We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little sterile for paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Island Villas
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Anissaras
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little sterile for paradise”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My wife and I visited for a short honeymoon break after our wedding last year, to be honest we left a little disappointed and feel the wider reviews overplay how wonderful the place really is. To be fair the stay was v expensive and was our honeymoon so our expectations were high (and we were reassured by the reviews).

Where we were left a little underwhelmed:

- the location is hardly paradise. To be clear the apartments are contained within a small walled complex about 5 mins walk from the coast. There are no views from the apartments outside the complex (we had hoped of beautiful mountain views or perhaps overlooking the sea). To be honest though the immediate surrounding area is hardly the most picturesque in Crete, anyway. there is a disappointing amount of new builds and sites under construction between the main road and the coast, there is vey little authentic about the immediate area. A short trip up the coast also brings a depressing dose of brits abroad bars and hotels, which weren't what we envisaged either.
- the service was hugely attentive and Eleni and the team obviously work hard to make sure guests are well looked after - nothing is too much trouble (e.g. arranged vehicle hire on our behalf with very little fuss and paper work and reasonable cost). However, at times with so few guests in the complex, the level of attentiveness became a little intrusive.
- the hotel menu wasn't overly inspiring - a little too american at times, which left us yearning for more authentic fare.
- finally the spec of the apartments also seemed a little too british suburban new build. it was nice to have a private pool, but to be honest we expected more style or character given boutique hotel marketing

Sorry to be slightly out of kilter with wider reviews but if you are looking for something more authentic or characterful, this place may disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpanishBritAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Island Villas, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your stay in Paradise Island Villas with us. We truly welcome and value all comments of our guests. It is our policy to be close to our guests and encourage them to offer us immediate feedback while still staying in our Resort, so we could act and improve their stay immediately. Direct feedback always helps us to try harder, in order to exceed your expectations and provide exclusive luxury services.

We are very pleased to hear your positive comments and kind words regarding our Boutique Villa Hotel’s service as well as the friendliness and service of our personnel. We do try to offer a different hospitality experience to our guests and we are happy you experienced it in your way. The Paradise team makes a continuous effort for personalized and concierge service and through extensive training we try to improve day by day.

Regarding your comments:
About our location: we are located in Anissaras, a very tranquil and developed area of the island, offering private villas and small country cottahes, away from any city noise or crowed areas of a town and touristic resorts. The area provides seclusion and privacy, important features for our guests. We are not sure if you tried walking to the beach, (just 5mins. walk) as it would have offered you the unique chance to experience a nice walk by a long coast of almost 5km of the Anissaras beach. Also we are not sure if you visited the three lovely traditional villages of Old Hersonissos, Piskopiano and Koutouloufari, just 10min. drive from our hotel, or the Lassithi plateau, 30mins. drive, offering the real traditional site of Crete. Our Guest Service always provides the best tips and advice to all our guests, regarding local sites and attractions.

Our guests appreciate the privacy and safety so we have made sure that the architecture and the layout of the property organised in that why, so maximum safety and privacy are offered. Regarding your comment about the views: we are really sorry that you did not share this with us, as we could have offered you another villa, at a different location in our property, with better views to the sea, the small "Harakas" mountain and the 10acres olive grove, just next to our hotel.

As we are a small, Boutique villa hotel, our customers will never queue at the bar or at the guest service, will enjoy their exercise with not having to share the fitness room with a crowd and will have a good swim and sunbath in the communal pools, sometimes, not having to share them at all. Our operation times for all our communal services are very flexible, so our guests will enjoy everything at their own time of convenience. At the time that you stayed in our hotel, July 2010, almost all the villas were occupied. This quite atmposhere is what our guests appreciate in our Boutique Villa Hotel.

As far as the menus are concerned: our breakfast menu offers a lavish selection of European, American and local dishes, looking to satisfy all different tastes of various nationalities. In our Ambrosia Restaurant, we offer Mediterranean and international cuisine of local produce and everyday our chefs prepare the "dish of the day", featuring Greek and Cretan recipes. Also once per week we organise a traditional Greek Barbeque night, at our BBQ area, where our guests enjoy real Greek food and meat, cooked and prepared in the local Cretan way. We are really sorry you did not experience our BBQ night or any other local dishes that we serve.

As we offer 12 individually designed and decorated villas, each with its own character we could had offered you another villa that may have been closer to your taste and style.

We are really sorry that you did not come in contact with our Management Staff during your stay, in order to bring to our attention your issues and give us in that way the possibility for providing all possible solutions and make your stay even more pleasant. We would like to express our apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

Dear Guest, working with the greatest enthusiasm, constantly improving our services and taking into account your well intended, constructive criticism and comments, we truly hope that you would give us the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel and we are confident that your highest expectations can be exceeded in Paradise Island Villas.

The Paradise Island Villas Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
118
122
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Being entirely selfish, I don't really want everyone to know how great this place is - as we'll have trouble booking! It's FABULOUS.

Whether travelling with young kids or wanting to escape for a romantic trip away with someone special this place is perfect. Understated elegance, great service and breakfasts to die for......

If there was one small tiny gripe it's that breakfast doesn't start until 9am.....which can be a pain when you have hungry mouths to feed up at 6, but having said that, they're worth the wait....try the 'healthy breakfast'...not quite sure what's healthy about a pile of fresh croissants and pastries as well as bread and homemade jam (plus the fresh fruit and yogurt...and freshly brewed coffee of course), but hell - you're on holiday - go for it!

LOVE IT!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fudgeletgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Paradise Island Villas is an amzing place to stay. The staff are exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to make your stay perfect - nothing is too much trouble. The villas are beautifully appointed and have a private garden with loungers, table and pool.
The main pools are beautiful and have great views towards the sea. The service in the restaurant is superb, and the food very good.
We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uksarahf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgomanero
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed in Paradise Island Villas last July. Everything was so perfect. As Italian travellers (and we travelled everywhere in the world) we are a litlle bit demanding (service,
cleanliness , food, styling etc) but we can't find anything to complay. Thank you to Heleni and her wonderful staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ornitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We booked to stay this to have a pre-summer holiday break and a little rest and recouperation after a busy couple of months.

The perfect place.

We arrived on Sunday afternoon to be greeted on the steps by Eleni and Paul. They had a fantastic Cretian christining in full swing but this didn't stop them fully extending one of the sweetest most charming arrivals I think I have ever experinced.

We where invited to join in and ended up having one of the sweetest afternoons at a babys (George!) christening I have ever been to - especially as we where not invited!

The villa was perfect, cool, clean and perfectly equiped. It even had a brand new hammock.

Our week flew by, Elina and Paul being the perfect guides for Crete. Always on hand to advice, assist and pass the day with. One evening they arranged a typical Crete barbeque by the main pool, a lovely evening I have never seen so much food it was fantastic.

If you are looking for something special, different with a hint of luxury then you must stay here.

I loved the billowing sheer white curtains around the begoda structure for dinner, the white settee's, the storm lantern candles. A truely preety well designed place, with a real attention to detail.

Elina is the most sincere, concerned host you could possiable meet, nothing is too much trouble and I had tears in my eye's as we drove away.

PERFECT!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

To anybody looking for a little piece of Paradise well here it is just three and a half hours from the UK! Paradise Villa's is a super concept, you have your own private well equipped Villa with private pool plus the luxury of having five star hotel services at your beck and call. Eleni and her staff are all so helpful and nothing is to much trouble. The bar, main pool area and outside restauraunt seating are all delightful and the ambience is perfect especially if you want to just get away for a relaxing break. We would recommend hiring a car and exploring the Island as there is quite a lot to see. We found Elounda the most pleasant area and if you do have a car make sure you drive into the mountains as the drive and views are both breath taking. If you go you must try an Island Waffle for breakfast and order Mousaka for dinner !!! Overall our experience was first class and we intend to keep in touch with Eleni and the team. Go and try it for yourselves you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilWCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Recently, my husband and I have celebrated our 6th anniversary; we booked a Villa and left the kids with Grandma. From the moment we arrived, we felt it...that extra personal touch :-)
Never mind the beautiful, spacious Villa with a view of the sea...Never mind the private pool with a jet...Never mind the luxury bed with your choice of pillow...Never mind the high tech, all you need, newest equipment...our best experience was that we were attended to right from the start, all our questions answered promptly, all our wishes translated to actions, Eleni’s recommendations were spot-on, like she could read our thoughts…we just couldn’t stop smiling :-)
Eleni and the team – thank you for your warm hospitality! We enjoyed it very much! Next year we’re coming back, this time with the kids

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranronit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anissaras
1.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
46.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.7 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Anissaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Villas

Property: Paradise Island Villas
Address: Prodromos S.A, Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Anissaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anissaras
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anissaras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anissaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradise Island Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Island Villas is a unique family run Boutique Villa Hotel, a complex of just 12 stylish luxury villas. Discreetly tucked away in the coastal town of Anissaras, Paradise Island Villas lies just 2km from the cosmopolitan town of Hersonissos and 23km from Heraklion's airport, yet it could be a world away. Within the lush landscaped grounds, the purity and silence of the air creates a fitting ambience for a collection of 12 individually designed elegant villas, each with its own private grounds and heated pools with jets. Paradise Island Villas is an island experience to savour; combining elegant and luxury villas with the charm of a 5 star boutique hotel, this hillside location looks out to superb sea and mountain views. Each villa is the epitome of comfort with chic, ethnic furnishings and luxurious amenities such as well as private pools, Jacuzzis and gardens. With its elegant country chic aesthetic, its distinctive Mediterranean architecture, versatile services, and respect for natural material, Paradise Island Villas unfolds as an unparalleled holiday experience to its guests. Featuring individually designed villas with private pools and garden, a lounge poolside bar, bistro/restaurant, two main outdoor pools, a fitness room, a tennis court, we excel at offering the complete island indulgence package. Our dedication to high hospitality standards has created a warm and chic environment, making Paradise Island Villas the perfect destination for relaxation and rejuvenation for couples, groups and families! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Paradise Island Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Island Villas Hotel Chersonisos
Paradise Island Hotel
Paradise Island Villas Crete/Anissaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing