We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Mountains (Lefka Ori)

White Mountains (Lefka Ori)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.14*
and up
Crete Coastline Sightseeing Cruise Including Marathi Beach
Ranked #190 of 561 things to do in Crete
Attraction details
Agios Nikolaos, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Beautiful mountains, places for walking and hiking and a really nice shelter (Kallergi) with marvellous view.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely roads and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

It's the quartz in the rock that makes these mountains white. Our first view was on the way to Chania, but we drove through them on the way to the Impros Gorge (quieter and shorter than Samara, but just as spectacular!)

Drivers beware ... the condition of some of the very minor roads isn't too brilliant. Expect surface degredation and some landslips. But a 4 x 4 will sort the problem.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AOC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthYorkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Worth making the effort to venture away from the coast and up into the mountains - fabulous views and a step back in time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The backbone of Crete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

The mountains in Crete are the first thing you see when you land, they are so majestic and awe inspiring. Wherever you go they are in sight and hold so much magic and mystery. They were also played a major part in the Crete resistance movement so have a lot of emotion tied up in them. I will always hold them dear to my heart as the background to my days in Crete.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anissarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We made a trip Omalos plateau - very nice nature. We met very little people, there is a chance to get some food at the mountain hut.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Mountains (Lefka Ori) also viewed

Sfakia, Chania Prefecture
 
Aradena, Chania Prefecture
Loutro, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to White Mountains (Lefka Ori)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing