We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed, but not sure we'd go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our first experience of a holiday in Greece and our first all inclusive holiday. We had a few hours in Chania last year when we were on a Med Cruise and gave us the desire to holiday in Crete.
The Blue Marine is isolated and is about 3 or 4 miles from Agios Nikolaos. Although we do like to walk on holiday this is not a road to walk. There are pavements only in parts of the walk and from what I've seen of drivers in Crete I would not want to be walking on the road.You can get the bus right outside the hotel and it is euros 1.60 to Agios Nikolaos. A taxi is euros 9.00. From Agios Nikolaos you can get a bus to Elounda for about euros 1.60. The island of Spinalonga is just off Elounda and you can get the boat trip for euros 10.00. You need to pay another Euros 2.00 on the island to get access. the boat trip allows you an hour on the island. This is well worth the visit.
The all inclusive drinks system worked well for us. Drinks were available in the deal all day from 10.00 in the morning till 11.00 at night and it included the range of spirits including usual brands such as Beefeater Gin. After 11 pm drinks were still available but were charged. All meals were buffet style with large choice. Breakfast was from 0700 till 10.00. The pool bar started serving burgers from 1100 and lunch was from 1230 till 1430. The pool bar served sandwiches and snacks and ice cream from 1600 and dinner was from 1900 till 2130. Saw some people who would take advantage of all the options. Our big disappointment of the buffets was the temperature of the food. Even food straight from the kitchen was not piping hot.
They have two a la carte restaurants and you can eat in each of them free once during your week . They try to sell their bottles of wine here but you can have the house wine free. Be aware that there are more outside than inside tables in these restaurants. The first night we were given an outside table and as it was early May it was really cold and eventually we got a move inside after a table there had been vacated, but it took a lot of insistence to achieve that. The next time we visited we were offered an outside table although there were vacant tables inside but because they were set up for 4 would not give us one. we said that we would not sit outside as it was a similar cool evening as we had experienced before, and we said that we would come back in 30 minutes.When we went back we were given one of the inside tables that we were refused earlier. On the positive side the food in the a la carte restaurants was really good, and no problem with temperature ( as long as you were inside)
Our room was very large with a double bed and two single beds, and a nice bathroom. There was a fridge in the room and the hotel gave you two bottles of water every day. Daily maid service and no complaints about cleanliness throughout the hotel.
I should mention although it's nothing to do with the hotel, that the journey from the airport to the hotel took about one and a quarter hours, but with all the different pick ups on the way back it took two and three quarter hours.
Finally, with the hotel being so isolated it is ideal only if you are looking for a quiet week at the pool or beach.
Would we go back to Crete ? Not sure that we would.
Would we go all inclusive again ? Not sure that we would. We missed going out to try different restaurants in the evening.
Would we go back to the Blue Marine ? Not sure that we would.

Room Tip: Not many rooms that don't have a sea view,so you would be unlucky not to get one.. best to reque...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ledgie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
There are newer reviews for Blue Marine Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went to this hotel the first week in May. Lovely hotel , we had a very large room with a fantastic view really nice , lovely to sit out and have your coffee in the morning or wine in the evening. The food was great, Greek food and salads etc we both put on weight. Staff were so nice , special mention for Sophia , Maria and George the barman ,they couldn't have been nicer. Hotel is extremely clean , pool was very well kept. Great for a pool based holiday when you want a good rest. Quiet at the time we went, may get crowded at peak periods but we couldn't fault the hotel. It is a long drive from the airport and you are out of the town but for a relaxed holiday it was really good. We went to the weekly market , it really was local clothes and food , not much for the holiday maker but there was one lady selling Tee shirts , buy them from her as the shops are a bit pricey!

Room Tip: Sea view is a must, we were right at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

good food. good service. clean rooms. nice pool. amazing private beach with free beds. awesome entertainment. very very good! the spa was also good. only slight downer was the fact that i ate way too much!!

Room Tip: get a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Blue Marine Hotel.With its location about six kilometres from Agios Nikolas I would recommend hiring a car at the airport. There were many dissatisfied customers who had long transfers by coach. Unfortunately we were allocated a mountain view room, but this is not the case as it faced a rock wall and was very dark and dingy. We tried to change to a sea view room without success.The staff were most unhelpful. The food was generally good although repititive,and the meals in the a la carte restaurants were enjoyable. The hotel was very clean. All of the sun beds by the pools were reserved well before breakfast, and then many left empty most of the morning. Not an ideal state of affairs. This is not a five star hotel, but more three to four stars, depending on what room you had. If you get a sea view room you are fortunate, but do not go if you are allocated a mountain view room.

Room Tip: You must have a sea view room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boykeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff very helpful - our bus didn't arrive until early hours but staff still had a drink and rolls waiting for us. Exceptionally clean everywhere.Variety and quantity of food amazing (no way could anyone be hungry!) . A very good holiday - would definately go again

Room Tip: Bar is on 3rd floor so could be a bit noisy!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very clean hotel, staff all very helpful and friendly, fantastic views, food good for AI though may get a bit repetitive, our holiday included a meal in each of the additional restaurants which was waiter service and made a good change. You do buy your own wine in these restaurants about 15euro's but they where nice wines , which also made a change from AI wine!. I thought drinks where fine, and coffee was good. Traveled with friends and restaurant always found a table of 8 for us.
Animation team good fun and young, they work very hard and try hard to cater for everyone, they need more money for evening entertainment,.
We hired a vehicle so had the opp unity to explore around the island a little.
Great holiday for price!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perisianknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

i stayed here last year for a week and thought is was excellent ..so 8 of us traveled from ireland this year because it was so good and it was better ... the food is fantastic .. spirits at the pool now is great.. the staff are exceptionally helpful ... and the standard of cleanliness is as before very high.. we all had a great time and we hope to return again next year and get a room withe a hot tub.. i really love this place its so relaxing and good fun .. look forward to getting back next year ...

Room Tip: get a room with a view ...get a hot tub..
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
1.6 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#11 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
938 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
21.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
3.5 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#6 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
1,717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marine Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marine Resort & Spa

Address: Ammoudara , Vathi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Aquis)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#16 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: £90 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Marine Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Marine Resort & Spa is located 6km from Aghios Nikolaos in the prefecture of Lassithi nearby the blue clear waters of Ammoudara beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Marine Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marine Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Blue Marine Resort And Spa
Blue Marine Resort & Spa Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing