We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a great boutique hotel / villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Island Villas
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Anissaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I booked a last minute break for a week at Paradise Island Villas last October (apologies for the delay in writing this review). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and found the villas to be a perfect place to relax - the reviews we had read and the recommendation from Mr and Mrs Smith had set the bar high and we were not disappointed! We drove from the airport which was easy enough (took about 40 minutes) and found ourselves warmly welcomed by Pol. We were quickly shown to our villa which was a beautiful two bed villa (Executive villa). The villa had two bathrooms and a downstairs shower room, plus a kitchen, dining room with study area and a comfortable lounge. They have a selection of DVD's to borrow if you fancy watching a movie. It was lovely to have our own pool but given we were there in October it was a little chilly (note it is quite chilly at nights to take light jumpers / pashminas at that time of the year if eating dinner outside) - we did pay to hire the heater for a few hours one day but it didn't make much difference to be honest so probably not worth it unless it is a little warmer initially. We had dinner at the restaurant on a number of nights and also room service. The food was of good quality and good portions, with plenty to choose from. Breakfast was delicious and they have great iced coffee.

Throughout our stay Pol and Eleni were fantastic, always willing to share their thoughts on where to go / beaches to visit / restaurant recommendations etc. or just for a chat, nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were lovely and always smiling. Would not hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelling_addict_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandGuestService, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Paradise Island Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear travelling_addict_8,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay in Paradise Island Villas. We truly welcome and value all comments of our guests.
We are very pleased to hear your positive comments and kind words regarding our Boutique Villa Hotel’s service, accommodation, food, facilities as well as the friendliness and service of our personnel. We do try to offer a different accommodation and hospitality experience to our guests and we are happy you experienced that as well in one of our villas. The Paradise team makes a continuous effort for personalized and concierge service and through extensive training we try to improve day by day.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you soon again in our Boutique Villa Hotel.

The Paradise Island Villas Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

We indulged our teenaged daughter in her dream trip this past summer, by taking her on a mythology themed tour of Greece over a very busy 9 days in late July 2013. We chose to relax a bit at the end, while we casually enjoyed Crete. The Paradise Island Villas were almost completely perfect for us! In fact, the only complaint was the wifi was very spotty, but I understand that is the case through all of Crete.

Eleni and her staff are incredibly pleasant and happy people! They seemed to take genuine pleasure in helping accommodate our needs and requests! We were put in touch with a very nice taxi driver who took us where we wanted, whether that was to the mountains to see one of the puported caves where Zeus was hidden and raised, or to sight-see, shop and eat delish local cuisine in the less-frequented mountain villages, or even to spend an afternoon at a local beach.

The food and drink at the Villas was good and even the room service was a pleasure at times. They were incredibly helpful with arranging for a pleasant early departure at checkout, and made sure we had something to eat in our villa that morning.

I would not hesitate to return one day; staying there is even better than staying with family, in many ways!

Room Tip: My only tip would be that families with young kids, or travelers who are mobility impaired stay else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mammaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have recently returned from Paradise Villas following a relaxing 7 day stay. Eleni and Pol are quite fantastic and from the moment they meet and greet you from the taxi on arrival they always are available and happy to answer questions, arrange days out, arrange rental cars for us.
The accommodation - we were staying in Aphrodite, was very spacious, and well finished with 2 baths, 3 showers and computer available.
The private pool looked great but was a little too cold to get into, you can pay for heating though. Im sure in the summer months this is less of an issue. The mains pools were also a little too cold for an enjoyable swim which a pity with the perfect weather we enjoyed there.
The food- the breakfasts are excellent with a good selection of bread, omelettes, pancakes, waffles, muffins, fruit cereal...!
The dinners were more variable ranging from excellent to average quality, the fish less impressive than one might expect for a resort next to the sea.
The location allowed a lovely view of the surrounding mountains and sea. It is a little way from civilisation which on the one hand is great for getting away from everything, but not so great when you fancy a wander or need a supermarket- nearest decent one in hersinosis which you need a car for- or can use the tourist train!
The staff are all superb, catering for your every need.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Having read all of the reviews before we arrived at Paradise Island Villas it was everything I expected and more. From our arrival to the time we left we felt we were treated to a 5 star service, everything was perfect, the food is amazing, we ate there every night and almost every lunch. I left feeling totally relaxed and my husband and I have decided that it is our 'go to place' for a relaxing escape in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This place has so many nice reviews that writing another one ends up being the only difficult thing about this hotel.

Apart from that, live is really made very easy here by your paradise hosts, most notably by Eleni and Pol, who really seem to manage to make everyone feel welcome and cozy here, so I'll start here with the review:

SERVICE:
With only twelve villas, service is very personal and you know all staff after a day or two, and they know you as well, including your preferences.
This can be good or bad, and here it's definitely very good.
This goes far bejond simple things like remembering your name, it's also a hundred little other things. A lot of this probably involves some magic touch, like when to approach us with help and suggestions, when not to overdo it. Then it goes on to such eveyday things like when's a good time to service the villa, where to sit in the restaurant, and what to eat or drink, at least for those members of the family where this did become quite predictable.
We found this very pleasant compared to bigger hotels where the distance between guests and employees makes for a less personal atmosphere.
Especially Eleni offered a treasure of knowledge about the surroundings and the island and was happy to share this with us.

RESTAURANT: We were happy with the food and usually ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel, since we did not rent a car. The prices were modest, and service by Mike and Nikos was warm, friendly and efficient each and every time. This was a very pleasant surprise, even more so because we were more or less "captive audience". We tried fish twice but did not find the taste or texture that great, so we switched back to the fair selection of other dishes from the menu or the special of the day.

VILLAS:
We were in Villa Poseidon in the first half of October. The villa was considerably larger than I had imagined, and we were very happy with the space, comfort and privacy it offered. The lower level of the ground floor offers a comfortable living room and a shower / toilet. This bathroom was very practical when coming back from the beach or the own pool in the garden to wash off the sand without messing up the whole villa.
A few steps up is a dining room and the kitchen with all utensils provided. There's a few appliances as well, starting with a full size fridge/freezer, four ring stove, oven, toaster, kettle and microwave. There's no dishwasher, but housekeeping will clean the dishes for you.

Upstairs - once you have climbed the spiral staircase - there's a large master bedroom with a slightly less large king bed (I'd say it's around 1.5m wide?). This bedroom has an ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi-bath (regular size bathtub). Also upstairs is a second twin bedded bedroom and another bathroom.

Villa design: Nice, luxurious, modern and practical - see pictures and the website. I didn't quite manage to find out what to do with 5 balconies. No idea why the whole resort is painted in this dull grey on the outside, and I didn't see much point asking Eleni about it.
I know Crete isn't just about white and blue houses, but I still hope the real paradise comes with a more inviting color scheme than this.
One little thing which I would be happy about is that the WiFi reception on the second floor could be better.
Perfect spot: I loved to watch the sun rise thru the beautiful bougainvillea from the bathroom.

SURROUNDING / WHAT TO DO:
BEACH: Paradise island villas are around 15-20 min by foot from some nice places on the sand beach in Anissaras. Just to the closest point on the beach is a bit shorter, and you can walk longer if you want to pick another place along the beach or select the amount of infrastructure you need. (There's the complete range from lonely beach to restaurant / supermarket and multiple rows of sunloungers - choose what you like).
We walked sometimes and when we were too lazy, it was very easy to get a taxi for I think around 6 EUR.
VILLAGE: The next bigger village in the east is Hersonissos (Chersonissos). This offers around 100 Restaurants and Bars along the crescent beach/harbour. We ate there once at "LaScala" and were quite happy with food and service. There's a small port with around a dozen small to medium size boats offering day trips along the coast. The village is VERY touristy and we did not like it too much.
There's a SPAR supermarket as well, which is probably a good choice if you intend to use your kitchen, but don't want to go too far.
Taxi from Paradise Island Villas to Chersonissos or vice versa was EUR 8.
The OLD village of Chersonissos is a few km inland, and is much more relaxed and inviting. It's fortunately missing a 1000 exactly equal souvenir shops found in the new part of the village on the beach but offers a choice of nice tavernas instead.
FAMILY ENTERTAINMENT:
Our kids liked the Labyrinth park a lot. Plenty of further alternatives close by - just ask Eleni or Pol. We were really pleasantly surprised about the many close by options we had. From horse/pony riding to waterpark to mini-golf, go-cart etc etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Popoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have just returned from a week in paradise with my wife and 15 month old son .. I Cannot rate paradise island villas highly enough .. , every single detail is covered , truly 5 star service and accommodation.. we have never felt more welcome at any hotel (or any other establishment for that matter!) ever before. Eleni and Pol make you feel like part of the family from the moment you arrive .. Nikos , Mike and all of the staff are absolutely wonderful and nothing is too much trouble .. I have never written a review about anywhere before but really felt compelled to share my views on how amazing this place is ! Perfection

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilMadDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

After we enjoyed the place SO much in our previous vacation in 2012, we came back again in 2013. We initially thought about trying new places (i.e. not necessarily go to Crete) but the great memories from our amazing vacation in 2012 just made it clear that if we want a super vacation again, we just have to come back to Paradise Island Villas yet again.
What can I tell you - this was a great decision to make :-) This time around, as we already knew the hotel, we came with high expectations - which can be risky. Guess what - they exceeded all expectations yet again :-)

Super cozy, like your (luxurious) home away from home. Amazing villas with all possible amenities and perks, great location - very close to the center of Chersonisos, yet remote enough to be quiet and feel very private, and above all: the GREAT staff who are SUPER FRIENDLY and will really make your vacation a great one.
They know all the little tips and recommendations for things around the island, that no tour guide will tell you. No matter what types of things you like doing - whether it's touring and site seeing, or looking for the best beaches, or shopping, etc. - they will have the best tips for you.

We were there for 7 nights this time, had a great time and enjoyed every second of it, were sorry we had to leave... and will definitely come back again for a 3rd visit soon enough.

Highly recommended (and that's an understatement...)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MulyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anissaras
1.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,225 reviews
77.3 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
151 reviews
46.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 174 in Hersonissos
778 reviews
77.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Villas

Address: Prodromos S.A, Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Anissaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anissaras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anissaras
Price Range: £211 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradise Island Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Island Villas is a unique family run Boutique Villa Hotel, a complex of just 12 stylish luxury villas. Discreetly tucked away in the coastal town of Anissaras, Paradise Island Villas lies just 2km from the cosmopolitan town of Hersonissos and 23km from Heraklion's airport, yet it could be a world away. Within the lush landscaped grounds, the purity and silence of the air creates a fitting ambience for a collection of 12 individually designed elegant villas, each with its own private grounds and heated pools with jets. Paradise Island Villas is an island experience to savour; combining elegant and luxury villas with the charm of a 5 star boutique hotel, this hillside location looks out to superb sea and mountain views. Each villa is the epitome of comfort with chic, ethnic furnishings and luxurious amenities such as well as private pools, Jacuzzis and gardens. With its elegant country chic aesthetic, its distinctive Mediterranean architecture, versatile services, and respect for natural material, Paradise Island Villas unfolds as an unparalleled holiday experience to its guests. Featuring individually designed villas with private pools and garden, a lounge poolside bar, bistro/restaurant, two main outdoor pools, a fitness room, a tennis court, we excel at offering the complete island indulgence package. Our dedication to high hospitality standards has created a warm and chic environment, making Paradise Island Villas the perfect destination for relaxation and rejuvenation for couples, groups and families! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paradise Island Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Island Villas Hotel Chersonisos
Paradise Island Hotel
Paradise Island Villas Crete/Anissaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing