We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We spend two weeks here on HB and had a great time. It’s fair to say to say that the hotel is not 5 star in the way that, say, The Ritz is, though it’s still very well presented and comfortable.

Whilst we didn’t have a sea view, we had two connecting rooms which were decent sized and well, but simply, furnished in much the same way that most holiday destination hotels are. Plenty of hanging room and storage for clothes as well.

The pool area is very good with three separate pools, one for toddlers, one for intermediates and then the main pool with super views over the sea. Another plus is the beach which is forms part of a small man made harbour. Not too deep, clean and plenty of fish to look at.

There is a watersports service on the beach which has a jet ski, boats, canoes and other stuff for hire. A bit pricey maybe, but great fun and helpful staff.

Breakfast is good with a decent selection at the buffet and then a made to order service for some items. It can be a bit chaotic at times, but on the whole the staff are very helpful.

Lunch is also good, though can get a bit expensive. Service is fine and the view is great.

Dinner is a buffet again or, they have a made to order service for some things. On the whole the food is very good and a varied selection each night apart from some of the staples, e.g. salad etc. Wine is expensive and if you want to anything other than a Greek wine, expect to pay €50 plus.

The bar on the beach has to be a favourite. Drinks are pricy, but you get great cocktails, super service and fantastic views over the sea. Children can also catch a few fish here on a night as well – the staff will even provide a bucket to hold them in.

There’s a movie each evening at 10pm also, generally decent films in English just by the bar.

For the children there’s a kid’s club which in truth is probably best suited to children between 4 and 7. I’d have to say that its not very proactive in that you have to seek it out rather than them promoting it heavily. There’s also a games room with table football and table tennis. Both are free and whilst we were there were hardly used.

Some of the other reviews mention surely staff and I have to say that’s not been our experience at all, everyone we met was polite and helpful, from the management to the waiting staff.

Also, some reviews commented that there was a rush for sunbeds in the morning – this wasn’t our experience either, though I think this may depend on the mix of occupants, i.e. if more people want to be round the pool rather than the beach or terrace area.

All in all, we have a great holiday and would certainly return. If you’re considering this hotel I’d have to say that it would be hard to beat.

Room Tip: Get a villa if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ex-seasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerGreece, Γενικός Διευθυντής at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent holiday with us and for emphasising the location and food but especially your great experience with all our staff. I am extremely happy and grateful to read that the philosophy and one of the trademarks of our hotel, namely high professionalism combined with genuine care is being felt and recognised by our valued guests.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind personal regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    198
    85
    29
    21
See reviews for
257
597
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It's one of life's great mysteries how hotels decide what to charge for wine ! This hotel has no idea - the cheapest wine was €28 for an adequate white , the waiters are obviously instructed to recommend something more in the €40-50 region . On the 3rd night we were unable to order anything at the bottom end and kept being encouraged to spend more ! If you like a decent wine with your meal my advice is to go B&B only and go to the Kri-Kri a delightful Creten restaurant a 600meter walk around the bay . Or take a €6 Taxi into town for a good selection of restaurants .
It's a shame as the quality of food on offer is very good both at breakfast , lunch and buffet or on site restaurants .
My other criticism is again price wise and that is lunchtime snack menu - prices start at €16 for a cheeseburger and €4 for a Coke or a small beer . Again the Kri-Kri was a welcome break from the mid-day sun .
It's a lovely hotel in a fantastic spot and a bit of thought re pricing would encourage more people to stay around the hotel - there are a few comments re lack of atmosphere in the evening , I'm not surprised people choose to be entertained away from the hotel !!

Final footnote - who chooses the waiting staff ? They range from the delightful , through ignorant to the frankly scary !

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardJWak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerGreece, Γενικός Διευθυντής at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent holiday with us and good note has been taken on your comments. The points raised will be taken into serious consideration for future reference since we value a lot the subjective opinion of all our guests and kindly be assured of our best efforts to meet their expectations at all times.

Kind personal regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wonderful hotel with dreamy views, excellent rooms and genuinely friendly staff. Having returned on an annual basis for almost a decade, the experience never disappoints and always manages to surpass our expectations. What actually stole our hearts this time around - along with all the other guests and staff alike - was surprisingly a tiny litter of kittens that had been born during the week we were there, which became one of the focal points during our stay. Needless to say it was sad to leave and we have already began planning for next year's return!

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddieHickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerGreece, Γενικός Διευθυντής at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent holiday with us and for emphasising the location but especially your great experience with all our staff. I am extremely happy and grateful to read that the philosophy and one of the trademarks of our hotel, namely high professionalism combined with genuine care is being felt and recognised by our valued guests.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind personal regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We've been coming here as a family for 10 years now and wouldn't go anywhere else. Admittedly there is room for improvement, and the service is not as slick as a 5* in England would generally be, however overall the staff are so welcoming and friendly (and have largely remained the same since we've been coming here which is nice). As my title says, it has a quirky charm and I would fully recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzy_G2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerGreece, Γενικός Διευθυντής at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for returning to our Hotel again and for your kind comments on our staff. Our guests’ satisfaction is our top priority and we are much looking forward to welcome you again at the St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas.

Kind personal regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We just got back from a week staying at St Nicolas Bay. The location is superb - the resort is on the sea and there's a lovely beck area and lots of good places to hang out on a sun lounger. There's a lovely chapel on the resort itself which was very sweet.

Our room had a panoramic view of the sea and the islands nearby which was lovely. The room we were in though was very basically furnished for a five star hotel and the bed was extremely uncomfortable (we both returned with back ache) - one would definitely expect a bit more luxury, after all the rate was over 400 euros per night. Some of the staff were friendly but some were not - and breakfast was a mixed bag with some rather fierce waiters and we felt like we were on some kind of production line and everything had to be completed before the 10.45am curfew. The highlight were the lunches - very pleasant location and the staff very friendly though a bit disorganised. The half board option was included in our rate though we didn't go every night - it was quite chaotic and if you are someone who doesn't like a buffet scramble then you would not enjoy this.
Overall we had a pleasant stay but would have expected a lot more for the rating. Some tips for the area - we went twice to a fantastic restaurant called Migomis in Agios Nicolaus - stunning location over the lake/sea and the food was amazing. We also went to a wonderful hilltop village with lots of great arts and crafts shop called Kritsa - about 9 miles from the hotel (18 euro journey).

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a mattress 'topper' unless you like a rock hard bed - it helps a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purbecks68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerGreece, Γενικός Διευθυντής at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Dear Guest,
My sincere thanks for taking the time to post your review with reference to your recent holiday with us and I am delighted to read that our Hotel and services provided have met your expectations and hope to return one day.
The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority and we are much looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind personal regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here as part of a wedding party as our friends chose this beautiful hotel for their wedding venue. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite with a semi private pool and our room was amazing. The room was v clean, sheets were changed daily and had all the nice touches you'd expected in a 5 star hotel.

The staff were v friendly and couldnt do enough for you. The pools were lovely, always enough sun beds and the choice at the buffet for breakfast and the evening meal was pretty extensive.

The only negative I would say is the resort isn't very pushchair friendly with lots of steps. However staff would always help lift the pushchairs for people when they were around.

Overall this is a beautiful resort and was the perfect setting for a wedding!!

Room Tip: Junior suites are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleyrmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerGreece, Γενικός Διευθυντής at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent holiday with us and for emphasising the location and food but especially your great experience with all our staff. I am extremely happy and grateful to read that the philosophy and one of the trademarks of our hotel, namely high professionalism combined with genuine care is being felt and recognised by our valued guests.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind personal regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a wonderful stay, in a wonderful holiday, with wonderful views, and wonderful friendly staff. From the moment we arrived until we left, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, all the staff seemed so genuinely friendly & only to happy to accommodate, they had time for a chat, time to share their experience of the island to guests, staff too numerous to mention individually but we loved having time to chat with them & learn about Crete.
Our room, a junior suite, had terrific sea views, and we still pine for them now each morning, the blue seas, and the bright blue skies, things that dreams are made of. The food, especially the breakfast offering was varied & plentiful, I always took advantage of the cooked 'to order' hot breakfast, supplemented with fruit & pastries, whilst my partner enjoyed fresh fruits & muesli, all served with fresh juice & coffee. We loved the pool area, and the terraced steps with sunbeds down to the small private beach, and must disagree with an earlier comment about not enough sun beds, we were there for 2 weeks and NEVER had any difficulty in obtaining a sunbed, in fact we often commented how plentiful they were. Whilst I can understand some earlier reviews saying that its not quite 5 star, and it is difficult to pinpoint any particular faults or failings, in some areas it just isn't quite 5 star in comparison to other establishments we've been to (the rooms fall a little short & the food isn't 'fine dining') but as I started the title of the review - Wonderful - Probably our best ever holiday - proves it doesn't have to be 5 start to make it a great holiday, there other other aspects that more than make up for it & we would love to be back sooner rather than later - I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerGreece, Γενικός Διευθυντής at St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments posted recently and I am delighted to read that our Hotel, staff, service, food and location have met your expectations.
I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and thank you very much for recommending our hotel.

Kind personal regards,
Costas Sp. Zarbalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
67.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
20.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
6.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
4.0 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas

Property: St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Address: Thessi Nissi 10, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious Balcony or Terrace in each Room or Suite provides a private and secluded open air lounge to sit and relax with great sea views.- From the secluded privacy of your room balcony / terrace only 2 minutes walk through flower scented gardens to reach the private sandy beach and sunbathing terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel And Villas
Saint Nicolas Bay Hotel
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing