We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”
Review of Creta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Creta Hotel
Ranked #22 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, great service”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Lovely hotel in a great location. Bernadette who runs the hotel could not do enough for you even lending us a laptop to keep in touch with family after a chance conversation. She is also multi-lingual. (English/Greek/French/German at least).
The hotel sits on a small promentary between the harbour and the best beach in town. This means 30-40 steps or a steep hill but well worth the effort. Not the easiest place to find due to the street layout. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Very simply decorated with no "glitz" or pretentious theme. Rooms above second floor have the better views which are spectacular.
Very central location gives easy access to all that the resort has to offer. Trip to Spinalonga is very interesting and good fun. Take plenty water.
Overall, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms above second floor have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    56
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a friend in 2009, loved the city, the place and the people and had to go back in 2010 and stay at the same hotel again on my own, both times for just over a week. It is right in the centre and 2 mins walk from the city beach. They have lovely studio apartments with kitchenette and balcony, all with a sea view. It's great value for money for a medium to long stay given the facilities. The owners are lovely and helpful with everything, they alway gave me a lift to the bus station at the end of my stay - I almost consider them friends. I hope to be able to go back and visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are larger and facing the sea, best view and brighter, but tend to get hotter in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LulaGeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel has a superb view from its top floor rooms. The sea was a translucent turquoise; the great mountains of Crete rose up out of the water, circling the bay. The balcony was huge. This in itself would get my top vote, but the room was also very comfortable and attractive - a studio really with a large well-equipped kitchen and a good bathroom including a bath as well as a powerful shower - baths relatively unusual in Crete. There was an iron, an ironing board that folded away into the wardrobe drawer in a really neat way (not something I'd normally get excited about but it was quite novel) and comfortable beds -the Crete mattresses tend to be very firm, which I like + plenty of extra pillows and blankets and a TV that worked well.

Very friendly, very central and excellent value.

PS: Don't be put off going to this pretty and charming town by very old and dated reports about lager louts or package tourism - that is 10 to 15 years out of date. Books and guides still referring to Ag Nik and lager louts should be ashamed for not researching the 'here and now'.
Early in the season this is a quiet town geared to its local population rather than tourists; even in season it has moved away from package tourism. There are a few ex pats and English bars -and lots of Rooms- but all low key. There are lots of good restaurants, bars and shops - slightly pricier than inland or up in the mountains but Agios Nikolaos makes a good base for travelling round the eastern part of the island and seeing the really remote places.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Good value, nice and serviceminded owners, spacious and clean apartment. The view was fantastic and we will reccomend this hotel . If you have problems walking it might not suit you because it's situated on top of a hill.

Ole Petter Martinsen, Norway

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opmaFredrikstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed in the Creta Hotel for 5 nights and found the owners very friendly and helpful.
the hotel was very clean and comfortable. The view from our bedroom was spectacular.
Bernadette and Michalis gave us good ideas on where to travel in our car, so we saw all the interesting towns and villages in that area.
One evening there was a lovely musical event in the town Hall. It was a visiting choral Group and orchestra from Heraklion.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Surrey , UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Just stayed their, family of four and took two adjoining apartments. Very helpful and friendly . Rooms cleaned multiple times during our stay of 8 days. Accommodation is basic but adequate. Well situated for the town and beach. Good value.

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Accomodation is basic
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayard1music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lørenskog
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We are a company of 4 girls and have been to this friendly and nice hotel for the last 5-6 years. It's always a pleasure to come back. Bernadette and Michalis are wonderful people and they do everything to make your holiday perfect. Our last stay was in May and we are really looking forward to go back in September.
Bibbi with friends from Norway

  • Liked — The owners, staff and the central position
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
1.7 mi away
Paradise Primavera Apartments
Paradise Primavera Apartments
#26 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartments
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartmen...
#17 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alantha Apartments Hotel
Alantha Apartments Hotel
#21 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Du Lac hotel
Du Lac hotel
#25 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eliza Hotel
Eliza Hotel
#24 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#34 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Hotel

Property: Creta Hotel
Address: 22 Sarolidi street, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 591 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Creta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Creta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Creta Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing