We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have just returned from a week's stay at the Blue Marine and spa hotel on the Greek island of Crete. Although we arrived in the early hours of the morning, around 4am we were welcomed with a glass of orange juice and in our room we had water, sandwiches and fruit in the fridge.
Our first impression of our room was of luxury and space. We went to bed and imagine our joy when we opened our curtains to a breath taking view of the sea.
This was our first exdperience of an All Inclusive holiday and every diet seemed to have been catered for. The food was freshly prepared and free drinks available until 11pm as well as ice cream in various flavours! We had no problems with wifi and when we did have a problem with the card reader in our room it was repaired within an hour of being reported. The sun beds around the pool,despite notices to not reserve them, were and so we had to go down onto the beach. We had to pay 5 euros for a sunbed and umbrella but we didn't feel this was unreasonable as we were ensured of a place on the beach all day!
We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view when we booked and were not disappointed. All rooms had a large balcony to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherineejohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    442
    150
    57
    35
See reviews for
482
650
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

generally the hotel was fine, staff are very nice but deffenetly not a 5 star standart - you need to pay for the safe in the room, no mini bar, same food everyday in the dinning room.
the wifi didn't work, we told the recepcianist that did nothing, we tried the internet room and payed 1 euro for 15 min. for internet that didn't work...
if you want to take a towl to the pool you need to pay 10 euro deposite per towl, and when we wanted to chabge towls they told us that we can't and to leave it to dry in the balcony. on the second day the hotel was all booked so from 8AM there was no chairs or room left in the pool.
the biggest problam was the shower - the water didn't go down the drain and came up from the other end and flooded the whole room. again we complained and no one did anything.
i really don't think that we will go back there.

Room Tip: most of the rooms steank from cigarets - ask in advance for non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neta_sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Myself and Partner stayed here from the 8th May for 2 weeks, our transfers took around 1 1/2 hours but we were one of the lucky ones as after speaking to others it had taking 3 to 4 hours after dropping everyone off (might be better to call the hotel and arrange taxi seperate)
We checked in quickly and went to our room, it had a view of rocks and was loads of mosquitoes in the (we didnt updrage so knew we wouldnt have a sea view) but this room was dark as never had any sunlight at all. We went back to reception and they said they were fully booked and to go back tomorrow to see if there were any room free, we went back the next day and was giving another room on the 4th floor - still not much of a view but we had sun light.
Rooms,hotel and pool area was kept extremely clean.
Food was ok NOT great but ok - there wasn't much fruit morning afternoon or lunch, house wine wasn't nice so we stuck to soft drinks in the restaurant.
All inclusive stopped at 11pm which for a 5 star i think is pretty poor - always there were 15 cocktails on the menu and you were only aloud 4 that were included in the All Inclusive - drinks were served in glasses.
There wasnt much of a beach, i dont think you could really call it a beach but the pool area was nice so we stayed around there.
There wasnt much else near the hotel - you could take a taxi into town which was 9euro each way which took 7 minutes to get to - lovely places to eat and drink and the people there were lovely.
Animation team were great tried to get you involved with things everyday - they should have changed things on a day to day basis as you know what you are getting every day.
Bar on the 4th bar was good - had lovely views and George the bar man made you feel very welcome (get him on your side) he knew what we were going to have before we even told him.
Olive tree restaurant was ok but we wasnt bothered we could only visit once as it took half hour for the guy to take our drinks order and they took our mains to other tabel before realising they had made a mistake...
We meet some great peope which made our holiday!
All in all you get what you pay for - great for a cheap week get away

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeahSEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We had mountain view rooms and this was fine for the price we paid, we knew we could upgrade but didn't see the point as we like to be out and about not in our room!

The food is good in the dining room, there is a variety and it changed throughout the week. Snacks provided at the pool bar were a bit limited, just cheese and ham sandwiches with some salad bits, cake and biscuits-the same each day. We only had it when we went out for the day and came back a bit late to catch lunch!

The meal you can have in the a la carte restaurant was lovely and the views out on the balcony as you are eating were fantastic (you can have one meal there per stay).

The rooms are a little basic for a 4/5 star hotel, but comfortable and very clean. The rooms are really spacious too.

The animation team work really really hard, but despite this the entertainment isn't fantastic. But hotel entertainment is never really our thing anyway so perhaps we're not the best people to judge! The kids at the hotel seemed to quite enjoy some of it.

Generally this is a great hotel to stay in, we would recommend it, for a cheap break.

Room Tip: If you don't stay in your room much and want a cheap break, don't be put off by the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misspi_ii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

great hotel very clean large rooms large balcony sea views amazing beds made every day towels changed and or folded entertainment every night -not always brilliant but they try very hard-food very good lots to choose from-taxis expensive to airport-hotel away from town but we had a quad bike and went everywhere-what can i say but its a great place and lovely alex who works on the entertainment bar is a star working with a broken wrist while we were there.

Room Tip: sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrieb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Transfer Time by coach for us was near to 3 hours but this is not the hotels fault, If you can afford a taxi this would be about one hour or a little more.
As for the hotel & all it has to offer my friend Chris & I had the most wonderful time we relaxed, we ate & slept well, & laughed so much.
The hotel is clean all over every day. Every& every member of staff we spoke to were helpful. The food and choice at every meal time was wonderful. Entertainment to suit all tastes be it darts too zumba, A large time table is situated by the main restaurant so you can decide what you want to do.
The hotel beach is not the best but appox 15 mins walk to a lovely beach called Amoudara.
To reach Agios Nikolaos is appox an hours walk. By bus is less then 2 euro's or do as we did & share a taxi for 9 euro's.
If you have a late transfers, on your arrival date you will find water, fruit & sandwich's in your fridge. Or on your day home if you don't want to pay extra to keep your room. Then you can leave your luggage in the dedicated luggage room & request the use of a shower room so you are able to freshen up for your trip home.

We would most definitely recommend this amazing hotel, & all it offers/

Room Tip: With out a doubt have a sea view what a way to start the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spazzieshazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Food was OK but only 1 main restaurant, and food ran out approx 1hr before the end of the meal time. All inclusive ends at 11pm - dead on - Older barman in main bar very strict and quite agressive, complaint made to Manager, who listened, and sent us a bottle of wine and bowl of fruit with an apology.
Disco started at 11.30pm and on the week we were there, the hotel was fully booked and approx 4 people went each night. Should start the disco earlier, more people would go.
Very lively and energetic entertainment = 4 entertainers.

Room Tip: You need a sea view, be careful not to be at the back of the hotel, because you will be facing a bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
1.6 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
24.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
23.0 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#5 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
62.9 mi away
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marine Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marine Resort & Spa

Property: Blue Marine Resort & Spa
Address: Ammoudara , Vathi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Aquis)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#16 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Marine Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Marine Resort & Spa is located 6km from Aghios Nikolaos in the prefecture of Lassithi nearby the blue clear waters of Ammoudara beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Marine Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marine Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Blue Marine Resort And Spa
Blue Marine Resort & Spa Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing