We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice basic hotel”
Review of Sibylla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sibylla Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Delphi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Basic, clean hotel in the middle of Delphi. Staff were friendly but rooms were quite small and dark. It is located in the middle of Delphi so it is close to many restaurants and walking distance to the main historical sites.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomad_grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights in May 2013 and found it a nice & cosy hotel within walking distance of Ancient Delphi and its Museum. The rooms are clean with a good little balcony. We had rooms with valley and distant sea view incl the Itea town. Bathroom is also clean although the shower place is a little tight even for Asian standards. There is free wifi but it is a little show. Nevertheless, the price is good and it is very centrally located hence can’t complain. There are many places to eat on the same street where prices are reasonable – check them out before going in.

The owner of Sibylla, Yannis, is a very helpful and nice person. I made bookings online on his website and had fast response from him. Our rented car from Athens had a flat battery on the day we were leaving Delphi for Meteora and Yanni helped us call the car rental company to sort things out and also arranged for help from nearby BP gas station. We came across Theodore (who was the brother of the BP petrol station owner and was on holidays himself from the U.S. visiting his family in Delphi) & he jumped start the car for us & drove us to Itea to get the battery replaced - he didn’t even charge us for his service. Theodore also helped checked our tyres (which were well under the recommended pressure) and also the water coolant (which was also low!). When renting car in Athens from local companies, do check for tyre pressure and coolant level!

Overall, wonderful stay in Sibylla and highly recommended. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms facing the valley. The rooms facing the street can be a little noisy when cars go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Breeze262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Hotel is small with limited rooms. Basic, clean and quit rooms. Location is also good. Hotel is close to bus stop, restaurants, bank etc. I think this hotel does not have valley view rooms. Owner is helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varsha156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place. The two brothers--Yannis & Cristos--who run this hotel are good, kind, warm-hearted people and will make you feel very welcome. I had asked for a quiet single room but got a double room with an amazing view. There's no A/C but the ceiling fan
is more than adequate. There's also no breakfast.

Yannis provided me with directions (by e-mail) on how to get to Delphi since I was coming by bus from Meteora. He looked up timetables, made phone calls, and got me all the info. I needed.

It's just a short walk to the entrance to the Sanctuary of Apollo as well as nearby sites.
The hotel is on the main drag so there are plenty of shops and restaurants around it.

Delphi tends to fall empty after 3:00 PM when the tourist buses from Athens all turn around & leave.
This is the time to linger in the Sanctuary of Apollo because the obnoxious crowds are gone.
The town becomes tranquil and beautiful as the light changes. Do stay in Delphi at least one night
and definitely go for a stroll at dusk. The valley below is quite a sight at that hour. Not to be missed.

The hotel arranged a cab so that I could visit the splendid Byzantine monastery of Ousios Loukas.
If you like art, then you must go there. It takes about 40 min. by car. The drive through
the mountains is lovely.

Stay at Sibylla Hotel and you won't have any regrets!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
6  Thank tunai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Classic hotel room with a balcony and a good reasonable comfort. The bad point is the place to take a shower because it is small and the curtains are plastic. People slightly larger can not do it right without getting any bathroom. The attendants are pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreRAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed in the Sibylla Hotel for only 1 night. I visited Delphi from Athens. Sometimes tourists joined a pre-arranged day trip tour from Athens to Delphi. But the drive from Athens to Delphi took about 3 hours; 6 hours return in total. I figured that it would not give me too much time to see Delphi. I therefore decided to stay one night in Delphi at Sibylla and then get up early the next morning to visit the archaeological site and the museum. That, I believe, would give me sufficient time for the visit. This plan worked out pefectly, especially with the good night rest at the Sibylla Hotel. The hotel was quiet, clean and neat even though it was not very spacious. The owner/manager Yannis decorated every corner/staircase of the hotel in a very decent way. The hotel was only about 150 m from the new bus stop - a very convenient location.

Room Tip: As there are only a few rooms and they are all on the floor above the ground level, there are not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaymondHua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed for two nights. Lovely view from the balcony over the valley. The owner can advise very well on public transport in the area. The room was clean and the hotel very central and not far from the apollo-temple.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerCHZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delphi
0.2 mi away
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#7 of 25 in Delphi
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun View Pension
Sun View Pension
#17 of 25 in Delphi
32 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hani Zemenou
Hani Zemenou
#7 of 11 in Arachova
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
#3 of 25 in Delphi
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#20 of 25 in Delphi
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pitho Rooms
Pitho Rooms
#1 of 25 in Delphi
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibylla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibylla Hotel

Address: 9 Vassileon Pavlou & Friderikis, Delphi 330 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Greece > Phocis Region > Delphi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Delphi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Delphi
Price Range: £24 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sibylla Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sibylla is located in the centre of Delphi and provides renovated rooms with private wc/shower, 24-hour hot water, TV, ceiling fan, hairdryer and balcony with view to the gorge of Delphi for reasonable prices all year round. New service: Free WiFi Internet for hotel's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sibylla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibylla Hotel Delphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing