We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stunning location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

From when we arrived to when we left this hotel was a pleasure to stay in.

The high level of customer service was set from when we were met at the "penthouse" entrance by the reception staff through until we checked out. The room was spacious and well furnished, great bathroom and the views were superb. We ate breakfast every day in the large restaurant where in particular the lady maître d was professional, friendly and completely in control of proceedings. Food wise there was a good choice of everything with chefs on hand for freshly cooked omelettes etc.

Generally we ate dinner out of the hotel more because we prefer to explore and try new venues than always eat where you are staying. There were some good restaurants at the first village on the Sitia road. The one on the right midway through the town with a roof terrace served very good local food.

Good pools and safe swimming in the sea, we had a really relaxing break.

The stunning location did mean that you needed a car to get around and as the hotel is effectively built into the side of the hill, there was some steep walking if the Golf buggy's were busy.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling Mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    377
    131
    34
    7
See reviews for
465
860
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey,UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We had a wonderful week staying at the Gran Melia, Crete. We were in need of some 'R&R' and the hotel provided the perfect setting for this.

Pros
- Stunning design, modern interior and wonderful views
- Spacious, modern and clean rooms
- The most comfortable bed we have ever slept in!
- Great breakfast offering with plenty of fresh fruit
- Surprisingly (as we don't usually enjoy buffets) enjoyable and fresh buffet (we selected 1/2 board)
- Chilled out vibe (helped by the music) around the pool
- Beautiful private beach in a bay setting, with very attentive staff for refreshments at your lounger
- Comfortable loungers
- The room service was quick and presented beautifully
- The bar snack food was good and in big portions (so 2 can easily share 1 dish)
- A mix of 'well heeled' international guests

Cons
- The Greek Taverna restaurant wasn't very good and we found the staff there to be quite rude
- The drinks (cocktails/spirits @ 12E) were costly. (there isn't a grocery shop in walking distance to stock up on drinks)
- The Wi-FI in the room didn't work
- The bathroom has a part wall partition off the bedroom, so turning on lights in here can disturb a sleeping partner at night
- We were situation quite high up in the resort and so needed to get golf buggies or walk to the funiculor to get to the reception area. This was fine, but at times in the heat it was a bit of a faff
- The music at the beach was sometimes too loud and 'dancey'.

Overall, we had a most enjoyable holiday and would not hesitate in recommending this new and special Greek Gem to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiminthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

We have just returned from a week at the Gran Melia Crete and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were amazing, very clean and luxurious, my only gripe was the wifi didn't work.
We were on a half board option and loved the food in the Ocean Club but found the Taverna rather disappointing. The buffet restaurant was ok but it seemed to be the same most evenings and they were struggling to keep up with a lot of people, probably because they have only just got busy and I am sure this will soon be sorted.
As previously mentioned the big problem came with trying to get a sunbed- the pool/beach concierge was great. Several people tried to reserve beds and then go off but he would soon sort that out. The beds by the pool were generally less used but due to the wind you couldnt put an umbrella up, so this was no use to us. We managed to get a bed every day but if you leave it too late you will struggle.
The funicular was out of order when we were there but the trip up in the golf buggies was really good and the guys were all really friendly.
Major problem was the price of the drinks £6 for an orange juice! We took some with us.
Went out to Aghios Nikolas one day and then to Spinalonga on another- rest of time just stayed by the pool. The other thing I would recommend to the hotel is to put in some more english channels as they only had news channels and pay movies in English. We were interested to be asked in one of the towns why we were staying there as it is normally full of Russians and they certainly make up the majority. Very few brits and everyone seemed to have gone to bed by 11.
All in all a great holiday and the design of the hotel is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

I have just retrurned from a 7 nights stay at Gran Melia with my wife.
The Hotel is brand new and built with the highest standards. It is definetely one of the top hotels in Greece and should be rated among one of the topest in the World for summer vacations.

Landscape: 10/10. The hotel is embracing an isolated golf, leading to a beautiful beach where you can really enjoy swimming.

Architecture: 10/10. Perfectly match the landscape. Built mainly with stones.

Rooms: 10/10. Very Spacious, modern and alegant decoration, smoothly mathced with the overall design.

Facilities and main buildings: 9/10. Great Lobby, reception area, Spa, Main Pool Area, general architecture etc.

Staff: 10/10. Really enjoyed the attitude of all people currently working at Gran Melia. The management of the Hotel is consatntly present at all places. They also did their best to satisfy some extra needs of ours.

Food: 6.5/10. The only issue they should improve. Room Service, Breakfast, Greek Tavern, Pool Bar, Beach Bar, Ocean Restaurant would be ok for a usual hotel but they have a distance to run in order to reach a Great Hotel as they have done with all the rest. I am pretty sure that they would do better next year in this area also.

Value for Money: It was worthing our money 140%.

Best Regards.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtsint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
68.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.4 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
72.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.0 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
10.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas

Property: Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Address: Vathi Beach, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the town of Agios Nikolaos — yet on the secluded beach of Vathi this luxury resort in Crete enjoys an exclusive elegant and serene location. In a private cove amidst blue skies, a crescent of sand and the calm of the Mediterranean, Daios Cove is regarded as the ultimate 5 star beach resort in Crete Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daios Cove Luxury Resort And Villas
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas Hotel Vathi
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing