We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel”
Review of Coral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hotel Coral, Aghios Nikolaos in Crete.
Great hotel, perfectly situated for short walk to centre, and for bus and boats trips around the island.
Met several people who have returned to this hotel annually, presumably for the following:-
friendly helpful staff; superb choice of excellent cuisine; beautiful room, perfectly sited, fresh an cleaned daily, - had asked for a sea view - spectacular vista.
All in all a perfect holiday ..but parents however beware...no beach, and not particularly great for the under 12's as pool on 4th floor presents problems for little ones.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanaht51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    172
    69
    21
    14
See reviews for
53
239
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
skegness
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

went here oct 12 th for 11 nights 9 adults of over 60 , the food is very good lots of choice the resturant staff very friendly , the rooms are clean with beds changed, and clean towels every day also beach towels are provided , tea makeing in rooms refilled daily but no probs you can ask for milk ect and get it with a smile . we were all in clusive bar staff were also good , the view from rooms at the front are really great , also to sit by the pool looking out to sea is really somyhing else what is missing is a little entertainment we had 2 diso nights which were good but then nothing but all in all a really lovely holiday for all .

Room Tip: sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thusclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had a lovely relaxing holiday and also enjoyed the various trips on offer by boat and mini train. We stayed all inclusive and the range and variety of food was good and the veggie options were good too. not just salads. The staff were friendly, helpful and smiling. They would also prepare a packed lunch if you went out for the day.The hotel overlooks the Mirabello bay and is lovey to wake up to in the morning. Our room was a good size with a bath and shower and balcony and cleaned daily. The town is a short walk away and I would recommend this hotel and area to anyone. The bonus is the fantastic weather in October!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmwkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

nostalgic trip back to ag nik after 26 yrs! 5 lads came and stayed in a villa in 1987 so this time i travelled solo and gave the coral a try. location is great short stroll from town. i was given room 506 at the side of the hotel overlooking the unfinished building but as all i needed was a room to sleep and get changed in i didnt really mind. i was staying half board and really couldnt fault the food. you basically knew what to expect at meal times but it was presented well in buffet style. the so called surly restaurant manager kept things in order food wise and if you took the time out to smile he always returned the compliment! true some parts of the hotel need updating and the carpets leading from level 2 could do with a good clean. but no cokroaches here. hotel seemed quite full. basically middle aged and upwards, never saw children apart from a couple of teenage girls staying with their grandmother next room to me which brings me to my only serious gripe, why is it when people close their bedroom doors they have to bang it or when opening and shutting wardrobes they have to make a noise like theres an earthquake, must be only us brits who have manners. i thought all the staff were very curtious especially on reception who were very helpfull. i caught the suns rays across the road on the sunbeds on the concrete diving platform more of a breeze there. as i basically stayed round the town ifound some nice hidden gems of restaurants behind the town near the marina and beyond. really you just need to go bandb as i thought the prices pretty reasonable. elounda is well worth a visit, 15 mins on the bus from town, quite a laid back little town but very nice with a couple of beaches 5 mins walk away. going back to the coral yes i would recommend it. but dont forget its only a 3 star i never sampled the evening entertainment as i was always out after dinner sampling the raki! one last important note to remember is friday is there busiest time at the airport. coming no probs, going home chaos, we all had to que outside the airport for 30 mins then allowed in dribs and drabs cos it was so busy and the sgns in the airport are useless as they dont tell you where to go when you have finally checked in. has ag nik changed since 26 yrs ago, well not really probably a few more shops etc. but ooh that airport!

Room Tip: choose a higher room and of course a sea view if your with a partner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owengreenhalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from week in the Coral. Like other reviews I agree some public areas are in need of attention, but saying that the hotel was very clean, and the staff helpful.

We had sea view room- this is a must we were in room 721. The view is amazing, I have attached a picture. We were on half board, the restaurant is clean, airy and selection at breakfast was excellent. We tried evening meal once, this was OK, but we preferred eating out in Agios.

Our room was maintained daily, towels changed daily, fridge and air con also good.

This is a good 3* star hotel and I would stay again as the views are exceptional.

Tip, transfer was 1hr on arrival, due to pick ups going back this was 2.5 hrs. I would take taxi to main bus station and take bus to Heraklion and get off at airport this rakes 1 hr

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chez6577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for 11 nights at this hotel and the upgrade to seaview rooms is a no brainer (we stayed in room 623), the views are stunning. The hotel in general is showing its age a little in the public areas apart from the bar area which has recently been improved.

Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable and the maids changed the towels daily, nothing to complain about really. The food was quite good in general but obviously after a week it then becomes a bit repetative, the dining room is very airy and well managed by the staff. The fact this is an adult only hotel gives the restaurant a calming feel in my opinion.

The pool area and all inclusive drinks are of a good standard and well presented but i think there should be a little bit more entertainment on offer in the main bar at night.

The hotel is blessed with very good staff from the waitresses and manager in the dining area to the receptionists and also the people working the bar areas.

I found George on reception to be exceptional and a very friendly man and also Alexia who runs the pool bar and Mariana in the main bar to also be a credit to the hotel. Thank You.

If you bear in mind this is a 3 star hotel and not 5 star you will appreciate your stay more, its a comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReedRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013


We had a fantastic time in Crete
Our representatives from Olympic holidays Emma was wonderful and very approachable and fun and very easy to talk too
and was at the hotel regularly to help and advice us.
We did have a few issues of racism from some of the hotel staff and other guess in the hotel which was very disappointing
but we didn't let this spoil our holiday, and we did meet some really nice and friendly staff and guess too...
The hotel was very clean and tidy.... We would have liked clean blue beach towels daily instead of every other day....
The food in the restaurant was ok... The food was the same style all week for lunch and dinner which is very boring for a whole week. Also the chef couldn't make well done eggs, which is a shame! The main bar in the hotel had no atmosphere and the drinks and cocktails on offer at the pool side for all inclusive are not value for money. Also if you have hotel rules for deck chair and correct dress wear for dinner..... Staff need to make sure all guess are following these rules correctly.... and there are not single out individual who watch other guess all week not dress correctly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#6 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mistral Bay Hotel
Mistral Bay Hotel
#66 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#11 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#7 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel

Property: Coral Hotel
Address: Akti Koundourou 20, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Coral Hotel)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Coral Hotel Aghios Nikolaos
Coral Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing