We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
225
242
98
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
242
98
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downstairs bar sister hotel next door sandwiches sea view rooftop pool air con plenty of choice free safe missed dinner pebble beach three star we arrived late at night enjoyable holiday definitely return to this hotel feta cheese restaurant manager tea making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Great hotel... friendly helpful staff...clean and adequate room... Perfect position for marina town lake and beach... pool area very good with great views.... no complaints...would definitely visit here again...

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Arrived early afternoon. Decided on private transfer,took 45 mins. Later informed coach transfer can take up to 2 hours!! Glad we paid the extra.
Check in was quick and easy. We had room 615. The journey to the room not so quick and easy. It involved the first small lift on the reception floor takes you to level 2. then out of lift,left turn to glass covered bridge,5-6 steps up to second lift on the right. Again small lift up to level 6.
Room was a good size,plenty of hanging space and hangers.Bathroom clean with shower over the bath. Shower curtain a bit of a pain, was placed too far over the bath so it clung to you whilst showering. Good sized dressing table with large mirror. No full size mirror. Hairdryer in bathroom. Kettle with tea and coffee replaced everyday. Fridge with a large bottle of water on arrival. Safe in wardrobe free of charge.We had a sea view and it was lovely. The sun didn't hit the room all afternoon so you could actually sit out on it. Beach towels are in the room ready. They get changed every 3 days , but have to be in the room to be changed. bit of a dilemma when you're sitting on them all day.Beds are okay. two singles pushed together. Asked for an extra pillow which was placed in our room that day. Air Con is great , not too noisy.
We went all inclusive. The food was lovely , great choice just not quite hot enough for me. waiters and waitresses were on the ball with serving drinks and clearing tables. The pool bar was very good too. The 2 ladies did a good job of sorting out the" pusher inners" in a cunning way. Pool bar is open from 10.00 with food available from 12-5. bar shuts at 6. The main bar run by the lovely Marianne can be a bit hectic. Not enough seats especially when the entertainment is on. Entertainment 3 times a week consisting of Traditional Greek dancing a "disco" and cabaret dancing .
Then the pool and the dreaded beds. Started off going down at 7.50 to guarantee a bed with a parasol . The main door is locked till then, but there is another door that is not locked. 6.45 ended up being the time to go down for a bed with a parasol. The rules state no bed reserving but like in most hotels this rule does not apply.
Outside the hotel across the road is the shingle/pebble man made beach. there is beds and parasols at a price.About 7 Euros for 2 bed and parasol. No bar by the beach so either take it all with you (even though it will get warm) or the long trek back to the pool bar (3 levels up). the main town is a 5 min walk from the hotel. If you want to do a excursion go to economy tours they are very good (out of hotel turn right about 300m on hotel side). We did Spingalona island and the jeep safari. didnt use local transport but the bus stop is right outside hotel.Wnet to the Wednesday market, it was okay just killed a bit of time.
States this hotel is Adults Only but they were a few 12-18 year olds ? Only really saw them at meals times,with their yellow bands stating under 18, ours were an aqua colour.
Would I go again? Yes if the price doesn't go up in a big way. Don't forget 1.5 euros per night per room tax when you check out.
This resort as a whole is not suitable for people with mobility issues. There is no lift to the main restaurant, or to the pool area.

Stayed: June 2018
4  Thank pasm247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

The staff at the hotel are brilliant all hard working and committed to making your stay enjoyable.(They are the best thing about the hotel)

The rooms are a good size with some amazing sunrises to view on the upper floors at the front of the hotel. (Cleaned daily).

The food was was generally well cooked and presented but needs a little more imagination chips being the main stay of the menu.

This is what I would class as a hard hotel with no soft furnishings of note and seating in the main hard, my back was not in a good place as the bed was hard and not very comfortable I did mention this to reception on the last day they did say the beds were orthopedic and could be adjusted not so sure of this as the springs were making an appearance! They did very quickly supply an additional pillow when requested. (On reflection perhaps I should have mentioned the bed sooner).

My biggest disappointment was the shower if you have balance issues use the bath!! The shower head was located in the centre of a very narrow bath with a soap dispenser underneath and a hand rail for the bath "not shower" this was located below the shower head also coupled with a shower curtain which you were constantly fighting off it was not a pleasant experience and could be dangerous in my view!

I would recommend the management visit The Island Hotel in Gouves look at the comfort they provide in similar size rooms and the presentation of the food they supply a lot could learned in just 2 days they make you want to come back??

Room Tip: Upper floors have amazing sunrises overlooking the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Crinklecrags95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

My wife and I stayed here for a week, all inclusive. I must admit that we were a little apprehensive before we arrived because we normally plump for the larger resort hotels. We couldn't have been more surprised and pleased with our choice, in fact the Coral is possibly the best hotel experience we have ever had because of its location, the staff and the general ambiance. Granted it's only three star, some rooms would benefit from updating and the food can be quite repetitive (although very nicely cooked) but it's clean and commands the best position in this bustling seaside port. The staff are unbelievably helpful and friendly with a very special mention for Anastasia and Eva in the poolside snack bar who work harder than anyone I have ever seen and always with a big smile. The poolside sun terrace has plenty of sun beds, each with a mattress, and there is a fixed parasol for the majority of each pair of sunbeds. The view from the sun terrace is spectacular, overlooking the Mirabello bay and looking down on a small pebble beach where swimmers gather from early morning all through the day. The famous bottomless lake, with all its surrounding bars and restaurants, is only a short walk away and just great for an evening stroll and people-watching! Or alternatively the local bus stops right outside the hotel and for 1.90 euros per person will take you on a spectacular scenic ride to Elounda, about 20 minutes away, or you may like to carry on to Plaka.
To sum up then, Agios Nikolaos is picturesque and stunning, the hotel is ideally placed by the water's edge and the staff are brilliant. It is the perfect place enjoy a holiday in this ancient Cretan port.

Stayed: June 2018
4  Thank laytonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived late and water, sandwiches and fruit was left in the fridge for us which was a nice touch.
The hotel itself is really nice and clean. Bedding and towels are changed daily.
The food was good but quite repetitive, although there was always something to choose from. The pool bar snacks were lovely! Really good pizzas.
Staff are all really friendly and always willing to help.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews