We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our ten days at Daios Coves was exactly what we wanted- peaceful, relaxing and luxurious- a perfect escape from the stresses of everyday life and we arrived home feeling completely refreshed. I definitely recommend a room with a private pool- the sun stays out until around 9pm, relaxing in the evening with a cold drink watching the sunset, absolute bliss!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank emelyebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    403
    141
    38
    7
See reviews for
497
928
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Without whittering on about every detail I would say that I agree with almost every other review regarding the 'not quite 5*', too many young children there, the Taverna being overpriced for average food, sunbeds being hard to get hold of after 9.30am, Pangea - bitter/sweet - yes, there was a lot of choice and occasionally they excelled themselves but sometimes a bit bland and not a lot of veggies on offer, aswell as stunning architectural style and great views from our villa on 6th St, one of the best terraces and views we've ever had.
I find it a hard place to rate fairly - not as 5* as resorts we've stayed in in Dubai or the Maldives but much better 4* than many other hotels we've tried.
The staff were all very friendly and on the surface helpful but when we contacted reception about air-con not working they didn't respond, neither was our request for an iron and extra hangers dealt with until we asked twice.
One more thing - we booked through Sovereign on a 'promo' that gave us a few minor perks one of which was one complimentary breakfast in bed but when we enquired we were asked for 15 euros 'tray service'! To be fair our rep said she would sort it but we declined partly on principal and partly because the room service breakfast was very limited if you don't eat eggs.
We took one trip out to Spinalonga with lunch in Elounda which we really enjoyed.
I would say that for Greece, this is a 'very good' hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better cove views and our room, 609, had no immediate next door neighbours like so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunsetginandtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel has the potential to be one of those excellent hotels that deserve their 5 star rating, but sadly, it just fails to make the grade due to some lack of attention to detail.

Though we arrived in the early hours, the booking in procedure was quick and efficient. We had a standard room which was roomy and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable and the view when we woke in the morning was fabulous. Getting around the hotel could be an issue for the less mobile as the accommodation is all on a steep hillside with many steps to negotiate. The funicular railway was out of use on the first two days, so we walked down and used the very efficient golf buggy service to get back up. Why couldn't a note regarding the failure of the funicular be placed at the stations. It would have saved a long frustrating wait on the first morning.

The architecture of the hotel is stunning and deserves all the compliments it gets. The location is also remarkable, but it should be pointed out that it is a remote location and requires transport to get anywhere.

We were on half board, so used the Pangea restaurant for breakfast which was plentiful and varied. Service was excellent, (thank you Maria & Sofia), and though it didn't bother us, I can understand some of the other reviewers who commented on the cats & kids!

The pool was acceptable and the pool service was good. Care needed to be taken when entering the pool at the far end as this was by walking down a slope and some steps. The beach area was good but why the are villa guests treated to their own roped off area even though there was no shortage of loungers? A sense of being treated as second class guests, so suffice to say, we didn't visit the beach again during our stay.

Drinks service in the Crystal Box was efficient, though the outside area can sometimes be a little breezy.

Dinner service in Pangea was always good, but sadly this was not always reflected in the food. There was always a good selection, but sometimes the meat was overcooked for my palate and there was a distinct lack of sauces or gravy which often left the meal tasting a little dry.
Pangea restaurant advertises a dress code, which during our stay was not enforced at all. Why bother?

We ventured to eat in the Taverna restaurant one evening. My advice would be not to waste your money. The service was poor compared to Pangea and the quality of the food left much to be desired. Although we had pre-booked at Reception, the staff at Taverna appeared to have no record of the booking and their comments such as ' Are you sure you booked' made us feel uncomfortable.

Room service varied from excellent to poor. We often had to ask for toiletries to be replenished and for sachets of coffee to be replaced, though, to be fair, this was quickly completed but shouldn't have been necessary. Though the rooms were kept spotlessly clean, the make up service could be at any time of day and being disturbed late in the evening for the turn down service was annoying. Our main complaint in this area concerns the habit of staff to ring the bell and then directly enter the room without waiting. Potentially embarrassing and often requiring some quick 'dress adjustment' or a dash to the door to stop the person entering.

Though there was some limited entertainment provided, it was, in our opinion, of low quality and did not reflect the 5 star grading of the hotel.

With one or two very minor exceptions, staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant and tried hard to please.

Despite our comments, we did enjoy our stay.These comments are meant to be constructive rather than critical and this hotel has a lot to recommend it. If you are looking for a peaceful relaxing holiday, then Daios Cove would suit admirably. A bit better quality of entertainment and a little more staff training and this hotel would completely justify its rating

Room Tip: Ask for low room numbers for easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freddiewilliams37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from 10 nights. Overall this was a lovely hotel; the bedroom and the main areas (pool, reception and beach) are all excellent. The problem is the evening and dining experience. There is NO entertainment even in the form of a piano bar, singer, or background music (something other than what you would hear in a lift). Dinner is a big disappointment; firstly the smart-casual dress code is not enforced at all. All the ladies make an effort but the men seem to think coming to dinner in a vest top, shorts and flip flops is acceptable. We were a little aghast to find this was the case despite a visible reminder of the dress code being displayed outside the entrance to the Pangea restaurant, and little to no effort from the hotel staff to enforce the code. Why bother having one at all? There is no adult only section of the dining room - this would be greatly advised as there are too many babies and pre-schoolers running around inside the restaurant and outside on the lawns with inept parents following them around imploringly. At times this resembled an A La Carte Mac Donalds experience. This is such a shame as the hotel during the day is lovely with excellent attention to details, with excellent staff performance. The food is delightful, however if you can get to it before tripping over small children. The evening from dinner onwards is a complete let down and is most certainly not what you would expect from a 5* hotel/ This need addressing to bring it up to par with the rest of this hotel's performance. Dinner at a 5* hotel should have times set for parents with small children and babies to attend, so adults can finally eat in peace. There were still children in the Crystal Box bar very late at night. I hope the hotel takes this up as the hotel is beautiful. The cove is stunning, and the hotel amenities are exemplary.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on first street, otherwise you are in for a long walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daios_Cove, General Manager at Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
July, 2014
Dear Guest Millie W,
I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback, which helps us to improve our services. The entire team will be encouraged and awarded by your positive remarks concerning their professionalism and I personally thank you for that.
We proudly offer entertainment / children services for ages from 4 months to 17 years old in three different clubs (crèche, mini club & teenagers club), allowing us to allowing us to compose different areas for different ages.
At the same time our main restaurant offers children’s dinner daily from 18.00-19.00, where professional attendants from the external company which we have subcontracted, Worldwide Kids Company, supervise them. This service is offered in order to ensure that children eat in different time intervals an hour before the main restaurant opens its door for adults. We do allocate families in the second veranda of the restaurant in order to offer to adults a more tranquil environment & ambience.
During your stay our resort organized 12 entertainment activities varying from musical nights, cooking lessons, dancing classes, language tutoring, special culinary and music events in our Greek restaurant and, tennis courses. All of the above activities took place in different outlets with live entertainment lasting from 20.00 to midnight and the bar closing at 01.00.
Our mission is to create a euphoric feeling to all guests with a continued commitment to service excellence and a unique experience.
Warmest Regards,

Panos Almyrantis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The holiday didn't start too well as the airport transfer company could not find out booking. Eventually we left the airport and then went on a 3 hour sick-making journey stopping at 8 other hotels before finally reaching ours at 1am. On check in the reservation was in a different name with a different date of birth - the hotel reception were great and booked us in all the same.
The view from the room was stunning and the room itself very comfortable. However the people I the next room smoked on their balcony so we had to have or bedroom closed when they were outside - not nice at all. The meals were excellent in the Pangea restaurant - again there was a lot of smoking if you sat outside and also cats around the table - we didn't like that at all. We had meals in the other restaurants - a Greek night in the Taverna which was great fun with Greek dancing and music and a Lobster night in the Oasis. Although we had booked with reception, neither restaurant had our bookings which was rather embarrassing. Not cheap in either restaurant but good food. The beach bar was good and efficient with people coming round taking your orders. I had a lovely couple of sessions at the Spa - thoroughly recommend this - and my husband visited the gym
The main problem we had was that we had to ask at reception every day for our room to be serviced despite putting the sign on the door. This was really not good enough for a hotel of this standard and to get back to the room from the beach in the afternoon to find it still not made up was not good at all. However, having said that as soon as we contacted reception the room was serviced. We also had to ask for water in our room each day. It was room 121 and I think must have dropped off the radar.
Overall the staff were very helpful, polite and always looked smart and nothing was too much trouble.
Lots of steps so if you have problems walking you may not be able to get down to the beach as the funicular finishes at the pool level.
Having had the dreadful experience in the coach on our journey from the airport, we booked a taxi to take us which was so much more comfortable but cost us an extra 99 Euros.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyD337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We booked through Clarissa Edgar wow when she said you must go we thought we have trusted her with all our holidays over the past 10 years she was right !!
The Staff were really attentive and helpful. the view from our room was breath taking
Our Private pool was heaven and rooms far surpassed our expectations ..we loved the beach it was pure bliss for us ...
Food was really good we had Half Board and everything was delicious with plenty of choice to suit any palate or fussy eater.
We went out a few times however as we were there for only 7 days stayed mainly at the hotel .
We are going back and will be booking with Clarissa again contact details for her 0800 883 0836 excellent agent very helpful day or night but most of all she knows what she is talking about we were being really fussy about flight times and she was switching this and that to suit us until we were happy and her price was also the cheapest as we did shop around like most people do !!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room number as this will put you in a much better position over looking the stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Booked through Destinology who organise a private transfer which was a luxury air con cooled taxi with iced water to refresh so had no issues with coaches in hills taking 4 hours. This means we flew Easyjet yet all you are foregoing is a meal on a plane if you book with Thomson.
Upon arrival to the hotel there was someone to greet us and give us iced flannels to cool us down. A quick tour from the rooftop balcony and we were in the lobby greeted by Maria to do paper work etc. a non optional credit card charge of 100 euro a day being explained.....this is refunded btw. We thought 100 euros a day.......that is plenty......more on that later. We were offered a free 'soft drink' which got me a smidgen as we had paid loads why go all Thomas Cook on us and not give us something better.
We signed the forms and were driven to our room. This isn't a conventional hotel and the rooms are 4-5 room separate entry villa like blocks in the rock which are connected by a small network of hilly roads which staff get around on in golf buggies, however you can call a buggy from your room.
Our room was as described had bathrobes slippers complimentary bottle of wine and water. The latter being replaced daily,yet had a small amount of ants in the balcony. Not that 5 star. These were removed when we said. Beds were really comfortable.
I agree with comments on the food which was good not excellent and we never experienced cattle market scenes at the breakfast. Yet the breakfast food was no better than a trip I had had in Mexico several years ago.
The pool is good not too small, people were doing lengths with all the regalia yet it's only 25m and a constant 1.25m in depth, the weather is awesome though was a little windy, which you were thankful of!
The only thing was the price of food and drink, this has been mentioned previously, the burger at the pool was nice, not the best I've had in the world , yet nice and was 16 euros. An iced coffee was 8 euros.So it all mounts up.
We spent over 100 euros a day...yet this is the price of luxury.....so they say. You have no choice really......
The staff are very attentive and provide a slick operations.Thanks go to Nikos at the bar who can fix anything up for you and is a gent.I thoroughly recommend the scuba diving school. Try in the pool first then pay 80 euros for a good 1.5 hr lesson and dive around the cove. They are thoroughly knowledgable and good vfm.The guy is Italian and very passionate about what he does.
The architecture of the place is amazing and the lobby has some cool touches. We never went in the spa tbh,, however walking around inside it looked amazing.
All in all a great time to wind down......4.5 stars just not 5

Room Tip: If you have a room from the 5th level your view will be amazing however be prepared to walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
68.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.9 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
546 reviews
7.0 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,862 reviews
4.0 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
10.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas

Property: Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Address: Vathi Beach, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the town of Agios Nikolaos — yet on the secluded beach of Vathi this luxury resort in Crete enjoys an exclusive elegant and serene location. In a private cove amidst blue skies, a crescent of sand and the calm of the Mediterranean, Daios Cove is regarded as the ultimate 5 star beach resort in Crete Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Bookgreece.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas Hotel Vathi
Daios Cove Luxury Resort And Villas
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing