We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good !”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
cimpulung arges
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very good !”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Hermes Is a nice hotel in a lovely town , the position Is great , close to the sea and to the center . Our family room Was very large with an wonderfull terrace to the sea .They are not luxurious but this Is the charm of Greece.This hotel have fair 4 stars , the food Is great, really good quality , especially dinner. The pool i liked very much-seawater , a litlle to crowded chair on the terrace and people reserved early ! The Hotel Is very clean !!
I have to mention that the people Who work in hotel are very nice and we felt excelent , special thanks to Eva from restaurant, Florin and the ladies from front desk and last but not least-Velina from animation ,Who Is doing an excelent job , my Kids really loved her !
P.s. Not many Kids in the hotel , a lot of mature people ( englishmans)but really nice athmosphere.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    286
    90
    23
    13
See reviews for
172
437
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Hotel was in a great position, was really spacious and comfortable. Staff very helpful and food first class. We were on half board - breakfast and evening meal - both had a great selection of good food. Various themes e.g. lovely range of barbecued fish. (see photo). Had a suite on the 9th floor which enabled us to have full sun most of the time - without having to worry about sun beds on the pool or sun deck areas. (Just as well as all beds always had towels saving them from early morning, despite not being allowed. Needs to be sorted!)

Room Tip: Need rooms on front for sea views - some rear rooms too close to neighbouring buildings for my likin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxicab94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Having visited Crete now for 19 years this is definately one of the best hotels we have stayed in.We went all inclusive to this hotel for 10 days.The sea views alone make your holiday so make sure when booking you get a room with sea view.Efficent check in and bags taken to your room which is quite welcoming after a 2 hour transfer but don't let this put you off. Although we had booked as 2 couples we were put in 2 rooms on different floors,room 139 and room 401.Room 139 was a large room with seating area for tv viewing and could do with updating but was kept very clean on a daily basis.Room 401 was at the harbour end of the hotel and was more updated with tiled floor(other rooms are carpeted) and adjustable air con.but could not fault the claenliness of both rooms.Free safe deposit boxes in all rooms along with Pool Towels.The restaurant was very comfortable and was a wide selection of food available at b/fast, lunch and evening dinner.WARNING Long trousers for the men must be worn for Evening Dinner which we were not aware of and had only taken dress shorts for evening wear and had to wear jeans I travelled in.Complained about this but to no avail but this is not stated on Hotel Website and was not identified on Jet2 's description of hotel.The pool area is a different matter.Sunbeds were being reserved by 7.30am and found it difficult to get 4 together after 9am so we used the Beach but had to pay 7 Euro's for 2 beds and brolly.By the way the beds were being reserved by the majority of Brits.There's entertainment every nightbut the only downside to this is if you don't want to see whats on there's no other bar to sit in except the Cafe del mare at street level and can be used but drinks on all incusive are not included in this bar but can be obtained at half price.Overall we would go back here again as frequent visitors to Aghios Nikolioas.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a sea view room and higher rooms get less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimbob001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

had a great holiday the staff could not do enough for you the reception staff were very helpful when my hubby had an accident and had to get treatment but they were excellent Valina was great really works hard and a great asset to the hotel the rooms are tired in decor but very clean which is the main thing the dining room staff and the pool bar staff were like family unfortunately the sun beds were reserved with towels but if you can't lick them join them, (sorry) the food was excellent with plenty of variety would definitely stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Am at present staying at Hermes on 10 day all inclusive break. This hotel is lovely, the views from sea view room we upgraded to although expensive are beautiful. Having read reviews about the rooms and the hotel being dated, I feel this is nonsense it is a charming hotel in a charming little Greek town. The staff are all first class, the cleaner does a great job. Manager always on hand if you need him. I will add that the first few days of our stay it did appear that previous saga hotel remarks were true but now into our third day and many different age groups now arriving - so good vibe. We are in room 209 and its lovely with a fantastic view of the beautiful Mirabella Bay. The beach is accessed through a tunnel (all adds to charm) and is pebble not sand but there are sandier beaches just a short walk either side. The food is very well prepared and presented with something for everyone and sweets to die for. Will I return to the Hermes almost certainly, it's a no brainer for me!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAZ057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandragee, Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife and I booked a 7-day Airtours holiday through Thomas Cook to Aghios Nikolae, Crete stopping at the Iberostar Hermes. This is the first hotel holiday we've taken since getting rid of the kids! The hotel is set along the promenade in Ag. Nikolae overlooking the Bay of Mirabello. It's a compact hotel and presumably because of a land shortage when built, the swimming pool and sun terrace are on the fifth floor. It's actually a good location being a good distance above the road so enjoying no traffic noise. Unfortunately this can't be said of the rooms facing the sea on the lower floors where traffic noise (those damned scooters) can be quite intrusive if sitting out on the room's balcony. The balcony doors are double-glazed so no noise intrudes into the rooms. The front of the hotel faces roughly east-north-east so those front rooms get plenty of light. Early risers (we Brits suffering the 2-hour time difference) can get some glorious sunrises)over the islands in the Bay!
Our room was good and comfortable complete with air conditioning, fridge, safe and a television. The television was actually not very good - the only 2 english channels being CNN and BBC World Service.
The food and restaurant service was very good. All meals were buffet-served and there was a good choice. We went half-board but you could buy all-inclusive a day at a time if you wanted a lunch and drinks at the hotel. If you went all-inclusive but wanted to go out for the day, you could book a packed lunch to take out. Using the restaurant and bars engages you with the staff the most and we felt the hotel employees were excellent.
The evening entertainment was ok but not particularly inspiring. An excellent trio of young ladies performing various ethnic dances turned out to come from the UK!
Taking everthing into account my wife and I enjoyed our stay and would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room especially above the fifth floor, since this will give you a good view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88David_Jackson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have recently stayed here for 4 nights, great location, & buffett breakfast very good, staff frendly.
Hotel is very dated & decor is something out of the early's 80's, room decor very drab, It doesn't deserve a 4 star rating, if i was being generous maybe a 3 star.

I tried to get a sunbed by the pool one afternoon, but although weren't all ocupied, they were all reserved even there was a sign on wall beside pool saying cannot reserve.

Lot of older people there on Saga holidays.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view room, city view rooms at side are a bit grim. I was also surprised the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickieg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having carefully explained your positive and negative feelings about your stay at our IBEROSTAR Hermes hotel. Your opinion is highly valuable and helps us to improve our services.

We are aware that the hotel isn´t of new construction, nevertheless, we maintain and preserve it the best we can, striving to offer comfortable accommodation to all our guests. Even so we took good note of your comment and commit to revise if we can renovate some of the areas.
According to the hotel policies, reserving sun beds is not allowed. We try our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during the high season where this occurs more often and we apologize if exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to have a total control on this matter.

On the other hand, we are delighted to know that our culinary offer on the breakfast buffet could largely satisfy you. The gastronomy is an important facet of our company and we do our utmost to please all palates. It is enjoyable to read that we could conquest yours.

Moreover, we also would like to thank you for pointing out our staff. It fills us with pride to hear that you found them very friendly and cheerful. The helpfulness and kindness of our employees is one of our main strengths and we are very grateful that you mentioned this point on your review.

Last but not least, it is enjoyable to read that you appreciated the perfect location of our hotel, right on the seafront and just a few steps away from the lovely coastal town of Agios Nikolaos and its stunning salt water lake.

Finally, we hope that your stay was as pleasant as it could possibly be, and we would be enchanted to may accommodate you again in our hotels.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.0 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#12 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
457 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
889 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#3 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
607 reviews
20.7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,965 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#6 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: Akti Koundourou 17, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Hermes)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal line of Mirabello bay, Hermes hotel gives you the opportunity to tastethe unique Mediterranean Sea and is only one step away from the heart of the lively city ofAgios Nikolaos. Hermes is the perfect starting point for those wishing to explore the wondersof Crete simultaneously offering an experienced service and numerous facilities for yourcomfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing