We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This was year was my 6th or 7th visit to the hotel and I cannot recommend it highly enough - I would never contemplate staying anywhere different instead. Admittedly if you want an action-packed holiday then it's probably not right for you, but if you want rest and relaxation this is definitely the place to come. The staff are very welcoming and friendly, and always at your disposal (Nikos in particular), and as they tend to remain the same every year you get a nice familiar feeling there if you return. It is quirky yet charming and must be in one of the most beautiful settings in the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy_G2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    188
    82
    27
    20
See reviews for
245
568
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I returned on 29th August after a disappointing five day stay at the St. Nicholas Bay hotel. The hotel itself is nice enough, and also the little bay where it is built, but certainly it’s not the 5* it purports to be. Most of the staff are ok but some of the managers are there only to wring money from clientele.
Our room was not equal as informed previously by internet (and the manager even told us that we had had a upgrade – standard room to junior suite – which was not true). Moreover room was not a sea view on a highest floor (which I asked but in vain).
Food and drinks in each of the restaurants are extortionately expensive. There are no tea and coffeemaking facilities in the rooms and a very limited amount of tv channels.
Breakfast was below 5* hotel expectations:
- conserved fruit (pineapple / peach / ...) is not acceptable in a 5* hotel !
- bread is sliced in advance and therefore dry (which I gave to birds and fish, together with croissants): customers are not afraid to slice there own bread!!! please provide normal sized bread and serve 'pistolets' as well;
- juices from boxes / bottles are not acceptable in a 5* hotel, only fresh fruit !
- juices are served in plastic goblets !!! we are sure that nicer glass-imitations are available!

One morning I was reading a book on the terrace of the traditional cretan restaurant (open only for dinner). To my great surprise I saw a big mouse and a smaller one entering the grating door.
I can guarantee you that this is stopping appetite! In fact we never had dinner in that resto!!! The assistant of manager told us that it was just a country mouse.
There are also lots of bugs (e.g. ants, cockroaches, mosquitos) in the rooms & hotel. But the most dangerous creatures there are jellyfish. I had a PAINFUL and very evident “kiss” from one in the area of sea delimitated with buoys by hotel . When I reported the fact to the manager, I was told that it was impossible: in many years not even one customer had problems with jellyfish. I must be very very very unlucky!!! I had a spa treatment with aloe vera to calm pain and reduce hundreds of red spots; I paid for it. The receptionist in the spa told me that jellyfish exist there, and very many can arrive: it depends on the wind.
The same night, I met a French speaking boy limping to his room (just above mine) with one of his shoes in his hand. He told me that in the same area of sea he came across a kind of small morey.
So, mr. manager: be honest and tell people that there is also this problem!!!
No shuttle service to the town.
Pool : 3 in 1 , extremely small and much noisy guests with small children.
Liked: the location
Disliked: our room and most of staff

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank giulivince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

We returned here after our wedding 2 years ago. Nothing has changed, it is still as amazing as it was then.

The staff remembered us and gave us the customer service that they are renowned for. We were delighted with the room we had been given, the setting was as stunning as ever. Although we rarely go back to the same places, St Nicolas is somewhere we will never tire of. Thank you for your hospitality, see you very soon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLocket1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A fantastic place to stay and discover Cretan hospitality, gastronomy and sea!
The hotel is located at the outstanding Mirabelo Bay, excellent service, a lot of luxury accommodation choices, many different kind of restaurants and cuisines to taste, and breakfast for kings. As for the watersports, these are in the musts!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dimitris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked this at short notice and with no prior knowledge of the area or the hotel. What a wonderful surprise! The staff are incredibly welcoming, the location is outstanding, and the hotel is a dream. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I travelled to this resort with my son and i must say i was extremely apprehensive to stay here, not only was it the first time i had travelled abroad without my husband but i was totally unaware of what to expect and thought the brochure would leave me wanting. Well, i shouldn't of been so worried! We arrived in the early hours of the evening and was greeted warmly by the receptionist which spoke reasonably good english. As i had never been in a supposidly 5* hotel before, i wasn't expecting lavishings of drinks on our arrival which is what others have commented. First impressions were that the resort was overall very peacefull and quiet with only having seen one guest upon our arrival. However, i had overheard him mentioning how uncomfortable the beds where which wasn't a good start. We had a warm welcome from the manager, Nicos whom led us to our room. How dissapointed we were...although we had chose the cheapest room available i didn't realise how decieving the pictures where from the website. We literally had an outside view of a bush which was supposed to be a sea view room...not what we paid for. It was so clostrephobic, the room was small, the fridge wasn't working and the beds were rock hard. And all in all, a bit dated. We were understandably frustrated and upfront about the situation and Nicos upgraded us the following day to a room that was quite laughably 100 times better than our previous room. The room was a reasonable size with big sliding doors, the balcony was magnificent and it was very private and secrete which was what we were hoping for. The room was clean, bright and airy. And what a difference toppers make on the beds, extremely comfortable. If only we had this room in the first place! The only downfall would be the air-conditioning which was poor and needed replacing. This resort may not be for everybody as it is very relaxed, the pool is great with not as many kids as i thought there would be in the busy months of August. However, the sunbeds next to the pooI were uncomfortable and service was not really apparent much compared to the beach etc. There were also a variety of watersports available at the beach. This Resort would not be the same without the staff.The staff did not dissapoint, they were by far the nicest people we had ever met abroad which is suprising considering the economic crisis they are in at the moment. Especially Nicos, the blonde French waiter/ bartender (Aniella i think) and a few of the staff.And of course the cleaners! The food at breakfast was excellent with a variety of choice. The buffet let them down as having to pay 35-40 euros pp is a rip off. The greek style restaurant next to the sea had some great fish and the staff were lovely but it was very pricey. We came on B&B which we couldn't recommend highly enough and glad we didn't go half board as you can save a lot of money. Ag Nic town was about a half hour walk but there were plenty of great taverns and cafes. The supermarket is close also. The resort itself is lovely with lush greenary (probably the only greenary we saw in greece) Staff, great and service was also great but very ££££££. Ignoring the slight hiccup that was soon adheard to, we had a very pleasent, relaxing and enjoyable stay. In fact, it was the best holiday we have ever experienced, we would highly recommend and are already planning our visit next year :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Having been to many resorts around the world, I must say you do not get value for money at this resort. Of course this depends on what your expectations are. The reception area is ok. Drinks or a warmer welome would have been appreciated. We received an upgraded room and must say it was probably the nicest room we have stayed in. The pool water is extremely salty and cold. The beach (if you can get a sunbed because people put towels on them from 7.30am and use them at 11am), is ok.
Now the breakfast. Don't expect your eggs to be made the way you asked for them. Be prepared to send them back and have them cooked again. Don't ask for boiling water for a cup of tea because thats too difficult. Don't expect your toast or pancakes to come out perfect because they will be burnt. If you are understand the Greek language, expect the staff to be rude amongst themselves. If you like your fruit, don't expect it to be fresh daily. If you see a manager floating around the breakfast area, don't expect him to say goodmorning to you. He selects only a few people to say goodmorning to and buzzes around them the entire time (if he isn't swearing at staff in Greek).
If you have lunch at the Blue Bay cafe you'll think you are at another resort. Staff are very friendly, food is great and overall its very pleasant.
Overall you don't get value for money and this is my opinion. If you want to relax and be left alone its great. If you expect to have more of a personal service, spend your money elsewhere. Would I go back....No! Would I recommend this resort to friends....No! You'll get much better service and value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelEmtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
67.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.7 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
0.4 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#2 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas

Property: St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Address: Thessi Nissi 10, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious Balcony or Terrace in each Room or Suite provides a private and secluded open air lounge to sit and relax with great sea views.- From the secluded privacy of your room balcony / terrace only 2 minutes walk through flower scented gardens to reach the private sandy beach and sunbathing terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel And Villas
Saint Nicolas Bay Hotel
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing