We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an excellent holiday, hotel, staff & guests all wonderful :)”
Review of Bella Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Anissaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Had an excellent weeks holiday, myself Partner & two 16yr olds.
Not a single complaint about any aspect of holiday ... buffet was nice & lots of choice, foodhall staff & terrace bar staff great, room and hotel surrounds tidy and clean. Special thanks to Matej and Marek on terrace bar duty! Our last night meal at Stuffed Olive restaurant was lovely too.
We joined in with water polo/table tennis/aquagym/pilates etc & loved every minute of our stay. What made it special was the friendliness of other guests from about 20 various other countries & also the lovely animation team who were great at bringing everyone together & you cant help but enjoy yourself when they are around! ( Special thanks to Roberto & Peter the party people!!) Location good for us, v relaxing, depends on what you want ... this hotel not in a town but amenities mean you dont need to be. Can hire quad bikes from shop along beachfront for 30 euros per day or is 8 euros by cab to hersonissos, and we went to Malia for 20 euros in cab. Best holiday for a very long time & would def go back to this hotel :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNADAY065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
There are newer reviews for Bella Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed here in June and had a great time. The hotel wasn't too busy which was nice for us travelling with a 3 year old. We stayed in a 2 bedroom room which was fantastic, very spacious and quiet, even had 2 bathrooms and 2 balconies! All the staff were very friendly at the hotel, they had an animation team who tried to get you to join in the daily activities but they weren't too pushy which was nice. There was a lovely little paddling pool perfect for our 3 year old and the beach was on the edge of the grounds of the hotel so there was sand and sea as well - perfect. The only thing I would say is that there wasn't a proper sandy beach, a bit shingly but once you got out to sea a bit it was sandy(I wish I had taken reef shoes for the water). There was also a nice little playground. The food was great - large choice of local specialities as well as international food, it was all freshly cooked and plentiful with afternoon tea and ice cream served as well as lunch and dinner! . We took the land train from just outside the hotel which was a nice trip out.
All in all lovely place to say woul definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoberks2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Just returned from a week’s A/I holiday at the Aquis Bella Beach Hotel, this was a last minute holiday that we took to be with our Sons family who were booked in at the Thompson Sensatori Hotel two blocks down the beach.

We looked at all the Hotels in that area to be close to the Sensatori and booked the Bella Beach after reading the Tripadvisor reviews and reviewing the Aquis web site.
We are a married couple in our sixties and well travelled to all countries for holiday also we do not usually review our holidays and this will be the second time in years that we have and usually take the good with the bad on any of our holidays.

The reason we felt very strongly that we had to make our experience known is that we relied heavily on the previous reviews of this hotel and found our experience totally opposite.

First thing, this is not in any way a 5 star hotel, the room decor and bathroom at best are 3 star and very basis, the initial impression we had when we arrived were very friendly staff, clean and functional reception area but a lack of any air conditioning in any of the main areas of the hotel, it was there but not operating, the heat was at times unbearable.

I have listed the good and bad points of our experience at this hotel and do understand that the French are the main country at this hotel by a very large degree but the UK families we met were not impressed with the hotel and even as we left the hotel at the end of our holiday two new UK arrivals were complaining bitterly at the reception about their rooms.

Room
Very basic rooms and decor with no comfortable seating, manual air conditioning no remote, dated furniture and TV, bathroom basic with shower integral to the bath and no extraction only a small window for ventilation.

We seem to be lucky that we had a very private balcony and were not troubled by noise from adjacent rooms or the Animation team at the pool or main bar in the evening, the fridge came in very handy, rooms were cleaned daily and no problem with towels or sheets. All balconies and buildings have this beautiful climbing flowering foliage completely covering the walls but the hotel supply a mains powered mosquito unit with ample replacement tables, with our own mosquito repellent as well we had no problems.

Main Restaurant
The selection of food is very very repetitive and bland and seems to be the same for lunch and evening meals we ate out a lot after day five, the a la carte as the previous review was hilarious, the service and table setup were first class but the food was atrocious. The main restaurant was in a large timber building which looks more like a canteen than a 5 star restaurant, this had large glass sliding doors which enclosed the whole area and had about six floor standing air conditioning units to try and control the temperatures, these failed badly. There was no Alfresco eating area in this restaurant and I surmise the reason why is with all the beautiful greenery that is growing on the adjacent buildings keeps the doors closed to keep the local wildlife out. Evening dress code was totally ignored in the main and a la carte restaurants

Salads were nice, breakfast ok, no sign of beef or steaks all week including the a la carte.

Main Bar
The internal seating areas adjacent to the main bar seemed to be rarely used and we found out later that they are uncomfortable and again there is a lack of any comfortable air conditioning. The external seating area was comfortable clean and very modern. The evening entertainment was again as a previous review a French version of the Agado song by the Animation team and went on until the bar closed at 11 pm, you pay after this, this spoilt any chance of a quiet evening A/I drink and conversation, we normally retreated to the other hotels or our balcony via the room fridge, not much value with the A/I there.
Young French children used the main bar seating area as their playground most evenings with their parents not caring whether this disturbed other peoples evening and again caused early exits to the balcony and fridge, the hotel manager who was there most evenings seemed unable to resolve this.

The bar staff and waiters were hard working and very pleasant.

Pool Area
Animations team killing zone, they are out in full force with first class megaphone, each day all day.

We used the beach area and swam in the sea every day when the lifeguards allowed, can’t beat nature for a nice day out.

Nearest Taverna about half a mile either way on the beach road, Thompson Sensatori 5 star Hotel less than half a mile and worth a visit.

End line was that we were disappointed with the quality of the hotel and felt we lost out on our A/I package, maybe we are getting to old for Greece.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I've just read the latest review and would entirely second what was said. My boyfriend and I booked a week's holiday - initially at the hotel's sister hotel nr. Agios Nicholas and (last minute) we were told there had been an overbooking and we were transferred to Aquis Bella.

However, on arrival we weren't disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed our week's holiday. The hotel is simple and clean and the rooms are a really decent size. We had an upgrade to a sea view room, 2 a la carte meals and massages each. The food at the hotel is really good, there is so much choice, the only difficulty being to exercise self control at meal times (we were all inclusive)!!

The hotel staff are very friendly, the animation team do try and get you involved, though that said, they are not pushy at all and if you want to relax and read all day - then it's not a problem! My boyfriend took part in the football, ping pong and loved it!!

With regard to entertainment - the animation team are full of energy, but the entertainment was mainly in French (as were most of the other hotel guests) and the enterainment they put on in the evening is rather funny (i.e.. it is a bit lacking!!). That said, we were more then happy just walking to nearby bars for a change of scenery!

We hired a car for 2 days and explored nearby Hersonissos, Malia Palace ruins, Knossos and Agios Nicholas (which is beautiful!!) and did a trip to Spinalonga. We hired a car through the hotel's car rental, which was purely for convenience, though we could have got something cheaper if we walked to the nearby rental places just a few mins from the hotel.

With regard to the "Spa", this really was non existent! The hotel does have the facilities, but whilst we were there they actually book up massages for a certain day and then call in someone to give you the treatments. This is fine, but it isn't quite true to make out that the hotel is a spa hotel - rather it is a hotel with spa facilites I think! That said, we both had good massages.

I would definately recomend this hotel to couples, families wanting a relaxing getaway, though the more upbeat bars are only a short taxi ride away in Hersonissos, Malia..

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxonMrMrs_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My husband and I booked this holiday for our honeymoon on a bit of a shoe string via youtravel.com. We originally booked the Aquis Blue Marine in Agios Nikolaos because it looked so beautiful and had great reviews on Trip Advisor. However, having booked and paid, we received a call two weeks later (a week before the holiday) stating that they had overbooked the hotel and asking us to move to the sister hotel in Hersonissos. My husband put up a bit of a fight but they threw in a room with a sea view, a free massage each and an extra a la carte meal each so he eventually realised he wasn't getting anywhere and agreed! As it turned out it didn't really matter as the Bella Beach was lovely and we had a fab time. ***Be warned*** If you are considering booking with youtravel.com, when we spoke to others at the Bella Beach, most of them had also been moved from the Blue Marine which lead us to believe that there weren't ever enough places for us. The Bella Beach was only at about half capacity and they probably allowed us to book with the knowledge we would be moved. Also the rep there was awful. She was called Tracey...she visited on the second day and pre-empted her advice with, "I can't stop long, I haven't got many guests in this hotel and have to be at another one soon." Charming! She gave us a list of over priced excursions, one being to Spinalonga for 53 Euros. When we ventured into Hersonissos, a really lovely local man was selling a trip to Spinalonga via various other locations (i.e. much better value for money) for 25 Euros. A couple we met booked with him and had a fab day on a lovely boat. Don't believe a word the reps tell you! Locals do it cheaper, speak English very well and are really lovely, decent people. This includes the car hire.
Following my ranting, the hotel...! We were so relieved when we turned up! The hotel looked simple and clean, lovely reception staff who were very helpful.There's a small shop selling the basics which is typically over priced but not extortionate. If you venture out of the hotel onto the beach path and turn either way, there's shops a short walk away and these are very reasonable.
Our room had a beautiful sea view. We were on the top floor of a block of rooms overlooking the amphitheatre. It was clean and tidy, basic but absolutely fine. The beds were a bit hard but fine otherwise!
The beach looked very pretty, was quite wide and not over crowded. The beach bar to the hotel for all inclusive wasn't very far and the service on the bars was friendly and fast. The sand was quite coarse and very hot! The sea took some getting in to and out of as there was a stone/shingle shelf into it. The waves and currents were quite strong so I'd be very cautious with children venturing in.
I thought that the food was lovely but then I love Greek food. My husband is a typical Brit abroad and wasn't overwhelmed but he found something every day and finished whatever was on his plate so it couldn't have been that bad! Loads of salad, fish, chicken and lamb but they also had theme nights with Italian pastas and Asian foods. There's also lots of deserts, ice cream whenever you want it and lots of pastries for breakfast (yum yum!). The restaurant was clean and tidy but the waiting staff were thin on the ground and it was sometimes difficult to get a clean table. We often had to wait a while for drinks too. That said, the staff worked really hard and were very friendly.
The pool area was lovely and clean. We found a sun bed every day and the staff were very relaxed and friendly.
The entertainment team (or animation team as they call themselves) worked really hard to try and keep the guests happy. They all spoke English and several other languages which was impressive in itself! All day there were various activities such as water polo, aquagym, football, mini golf, volley ball which they really encouraged you to do (but they weren't pushy). Some of the male entertainers were quite flirtatious and it was entertaining in itself watching them move around the ladies! Don't let them make you feel sorry for them that they work 16 hour days...we managed to get the gossip out of them and they certainly get bonusses from some of the guests ;).
The evening entertainment was absolutely awful (sorry Regis if you read this!). One night there was a band and they were quite good. Otherwise the shows put on by the animation team were rubbish, although it was quite funny in itself that they were so bad! The shows are primarily in French as most of the guests were from France, although they also repeat their lines concisely in English. It doesn't really matter though as the team are trying so hard to please, you kind of get swept up in it anyhow.
The a la carte was hilarious! It says on the menu that some of the meat and fish used was frozen which says it all! The dishes were the same as the ones offered on the buffet but presented better! If I'd paid the prices on the menu I'd have been gutted but as it was part of the AI it was just quite funny. We had a joke with our new found holiday pals (hi Bill and Rochelle!) that the waiting man must have been knackered running back and fore over the pool bridge with the food from the buffet! BUT the venue was beautiful overlooking the sea and the staff were super efficient.
Over all we had such a lovely honeymoon. We only did one excursion and as we are like a couple of kids, it had to be the water park, Water City. Wowee, it was huge and what a day! Definitely go and take your kids if that's your kind of thing. We ventured to Hersonissos one evening and were so glad that we weren't in that resort as it was quite dirty and lined with bars, clubs and restaurants with touts trying to drag you in...drove us nuts. The bars seemed dead but the staff at the hotel said that they liven up from about midnight if that's your thing. Hersonnisos was about a 10 minute taxi ride away (8 Euros) but we were so glad to return to our lovely beach and hotel.
The hotel entertainment stopped at 11pm but you could go the the disco downstairs. It was very lame and stopped at 00.30! This hotel is not for party animals but great if you want to relax and do some activities in the day time.
Although the hotel had a few quirks, none of it mattered because the laid back setting and friendly staff. I would definitely recommend it and would definitely go back on a cheap deal...though not with youtravel.com! Dan.S.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Such an amazing place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



This had been our second stay at Aquis Bella Beach and again we couldn't fault it!! Both my gorgeous boyfriend and I loved every minute of it :) We stayed both times for just a week but would have happily stayed longer!



We were looking for a holiday which would have a mixture of relaxation and a good nightlife but not right on our doorstep as we didn’t want it to be too manic. Staying here was the perfect choice, the beach is gorgeous, we hired out quad bikes and was able to travel around to other beaches near Hersonissos and into the main town which when traveling by taxi only took 10 mins, the quad bikes are so much fun and there is also the options of water sports here as well!! Star Beach is a great place to visit; lots of activities... would recommend the paragliding, so much fun!! Lively atmosphere, music, pool bars and loads of opportunities to chill out in the sun!!


The hotel is stunning; there are gym facilities which that boyfriend loved! The pool is always immaculate and the beach is just a step away! The staff are real characters, so friendly and approachable! They couldn’t have done anymore to make us feel welcome, hence why we came back a second time round! And I would not hesitate to come back again and again and again!! With this hotel - they have paid attention to all the smaller things that make such a big difference - the presentation for everything would be 5*.



The hotel had changed a lot since our first visit, the bridge across the pool, another pool bar had been added and the inside one had been modernized to make it more spacious! I had considered it pretty much perfect when we first stayed but this made the world of difference this time! This just goes to show how the staff at this hotel are so conscious and aware of improving their standards constantly - they have defiantly achieved this!!



The animation team are so lively, beware of Regis! They are all so friendly, always wanting to get others involved in their activies and entertainment! They wore us both out just watching them - so full of energy!



I wanted to say a massive thank you to the staff at Aquis Bella Beach for making every minutes of our holiday worthwhile and so enjoyable!! Popi, Georgio and Sofia were so lovely and even remembered us from before which was a bonus! They were such a laugh and were so kind to us.Rurak - who was only new to the hotel made such an impression on us both! He was so kind and such a gentleman, he welcomed us to our room and throughout the holiday was always checking we were enjoying our stay - he was absolutely lovely!!


All in all I would highly recommend Aquis Bella Beach! It is stunning! I hope my review has helped persuade you and if so - Have an amazing time!! Take care and happy Holiday-ing :)



Love xxxx Hannah & Dee xxxx

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x_Han_Dee_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Accomodation rooms good and daily cleaned to a very good standard all rooms close to beach pool,resturants.Room was quiet with good air con.
Lovely pool plenty of sunbeds with more on the beach just 1 minute away.Bar area outside very nice but on chilly evenings the indoor area lacked in comfort and atmosphere.All Staff very nice and friendly Enterainment staff very good, mainly French but able to talk very good english Some may say a bit over the top in there encouragement for you to partisipate in there games and dances but I feel with just me and the wife there, we sometimes needed that involvment you can always find a quiet corner to read your book.A lot of Guests were French in Large groups but on the good side there were no towels on the sunbeds at 8am which made a change from those others who by the way were next door.
All inclusive very good, top brand drinks extra but Sminnroff was free ,Food very nice lots of choice but I found the buffet style of eating became a little boring towards the end of our weeks stay and my body could not take much more abuse.We had 2 days of rain and felt the surrounding area was unattractive went to Iraklion on the local ( a 20 min walk to the bus stop.)Did not like Iraklion Goods can be brought in England for less and the city lacks any charm or character you would find in Italy.
Overall we enjoyed our stay would certainly consider returning with family or friends Its very nice but this world has a lot to see so only a bargain price would tempt me back

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greavesie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anissaras
1.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 172 in Hersonissos
2,341 reviews
1.5 mi away
Annabelle Beach Resort
Annabelle Beach Resort
#37 of 172 in Hersonissos
992 reviews
0.8 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Beach Hotel

Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Anissaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anissaras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anissaras
#5 Family Hotel in Anissaras
Price Range: £87 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bella Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Beach lies on a beautiful stretch of the Cretan sea in the centre of the northern coast of Crete. This extremely select hotel at which earthy hues are dominant has been built with local brick and marble and the overall tranquility leaves one with a lasting impression of the grandeur and comfort of bygone days. The relaxing pool area invites you to laze away your holidays, while there are, of course, many leisure and sporting activities available for those who prefer them. RESTAURANT POLICY- DRESS CODE Casual but smart dress is required in all indoor public areas of the hotel after 19:00. Please refrain from wearing shorts and slippers in the dining room for Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bella Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Bella Beach Hotel Anissaras
Aquis Bella Beach Hersonissos
Aquis Bella Beach Hotel Hersonissos
Bella Beach Hotel Crete/Anissaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing