We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 stars just aren't enough!”
other traveller has booked this property
Villa Emilie in the evening.Magnificent atmosphere
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Emilie in the evening.Magnificent atmosphere
Safe garage and driveway Side view pool and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Villa Emilie in the evening.Magnificent atmosphere
Safe garage and driveway
Side view pool and garden
Side view pool and villa
Out door Sitting Area of the villa
Fully equipped verantas with view
Alfresco Dinning with magnificent view
Garden Pathway
Patio tiling with BBQ and private garden
Living room and fire place with mod cons
Part of Dinning Room and Living Room
Spacious Open Plan Living Areas
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom 1-Romantic bedroom
Bedroom 2 with two single beds
Bedroom 3 -with private roof terrace
Well appointed bathroom
Relaxing view from rooftop
Magnificent view from pool side
Baby cot and High chair
This sandy beach is 3 km away from the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Rachael M
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 stars just aren't enough!”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We're just back from a wonderful, relaxing week in Crete with our 3 pre-teen kids, and the thing that absolutely made the holiday was the blissful Villa Emilie and its very gracious and welcoming hosts, Katy & Vasilis.

The villa is spacious & modern, bright and clean. There was plenty of space for us to be together - and to spend some time apart! The kids LOVED the pool (so beautifully cared for by Vasilis) and there's lots of generous seating areas outside both in the sun and shade.

We BBQ'd twice and ate all our meals outside everyday, spending the evenings on upper terrace to watch the deep, rich sunsets.

As for the practicalities, the villa's just over an hour's drive from Heraklion along the main coastal road (we hired a car from the airport) and about a 10 minute drive into the nearest big town, Rethymno - which also has lots of beaches & restaurants. There's plenty of local grocery stores in the neighboring villages, and also a large Lidl in town. The villa has wifi (essential for our kids!) and all the bedrooms have air con. The kitchen was well equipped and there are 2 bathrooms, as well as a large garage.

The thing that made it though are Katy & Vasilis. Never have we been more warmly welcomed or made to feel so at home. Nothing was too much trouble, and we parted with big hugs. We couldn't recommend Villa Emilie enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bd108800
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best villa ever”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I have stayed at numerous villas over the years, and quite simply this is the best yet. The villa is well maintained and everything works very well. Katy and Vasillas take superb care of you and are 2 genuinely lovely people that couldn't be more accommodating. The local village is great as are all the people we met. I simply cannot recommend this villa highly enough. The weather was superb, the pool a decent temperature with a nice gentle breeze on the really hot days. Good air-con and wifi. We stayed for 2 weeks and barely left the place, my only suggestion would be some extra cooking utensils in the kitchen as I quite like to cook and had to make do but it really wasn't a big deal certainly plenty to work with. If you are considering booking this villa, just do it you will not regret it.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kateskiin...
Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect to relax with family.”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a wonderful surprise as we arrived late in the evening, to be greeted by the hosts with the keys. They gave us a brief but thorough tour and showed us our awaiting dinner in the warm oven, home made Pastitsio! A perfect welcome for tired, hungry kids and parents. The hosts left us with a bottle of their own olive oil, a bottle of raki and wine as well as a stocked fridge for the am. Couldn't have been better.
Every other day the owner comes to maintenance the pool. The property is sparkling clean and well maintained. They are quick to respond to any question or concern. We asked if they had a blender to make Gazpacho and we had one within the hour.
The location is perfect for all day lounging by or in the pool or going to the beach which is 7 minutes away by car. The beaches are all different depending on your tastes. Our favorite was Geropotamos Beach which is right off the main highway headed east, down a dirt hill. It is serviced where they have umbrellas and sunchairs and a great restaurant that serves fresh local grilled fish and a great "Geropotamos Salad". Wonderful.
You will be 10-15 minutes from the main city of Rethimno which is full of fun things to explore like the Pirate sailing trip or a great burger place "Mojo Burgers" to touristy trinket stuff.
You will be an hour from the amazing Knossos. Visit the Minoan palace in the am and then hit the Heraklion Archaeological Museum in the afternoon. Great day out.
It was a perfect stay with great accommodation and lovely people. Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the nicest villa in rethymnon”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

villa emilie was amazing in every way, the views were fantastic and the pool and garden and surrounding areas were beautiful.

the owners made us very welcome from start to finish and kept the villa and pool in tip top condition for the entire stay.

vasillas and katy are the greatest hosts and having stayed in a few villas in this same area over the years this was by far the best place and the best owners.

will be returning again one day for sure all the best and thank you from the sharp family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: there are too many great things to mention. the pool, the views, the balconys.
Liked least: having to leave and not booked for longer.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelefish...
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Relaxing”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at Villa Emilie for 1 week at the end of November and had the most wonderful time in this spacious and comfortable house! There was more than enough room for the two of us, with separate rooms and bathrooms to give us extra personal spave. The villa is set in a quiet hamlet with lovely views over olive groves to the sea. It is very quiet and within walking distance to a village with butchers and a small shop. Being only 5km from Rethymnon meant that wr could access the city easily, with the bigger ammenities such as supermarkets and a wide selection of tavernas, easily and quickly.
The house was equipped with everything we could possibly need , and we were wo derfully durprised to arrive to a fridge full of food and drink provided by Katy and Vassilis! The homemade mousaka and apple pie were highlights of our trip and greatly appreciated after a long day of travelling! Thrre is a beautiful pool, but sadly it was a little too cold to use during our trip. Wifi was speedy and easy to access and the tv has a dvd player with usb port, so bring movies if your greek isn't good enough to watch the local television channels! There were also tons of boardgames if you're travelling with children.
Katy and Vassilis are the most wonderful hosts, willing to help with anything and welcoming o into their house with grace and warmth! They were waiting for us at the house, to give us an introduction and instruction to local amenities. The house was spotless and Katy came to clean halfway through our stay - bringing with her the apple pie and their hlmemade wine! I would definitely reccommend this apartment for anyone looking for space, comfort, and a glimpse into daily Cretan life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from the two balconies
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
93gigi003
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Great place to live and to feel like at home”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in this wonderful place almost 10 days with our two children. We had a great time spending a lot of hours in the swimming pool, regularly cleant up by the owner. Everything is conform like in the ad and all the surroundings and commodities of the house are even better than on the pictures. Katy and Vassilis offered us a nice starter pack on the arrival day which allows us to have a great breakfast the next morning, and some specialities all along the stay (moussaka, pasticio, local pastries). They gave us some pieces of advice to visit typical places around the villa and to eat in local restaurants. So in one word: great holiday in family mixed up with rest in the villa and discovering the area. Hope to see you again in the next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The swimming pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Villa Emilie should be listed under the title “Deluxe Cretan Villa”.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Emilie should be listed under the title “Deluxe Cretan Villa” as it feels more like a Boutique Hotel.
I stayed at Villa Emilie in Summer 2013 with my wife and two Children and we loved the place, I would recommend you go. Due to Flight delays we arrived in Crete slightly late, picked up a hire car (Holiday Autos, Very Good) and travelled to Villa Emilie. The Sun was just setting as we drove though Olive Groves that surround Villa Emilie and we were all feeling very tired from our Journey. As we pulled up outside Villa Emilie the Owner and his Wife were waiting to greet us.. The Electric Garage Doors of the secure indoor parking swung open and we drove in. The Owner helped us with our bags while his wife turned on the Satellite TV and began to show us around. The property is very well furnished and has a “Homely Feel” un like a normal rental property. The lounge area is really spacious and Air Conditioned with two seating areas and a dinning table. There is a Shower and toilet off the lounge. The Lounge is the best place to get the WIFI (which is Fast). The well-appointed kitchen adjoins the lounge and has another table in it. There are plenty of plates, pan, cups, glasses, corkscrew, everything you need to self cater. There is a Dishwasher too. Just outside the Kitchen onto the balcony is a further Dinning area with views over the Pool and the surrounding Olive Groves. Moving along into the “Bar-B-Q Area” which is shaded by a pagoda is a very comfortable seating area with a Sofa, two Arm Chairs and a Lounger, which encircle a coffee table. We spent many a night sitting here talking and watching movies under the stars. There are lanterns and candles to enhance the experience. You can also get the WIFI here so my teenagers could check their Facebook. The actual Bar-B-Q in a proper brick built one with all the cooking tools you will need. Local Cats will wander through to say hello. There are a few (2 or 3) gentle steps down from the Bar-B-Q area into the Grassed Gardens and Pool area. At the top of those few steps is a ‘Child Gate” to protect very young children. The Pool is large and there are Sun Loungers and Umbrella’s at either end. There is an Outdoor shower by the pool with Hot and Cold water. The Gardens, Bar-B-Q area, Terraces, and Balconies are all lit with feature lighting and look amazing at night. The grass is cut short and is kept in perfect condition by the owner. Due to it’s slightly elevated position you have fantastic views over Olive Groves and surrounding area right down to the Sea and benefit from a gentle breeze to help keep you cool during the day.
Upstairs are 3 Double bedrooms which all access Balconies. Each of the Bedrooms has Air Conditioning, which works really well, but I preferred to leave the French windows open and enjoy the cool breeze. We stayed 7 nights and were given new bedding mid week. All the windows have mosquito nets but we did not see any mosquitos. In the Master Bedroom is a SAFE where you can keep you valuables but I must add Villa Emilie feels very safe, the owner was born in this area and knows everyone. Off the Master Bedroom is a Very large Balcony with…Yes, another table, chairs and umbrella. We were lucky when we were there as a meteor shower passed the Earth so we sat up here and watched the “Shooting Stars”, we counted 16 one night! Also on the first floor is a Bathroom/Shower Room and Toilet with a Washing Machine. If I went again I would take far less clothes as you can wash them as you go and this would save you money on Easy Jet and Ryan air who charge per bag!
We were tired after our Journey so I asked where the nearest restaurant was and there are a few nearby but we had no need to go as the owners Wife had cooked us Two Moussaka's (One Meat, One Veggie) which were in the oven waiting and they had stocked our fridge and cupboards too with Wine, Beer, Cheese, Butter, Milk, Water, Juice, Bread, Tea, Coffee everything we needed for our first night so we just showered and eat Moussaka and Salad under the stars…. Prefect!
The Owner and his Wife are lovely, lovely people. Villa Emilie is a little more expensive than some others but you get SO MUCH MORE so I feel it was cheaper in the long run. Villa Emilie represents excellent Value for Money. If you stay at Villa Emilie you will need a Car. There are Supermarkets nearby and the beach a 5 minute drive away. What more can I say…I would go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Villa and Location
Liked least: I had to go home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing