We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most perfect hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Friendly people, beautifull hotel, nice location, lots of sun.
Pleas support the Greek economie and spend your vacation in Greece.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babske1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    188
    82
    27
    20
See reviews for
242
559
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We spent a week at Saint Nicolas at the end of May this year. Nicos - the front of house manager - was the first to welcome us, leading us to our standard sea-view room with stunning views of the resort and sea. This was room 416 - a corner plot with a desirable level of privacy as well as being one minute from breakfast, the pool and just outside the spa and gym.

The breakfast location was perfect - overlooking the pool and shaded by trees. We suspect that we went at a fairly quiet time which suited us perfectly. Breakfast consisted of some freshly made Cretan pastries and cakes, bread and biscuits on one table. Then there were sliced cold meats and cheeses, greek yoghurt. Fresh fruits included apples, kiwi and watermelon. Eggs could be ordered (good choice - hot menu inc. eggs, omelettes, pancakes) and accompanied by cooked courgettes, tomatoes, potatoes etc. Reasons for going into such detail on the breakfast relate to previous complaints from others below that it falls below a 5* standard.

We had one couples massage at the spa. The couple's room is absolutely stunning - stone walls and a centre pool. The only complaint I had - my boyfriend didn't seem to notice so much - is that the room is not soundproofed. This meant that I couldn't relax as I could hear everything from the reception phone ringing to people walking past to get to the gym. We did speak to the lovely Stella, though, who had a massage on her own and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The infinity pool was beautiful, long enough to swim lengths and lovely to float on the edge looking over the vast sea. Adjoined were two smaller pools for children. We also found another swimming pool by the front reception, next to the Minotaure restaurant. It was empty - I presume due to the hotel not being busy - but woul make a nice alternate location for relaxing.

There are a number of deck chairs spread along the flat rock down by the sea, on various levels, with stairs leading into the sea at different points. It is a beautiful place to sunbathe, as the breeze is very cooling, and attentive bar staff (special mention for Yannis here - our favourite barman!) The sea is also magnificently clear and wonderful to swim in. We must mention here that it is not a long sandy stretch of beach. A small part is shallow but this really is a swimmer's paradise - deeper waters and stunning scenery.

With Regards to food, we ate at the hotel on two out of the seven nights we were there, once at the buffet restaurant which was on the house from the hotel to welcome us, and then secondly at the Greek Kafenion, which romantically looks over the sea and grounds and is open at night on Tuesdays and Saturdays (food here was beautiful) With regards to the buffet restaurant, lovely food but we were on the fence about wether we would have been happy to pay the 35 euros for it. We ate out a lot, though. The town is only a five minute drive (it's worth hiring a car) and there are some beautiful restaurants around the lake in town which are more than affordable (eg. we could eat out - two plates per head - for no more than 25 euros in total exc. wine.) We also ate lunch at the pool bar at the hotel a couple of times and the food was superb on both occasions.

To conclude - a stunning, luxurious setting with the friendliest of staff and superior service. Absolutely lives up to it's number 1 ranking and worth every penny spent. Exceedingly highly recommended and we most certainly hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Sea view, definitely. Rooms next to spa have great proximity to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinshroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

A fabulous location, a beautiful hotel, delicious food and wonderful staff. The breakfast was great and the scenery gorgeous. Have travelled a great deal over the last few years and had forgotten how beautiful the Greek Islands were.
Management and staff always polite and helpful. Spa treatments a little pricey but good. Spa staff very professional.
Location quiet and about 30 minutes walk from Agios Nikolaos. Pool area lush.
If I had stayed another week I'd of gained a stone, the food at breakfast was plentiful. The chefs cakes to die for especially the baklava with fresh natural yoghurt. :-)

Room Tip: Rooms are all unique and very clean however noise travels fast. TV from adjacent rooms travels thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sraphaelreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have spent a couple of days in Saint Nicolas Bay Resort in april 2012. We have really enjoyed this stay. Thanks to the great welcoming staff there under the supervision of Costas, perfect host managing the hotel. The site is amazing especially at sunset with pools, private beach and nice spa. The rooms are comfortable and full of light with nice view on the sea.
We strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at the St Nicholas Bay for two weeks in May 2012. The hotel is beautiful and the management and all the staff were excellent. The service was very personal and very friendly. The room was very spacious and immaculately clean, the maid service was good. The food was great with excellent service. The setting of the hotel is beautiful with stunning sea views and lovely gardens. The pool area is fantastic and the varied sunbathing areas are stunning, the private beach and sea are superb. The hotel is situated just outside the town which is within walking distance or a short taxi ride. It was the perfect holiday for my wife and I, we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelAnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Recently stayed at the St Nicolas for ten days. It is very relaxing, small village type complex on the side of a hill overlooking the bay. The rooms are bungalow, or terrace type, white rendered on the outside and kept immaculately clean every day, turn down service in the evening. The choice of food - particularly in the evenings - is probably not up to 5* standard, but perfectly adequate. We were half-board, I don't think we would be too happy to pay €36 every evening for the choices available, but the food presented was perfectly cooked and tasty.

The staff are very attentive and helpful, the two maitre d' in the breakfast and evening restaurants are very welcoming and ensures everyone is well attended to.

Somebody put the smoke alarm on the ceiling directly over the bed, which flashes to small red lights every few seconds - if Mr Demetzos (the office manager) is reading this, there are two medical sticking plasters over the lights in room 216! Only for this reason I gave the sleep quality 'poor'

A very relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E Garvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

With this review I would like to thank to the all personal and managers of the hotel for taking great care about their guest. I have been there alone for 10 days and there was not one thing which i would have a problem with. Combination of very friendly personal, great food, well equiped gym and clean and comfortable rooms made my holiday obe of the top 10. I deffinitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
67.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.7 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
0.4 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas

Property: St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Address: Thessi Nissi 10, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious Balcony or Terrace in each Room or Suite provides a private and secluded open air lounge to sit and relax with great sea views.- From the secluded privacy of your room balcony / terrace only 2 minutes walk through flower scented gardens to reach the private sandy beach and sunbathing terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel And Villas
Saint Nicolas Bay Hotel
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing