We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly hotel”
Review of Creta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Creta Hotel
Ranked #22 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small and friendly hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Creta is run by a charming and welcoming couple. We paid a little extra for a room with balcony and sea view, which was well work it. The hotel is ideally located on a quiet street close to the town centre, and the rooms are well kept, clean and comfortable

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. I think all have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    56
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The location of the hotel is really good We were given a room towards the back of the hotel on the second floor so the view wasn't brilliant, but we could see the sea and it was perfectly adequate for the 2 nights we were staying. The room was very comfortable and it was fantastic to have a full kitchen in a completely separate room. The welcome and information from the front desk was marvellous, Bernadette? giving helpful hints about the best time and day to visit Spinalonga amongst many other things. She even offered a plug in mosquito repeller, having noticed how I'd reacted to a couple of bites, and thought we might like big mugs for our tea! Little things that make a big difference.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayWZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

First off, Agios Nikolaos doesn’t have even half the charm of other towns we had already visited in Crete such as Chania or Rethhymo, so we were biased from the get-go. Give it a miss unless there is something really drawing you there. We went thinking sites like Toplou and Zakros were worth the trip (although the drive there is quite stunning). They are not. So while the location of the hotel is very good, in my opinion there is very little reason to visit Agios Nikolaos, or anything west of it.

Things started off well at the hotel with our host, Bernadette having blocked off a parking spot for us. She later recommended a good place to pick up pastries for breakfast, which saved us from getting ripped off at one of the restaurants next to the lake.

The fact our room was furnished with dated furniture was not the issue. The large counter in the bathroom and excellent water pressure would have made up for that. The problem was that compared to all other hotels in a similar price range in Greece that we had experienced to date, it felt and looked dirty: a cupcake wrapper on the kitchen floor, a piece of dental floss on the bedroom floor, dirt in the corners of the bathroom floor, etc. In addition, the air conditioning unit likely hadn't been cleaned in a very long time. How else to explain the sore throat my husband experienced only one hour after turning it on? (It went away after he turned it off.) Fortunately the nights are cool; the problem is that leaving the balcony door open allows mosquitoes and larger bugs to come in.

In short, we did not feel comfortable there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingersMom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

You can't beat the location of this place and it's proximity to the town centre and some beaches, but for us as we walked in we were greeted by Bernadette who remarked instantly "I love your flag". We learned that she is a transplanted Canadian from the Magedelena islands.
Our room ( 403) was excellent, top floor sea view, prices right on, and we were provided with bottled water and orange juice as soon as we arrived. Also received an excellent taverna recommendation.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Top floor sea views have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Had a room on the third floor facing the bay..breathtaking view and a very accommodating balcony to enjoy it all from.
The room,simple but clean and Bernadette,our host was wonderful.Our only negative comment to all this are the beds.They need to be upgraded.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bare-with-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We have just come back from 6 nights at the Creta hotel and can thoroughly recommend it to anyone. The location is fantastic literally minutes walk to the harbour on one side and the beach on the other. Rooms are clean and we had an incredible sea view. However it is the friendliness of the staff (Bernadette and Michael) who run Hotel Creta that will stay with us. From the moment we booked until the time we left there was nothing that was too much trouble. They arranged our taxi from/to the airport and gave all sorts of advice regarding our stay.

Although the resort is a small harbour town…it is big enough to never need to eat twice in the same place and there is plenty to do. We met a number of people who were staying in the bigger hotels outside the town (needed a 9 euro taxi each way) or who stayed in all inclusive deals along the coast and we are convinced that we got the better deal.

If anyone is considering coming to this area you could not do better that this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULKILLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

A fab little apartment in a great location in the town. The family who run this hotel, made us feel very welcome, helping us to plan our stay and also to plan our onward travel. The Greek yogurt and honey is very moorish too!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrG1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
1.7 mi away
Paradise Primavera Apartments
Paradise Primavera Apartments
#25 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Du Lac hotel
Du Lac hotel
#26 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartments
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartmen...
#17 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alantha Apartments Hotel
Alantha Apartments Hotel
#21 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#34 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Naiades Almiros River Hotel
Naiades Almiros River Hotel
#15 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Hotel

Property: Creta Hotel
Address: 22 Sarolidi street, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 591 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Creta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Creta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Creta Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing