good location. Any minor observations i would have would be really picky and finding fault just for the sake of it. We have two children and booked a family room which is in effect two rooms with a solid dividing wall. They had two seperate single beds which was perfect. Very good sized room. Pictures do it justice. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C2962HXsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,130
    457
    172
    52
    28
See reviews for
775
725
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday with our children age 11 and 16 years. The hotel really is a good as the pictures on the website, very stylish using high quality finishes. Our room was a good size we had family room which had two proper single beds for our a kids in a separate area (we requested a transfer from our original room as it was ground floor in a not so great location, the hotel moved us without a fuss). We booked this holiday as a 'do very little and relax break' and the hotel certainly deliverred on that as it is truly all inclusive. Great guys at the pool bar Costos and Nicos, enjoyed the Champagne bar for a pre evening meal drinks, there were amazing flocks of swallows darting over us as we watched the sunset. The food is very good in the main buffet restaurant but it is best to go reasonably early as it does get busy peak season. They do a champagne and smoked salmon breakfast a couple of times a week. The other restaurants are all very good we all loved the Italian, Asian and Cretan the and Maitre'd Georgia is most friendly and very helpful. The sushi bar is excellent you don't need to book and quality of the sushi is top class. Booking the restaurants is a bit crazy for a 5* hotel as you need to be at the front desk at 7am in the morning and queue up to get the restaurant at the time you wanted, maybe this just happens when the hotel is fully booked.... same with reserving the sunbeds 80% gone by 7am...
Overall we had an excellent break with great food in a modern contemporary hotel resort, great staff and great service with plenty of swimming pools and entertainment. We thought it was very good value for money and did not need to spend anything on the resort. We got a taxi back to the airport (20 mins - 30€) which allowed us to leave the resort later and travel in comfort - well worth it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BonVivHarpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I write this review because I was expected to be a 5* hotel, and like most people that read this I choose the hotel based on the comments guest have made to see what I expect to find there.

We had 3 rooms and when we arrived late at night in two of them these was no water in the minibar, and only one of them had a welcome bottle of wine, and we had to go to the reception to ask for water, as there was no place where to go to get one bottle of water for the night (not even to pay for it). After the first night we had to change one room because of the noise, hardly we managed to get after a long trip, only 3hours of sleep (this room was right on the corner, near the restaurant, and the reception knew about this issue).

A la carte restaurant we could not book at the beginning of the stay, we had to get in the morning at 7 AM to have a chance, to book for only one restaurant at a time (so, if you want to book for Wednesday, you have to wake up at 7AM Monday, if you also want for Thursday you also have to wake up at 7AM Tuesday). My advice if you do not want to eat at the main restaurant go in town, there are plenty of good choices.

One night we decided to go to the Champaign bar, to get one cocktail, as it was the birthday of one person from our group, and we arrived at 23.47 PM, and until that girl come to take our order it was 23.52 (before 00.00), and we could not get any cocktail, because they do not take orders after 23.50. We tried to explain that we do not want to stay long, just to get one glass, to say happy birthday, but no chance at all. Btw not even a card in the room to wish happy birthday.

Same issues with not enough sun beds at the pool, and the beach is average, but definitely not the best in the area, we saw better beaches at 4* hotels near this one.
The reception staff was ok, but we did not interact with except late checkout and taxi calls (btw in the last day they cancelled our room card as they forgot about late checkout, although I already paid for it). The main restaurant, the beach personnel and the crepe bar was ok and friendly, and the rooms were clean.

However, there was one person at the spa (which was also responsible for the towels) she said her name was Maria, as she did not had a name tag on, who I still wonder how can she work in a hotel, any hotel at all, as she threatened us in front of other guests not to get us towels at all, any other day, if she does not want, as she makes the rules there. The issue was that we got the 5 towels and did not get to the beach as our guide called and said she will be in our hotel in short time, and we decided to get back and leave the towels as we did not want to walk around with 5 towels. I have to mention that when we booked this hotel was also for the spa we could get, but after seeing her so rude and mean, and yell at us with other people around we decided this was not going to happen, and also we send somebody else with the towel cards the next day to get them, as we were afraid not to get any at all (although we paid the deposit)

Btw one day, I think it was Thursday 21.08, they had a visit in the hotel, and everybody was so friendly and polite, maybe they should have these visits more often. Not to mention that the person that was inspecting I guess, seemed friendly and smiled the guests, not like the staff, maybe they should learn more from him.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This is a very large all inclusive hotel, whilst we were staying during high season there were 1200 guests in the hotel.
The rooms have been very thoughtfully designed with luxurious detail; crystal lights, Led lights in bathrooms and free mini bar that is restocked daily.
The food in the main restaurant is a good standard and there is enough of a selection to avoid repetition. Because of the large number of guests the restaurant could at times feel very crowded. You were greeted at the beginning of each meal by a calm and welcoming maître d' who would find a table that fitted your requests and take you to it. The theme restaurants were great ; we managed to eat in 4 of them. The problem was reserving a table in any of these and by 8am each morning the tables in all the restaurants had been booked.
We managed to reserve a sunbed each morning for all four members of our family but by 8am the majority had already been taken.
All the staff in the hotel are extremely kind and hospitable and are organised extremely well by an impressive management team.
Beach is very small immediately outside hotel but there are hotel sunbeds and parasols for guests use.
The hotel has nothing really around it in terms of shops and restaurants. The nearest town Hersonissos was a 7€ taxi ride away and contained many touristy shops but was not particularly picturesque.
Overall a very clean thoughtfully designed resort.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fair comment X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I travelled with family, some of which had stayed here before and we came on their recommendation and cetrainly wasn't disappointed.

The experience started with bubbles on arrival - lovely touch!

Our rooms were lovely and the hotel managed to locate our 3 rooms next to each other. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels, along with an early evening housekeeping call asking if we needed anymore! The mini bar in the room was brillaint and re-stocked daily at no extra charge.

We spent most of our time by the main pool where the sunbeds were very comfortable. Nicos and Costos at the pool bar were fanastic. Lovely touch of having drinks orders taken from your sunbed along with the fruit being brought round twice a day.

We managed to eat a number of times at the speciatliy restauarants, my favourites being the Asian and Italian, although the others were all very good. Georgia did a fanatastic job managing to seat our party of 7 on each occasion - something we appreciated greatly.

Pantelos in main bar was brillant and great fun, he created us some lovely cocktails!

The main restaurant was lovely and always plenty of variety on offer, how people can moan about the food is beyond me! There was also the crepe bar that also served ice creams daily, with a huge selection - i am missing the banana one!

The hotel staff certainly help make this a wonderful hotel and would like to visit again. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SMJG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

On arriving at the Mitsis we were offered a buffet as it was late in the evening....a nice, welcome touch. Our room 928 was quiet and offered lovely views of the sea and the island rooms. Close to everything. The decor was stunning, so clean for the whole two weeks, towels changed and housekeeping checking on you daily. A couple of calls to reception were dealt with immediately.
We agree with other people that the staff are fantastic, around the pool our drinks were brought to us by Nicos, sitting at the pool bar you could chat to Costos....lovely people. We were pleasant to the staff and reaped the benefit, some guests were just plain rude!
Animation staff were friendly, especially Shakira who spoke to us every day.
Food was fantastic, how people can complain is beyond me. The speciality restaurants were great BUT very difficult to book. Do not think that having to queue at 7.00am to book is the best way to spend your holiday. We would have liked to have tried them all. The Cretan and Italian were fab.Thank you Georgia for ensuring that 7 of us could sit together.
Pools were fine, a few tiles need fixing, especially around steps in main pool. Sun beds very comfortable.
Go on the land train to see the area around about, well worth it.
Entertainment in the evening is not brilliant, the Il Divo tribute night was really good. But that was it really.
All in all though a fab holiday. Thank you.

Room Tip: Our room block 900 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NOZZIE1Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Fantastic hotel and delicious food with friendly staff and a lovely relaxed vibe. If you are looking for a relaxing poolside holiday with no desire to sightsee or leave the hotel then this place is perfect.
Couple of things to note - the gym is virtually non-existent consisting of a couple of machines and a limited selection of free weights that the hotel's spa charges 10 euros for 1 hour of use - so I gave that a miss! The pools are filled with saltwater - when we first found this out we were disappointed, but actually enjoyed the fact that we were not covered in chlorine every day. The beach is a 5 second walk across a very small road from the hotel. It was ok, but not anything special and we preferred to stay by the pool although there are water sports for those who want and scuba diving. Outside the hotel facilities you really need to go on a paid day trip if you felt the need for adventure as locally there is nothing of interest. Thh Wi-Fi is only free in one area of the main hotel building and if you want wi-fi in your room and throughout the hotel facilities you need to pay.
As mentioned the food is fantastic. There is a main restaurant that is a buffet and 5 smaller restaurants that are waiter service. All of these restaurants have to be tried as the food is excellent in all of them. There are also several bars and a all-day creperie/waffle bar with ice cream and various cakes also available. Children have a pool with water slides and a kids club during the day as well as a mini-disco during the evening and a talent show/performance that they give once a week at night. There are many activities during the day from Zumba in the pool, 5-a-side football, table tennis competitions and so on. The adult entertainment in the evening was split between 2 locations - near one of the bars was live music performances and near the kids pool was a stage where adult and children were amused by the hotel's team of performers (who also ran the daytime activities)
So overall great for those who want to relax and unwind from the stresses of life!

Room Tip: For a sea view make sure you are not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MHI_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anissaras
2.0 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#10 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#5 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
69.3 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Laguna Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Laguna Resort and Spa

Property: Mitsis Laguna Resort and Spa
Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Anissaras
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Family Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anissaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Laguna Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute and Ebookers so you can book your Mitsis Laguna Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Laguna Hotel Anissaras
Mitsis Laguna Resort And Spa Crete/Anissaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing