We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candia Park Village
Ranked #7 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just back from a very relaxing break at candia park village. The views over mirabello bay are fantastic, location is quiet and there's plenty to do or you can just relax. We had a sea view apartment which was well worth the upgrade price ( much cheaper arranged with the hotel than with Thomson). Our room had a large terrace with gorgeous views and easy access to the sea. The facilities in the rooms are basic but this was no problem.The staff are great, very friendly and helpful, particularly at the pool bar which is fantastic.We hired a car from Byron cars in town and got a really good price. This was great as we explored eastern Crete which really enhanced our holiday. The water sports at the hotel are fairly priced and there's a great selection of water sports available. We ate out most nights and all the food we had was delicious. Plaka has some great fish restaurants, the food at the ferryman in elounda is fantastic and we tried both of the restaurants east of the harbour in aghios nikolaos which were of a very high standard and good price. The bars around the lake are a lovely spot to relax and watch the world go by in the evenings. We also ate at Valetti taverna up in the plains of Lassithi which was well worth the trip. We didn't book a B and B deal which suited us as we like the flexibility of self catering. We did have breakfast in the hotel a couple of times which was good but I'd recommend going before 9 as it gets really busy. There is a themed buffet night each week which is worth attending. This holiday was so relaxing, we all had great time so we plan to return next year. Good value, aghios nikolaos is a lovely town and the surrounding sea and mountains are breath taking. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are at the quieter partof the hotel and tend to have larger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    151
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
365
98
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bombay india
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

A good resort but overrated.

Good amenities, god rooms, sleeping comfort good
But cottages lack privacy and are too close to each other.
However great views from the balcony. (But then Crete is so beautiful from any angle)

Spent a bomb on booking this property for a week, but I really wished I had booked something else.

The staff was good, but mechanical.
Right from the reception to the bar or restaurants are the play zones, the staff seemed pretentious.

The touch of the Cretan hospitality was completely missing.

If you are looking for a posh place to stay this is the place. However this will not add to any experience of being in Crete.

You are better off staying in a good resort in your home country.

In my opinion, this booking was a mistake

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jinesh_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great accommodation! Staff friendly and helpful, particularly at the pool bar. Food great and a quick trip into Agios Nikolaos opens up all the other food, drink, nightlife and shopping possibilities. Piano bar restaurant in town overlooking the lake for a special meal (not a bad thing on the menu). Bus every 30 mins and taxis cheap. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at Candia Park as a family of four in a Sea View room. We were mildly disappointed with our introduction, as there was minimal information given on check in (other than a resort map) - we would have liked some information on kids club and activities, restaurant theme nights, tours that could be booked through the hotel etc. We were quite taken aback when printing off tickets to Watercity Waterpark at reception, and the receptionist told us that they could have organised the tickets cheaper for us.
Our Sea View room was in a perfect location with a brilliant outlook over the sea, and they are in a reasonably quiet part of the resort. However the rooms definitely are a little tired. Small things make a difference: half full shampoo/conditioner bottles, no tissues, no tea towel, no dish rack, glasses that so small you need to fill them three times to get a decent drink: certainly not enough to ruin a trip, but little things I guess you expect when you are paying a reasonable price for a resort room.
Now the good - the pool is fantastic, the beach is beautiful, there are plenty of water activities, and the jetty area was brilliant to jump off and snorkel. The resort was reasonably busy during our stay, but there was always a lounge available for us.
Thankfully we had a car, which made transport a lot easier, as there is no way the kids would have walked into Agios Nikolaos or Elounda - they are just a little too far for a comfortable walk. So whilst the resort is not "remote", it is a taxi ride into either town, and this is definitely worth doing a few times.
Wi Fi access is not available in the rooms. but there are hot spots around the resort, which work well most of the time, but we definitely had difficulty each day for a small period getting connected.
Overall, it is a really nice resort, and keeps the kids more than occupied and happy. We would use Candia Park again, but we would make sure we had a car, and if the rooms were upgraded a fraction it would be an excellent rating for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel area was large, lot of stairs but also ways for wheelchairs and buggies, many building where to stay, nice flowers and trees all around, cute kitties in the cafe, happy staff... We stayed at upstair room with large balcony. Room was quiet and clean. Some cockroaches I saw in the room and fridge did not get closed well so it was too warm.

Most disappointed I was for the location; hotel was really isolated from nearest villages. It was almost impossible to get out without car because the road from the hotel to main road was really steep and with two kids and baby buggies almost too hard to get up. There where nothing close to the hotel, no restaurants, cafes or shops. We rented car for three days what was nice.

Restaurants in the hotel were ok. They were little bit more expensive than restaurants in the villages which is understandable with no competition. Open times were weird; cafe (with best lunch menu) opened at 5 pm which was absolutely too late for lunch. Taverna opened at 12.30 which was too late if kids get up early... Pool bar offered only hot dogs and sandwiches which was not enough for us. Dinner was buffet or a la carte; food was ok. I used to travel to Crete for excellent fresh food so that`s why I was not satisfied this hotel´s offers. Except breakfast which was tasty with great variation!

Privet beach in the front of hotel was Really small!! With big waves there were no beach at all!

Hotels offers many activities and program; Cretan night, music, magician (which was superb), activities for kids etc.

Hotel is perfect if you just like to stay there, like average food from buffet, which is of course easy with kids, laying by pools, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TSP616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It is always difficult when travelling to come from one place to another as properties/hotels/locations are very different. Having come from a lovely cosy hotel on the other end of Crete I was a bit disappointed at Candia Park. The staff are pleasant but our room is very tired with a rusted fridge that doesn't close properly, mouldy grout in the bathroom and fabric bed frames that are stained and worn. When I lay down to rest after a long day of travel my bed stunk of perfume , pillows, sheets and bedspread. None of the other beds did. It made me feel like someone had tried the room but moved to another and they had left the sheets. Also in looking for a pair of goggles I thought had dropped behind the dresser I found an old pair of dirty underwear and some old socks.

Also be warned that mid afternoon all the food services except the pool bar are closed. This was hard as we had passed up lunch on the way to get to our destination and then had hungry teenagers to deal with.

We were on the lower level and my youngest was not able to sleep due to the noise from the people above walking around.

The pools are lovely and I think for people with small children just looking for a sun getaway it would be fine. For us with 10 to 17 year olds it feels a bit isolated and separated from the culture of the region.

The beach is much smaller than it looks in the picture also.

Positives are that the rooms are spacious as are the terraces, there is reasonable food choice and a safe setting.

Not a terrible experience but I don't think I can recommend it in general.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Queenieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Myself and my four year old daughter stayed here at the beginning of June.

As a single parent I like everything to feel safe and be as easy as possible, this holiday was both.

The complex was very clean and the layout was excellent with lots of room for everyone! The complex was full the week I stayed and but there were still plenty of sunbeds and room for little ones to run around and adults to hide away.

My daughter especially loved the beach, it's very narrow with shallow waters, perfect if you don't want to be running miles as your small child makes a dash to the sea.

I stayed self catering which was ideal, some nights we ate on the balcony, some we ate in the complex and others in Ag Nik. The complex has a buffet was 20euro per adult and 5euro per child it also have another set menu, with spag bol and the like for about 8euro.

I was desperate to visit Spinalonga having read 'The Island'. I suggest reading it again when you are there it really did make the visit very memorable, beautiful and a little bit sad. We went early in the morning from Elouda and got a ferry across for 10euro , you stay for 1 1/2 hours, which is just about right and then the ferry takes you back, the tours start arriving about 11.30am, get there before them!!!!

This complex seems to appeal to all nationalities, there were very few Brits there when we stayed. I think it was the Danish and German half-term so the kids club was full of 'big-kids' which put my daughter off going but it still gave us somewhere to go together to get away from the sun for a little while. They have a playground as well, which was good.

Enjoy your stay, it's very pretty here.....

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizandava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
1.0 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.5 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#6 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#5 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candia Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candia Park Village

Property: Candia Park Village
Address: Agios Nikolaos, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Candia Park Village 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cretan style village right on the sea between Aghios Nikolaos (3.5km) and Elounda (5km), from which a frequent bus service connects with both villages.The airport and capital City of Heraklion are 65 km away, and all the fascinating attractions of the island can be reached by full or half day excursions. The village is comprised of 222 units of different types, set among 65.000 square meters of gardens. All units enjoy the same facilities including individual air-conditioning / heating, direct dial telephone, safety deposit box, TV, fridge, facilities for light cooking, filter coffee machines, hairdryer, private bath and shower and large terrace or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candia Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candia Park Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Candia Park Village Agios Nikolaos
Candia Park Village Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing