We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel and Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minos Beach Art hotel
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Minos Beach Art Hotel is truly wonderful. The facilities, accommodation and staff are all fantastic and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

It is perfect whether you want a peaceful relaxing holiday as a couple or a family break as the facilities cater for all needs. Lovely pool, however we didn't spend a great deal of time there as the views by the sea were picturesque and the sea wonderfully warm.

There was plenty to choose from for breakfast ranging from pancakes and cooked breakfast to traditional Greek yoghurt, honey and fruit, plenty for all tastes. The evening menu choices were limited to three options, but all cooked to perfection with a salad buffet to accompany , again a range to cater for all tastes. Every Tuesday night you can book (at an additional 55euros) to have a Champagne and Lobster meal on the roof top restaurant that over looks the bay. We found this definitely worth the extra money as the serves was 100% and the spectacular views over the Mirabello Gulf really made it a memorable evening.

We had a Junior Suite bungalow room 44, situated 1 row back from the beach and not really overlooked by anyone. Our room was the perfect size with a dressing table, small TV and a sofa and double bed, the only slight improvement that we thought could have been made would be a softer mattress as the bed was quite hard, all though I do believe that you could ask for a mattress topper. The rooms were cleaned daily and always spotless with clean towels fro the bathroom and beach also provided daily.

The gardens are also worth a mention as there are many different pieces of art work situated in and around the hotel, some more abstract than others. You often bump into these when wandering around the well kept grounds of the hotel and are worth stoping and having a look.

All in all a fantastic hotel and holiday and would definitely return!

Thanks to all the staff who made this a truly special stay!

Becky & Will - Room 44

Room Tip: Room 44 was amazing and not overlooked at all!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WillBecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Becky,
dear Will,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a save trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for.

Concerning the matrasses we would like to inform, that we provide toppers in order to customize the beds to the individual needs of each guests. If you visit us next time, please let us know and we will be happy to help you.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly
Minos Beach Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
There are newer reviews for Minos Beach Art hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed during August for a week with two children 12 and 16. We found the hotel quite formal for a family and there tended to be more couples and older guests rather than families. That said the hotel is very nice, good food, staff are friendly. Beautiful location. My only criticism is they allow smoking in the restaurant. Sitting next to a smoker whilst eating breakfast or dinner was not pleasant. If you ask before sitting down they will seat you away from smokers.

The nearby town of Agios Niolaos seemed safe and there are plenty of restaurants and bars. It is worth a visit to nearby Elounda, Spinalonga and the Lassithi Plateau and cave. We had a car so avoided the organised excursions which can make these attractions quite busy.

The aquaplus water park is worth a visit if you have children, ours absolutely loved the day. It was not overcrowded. You have a wristband whereby you can buy food/drinks and pay on leaving. You can then put valuables in a locker for the day.

Overall lovely holiday. Leave plenty of time when returning home, Herkalion airport is not very efficient - it took us nearly an hour to go through security.

Room Tip: We had a sea view hotel room. Very quiet and easy to get to restaurant/beach etc.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travelers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your well - deserved holidays.

Concerning the restaurant we would like to inform, that we have a smoking and a non-smoking section in the outside area in order to comply with the wishes of all our guests. If you come next time, just ask our restaurant staff to place you in the non smoking section and they will be happy to help you.

Dear guests, for us it was a big pleasure to host you and we hope to see you back again!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Minod Beach Hotelmananegement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here 10-17 July and we loved it. We were in bungalow 21 beside the small beach and although small it was fine for the two of us. The bungalow was spotlessly clean and not overlooked by other guests. We were half board and the food did not disappoint- there was a great choice at breakfast and dinner. We ate at the water front bar everyday and due to the fact there was only a couple of tables and couches it never got too busy. The location of the hotel is perfect for chilling out. My only complaint is one that many hotels don't seem to be able to do anything about and that's people putting their towels on sunbeds early in the morning and then not appearing until after lunch. On one occasion the owners of two towels bagged the best loungers on the beach and then did not appear at all. Don't let this put you off - if you like to stay in a quiet resort with extensive grounds and no blaring music and karaoke bars then this resort will suit you. We had a fantastic time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frances84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Crete and for staying with us in Minos Beach. We hope you had a save trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to read, that you had a nice holiday.

Thank you very much for your advice concerning the sunbed reservation. As we have plenty of sunbeds all around the hotel, there is really no need to reserve. Please be sure, that we will have an eye on it.

For us, it would be a big pleasure to welcome you again!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely,
Minos Beach Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We spent a week at the Minos Beach. Everything was absolutely PERFECT! The welcome and service are impeccable. This is the perfect to relax and enjoy the beautiful view. We lived in a bungalow type 20, ideally located in the beautiful gardens. (I recommend the number 54). We feasted 2x the restaurant "La Bouillabaisse": divine! The buffets for breakfast and lunch are delicious. Thank you to the servers for their kindness. We highly recommend this hotel for those seeking tranquility and easy living. If you are fans of "clubs" with animations and other infrastructure, it will choose another hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Labyssin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a smooth fhlight back.

We appreciate your kind feedback and are happy to read, that you enjoyed your holiday and that you found the relaxation you were looking for.

For us, it would be a big pleasure to welcome you again and we hope you return soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly Minos Beach Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was a last minute holiday, so we didnt have time to look around for suitable Hotels.
We came up trumps, it was a wonderful break, everything about our stay was excellent i would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Minos Art Hotel 17th July 2012 for one week. We had room 35 with pool. From the mo...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HILARY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a relaxed return home.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we highly appreciate your kind feedback and the very nice pictures. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. The satisfaction and the relaxation of our guests is our highest aim and your words are a high motivation for the whole team to give every day only the best to our guests.

We would be very happy to see you again and hope that you return soon!

With best regards from Agios Nikolaos,
Yours sincerly
Minos Beach Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed 1st week of July. Start with the negatives bed was very hard, the seafront bungalow was dark and shower was poor interms of pressure. The hotel was very quiet which made it lack atmosphere. This was the same with Agios Nikolaos and maybe all of Greece due to the economic climate? BUT the above did not spoil the holiday at all, the staff were very friendly and helpful the surroundings were beautiful. We had full board and we were not dissappointed good quality food which was varied. The best thing is you can sunbath in a different location everyday around the hotel!
Will return!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richwasp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Mr. Austen,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice! We hope you had a save flight home and that you arrived as relaxed as you left us.

We appreciate your kind feedback and that you share your experiences with other travelers. It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and spent a relaxing holiday with us. For the whole team, your nice words are a big motivation to do every day the best for the satisfaction of our guests.

We are very sorry that you felt the matrasses too hard for your individual needs. If you come next time, please let us know and we will be happy to provide toppers in order to customize your bed for a comfortable sleep. Concerning the water pressure we want to inform, that this is a local problem, which unfortunately we cannot influence much and kindly ask our guests for comprehension.

Dear Mr. Austen, we are looking very forward to see you again and hope that this will be soon!

With best regards from Agios Nikolaos,
Yours sincerly
Minos Beach Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed in early July for a week in a seafront bungalow. The location as well as the scenery of the hotel are beautiful and according to the hotel's stars. Unfortunately not everything else.
Here a couple of things to consider:
Room: If you're a couple, do ask for the mattress topper as this is the only way you'll have a proper double bed. No i-pod dock but a dated stereo and the 'fresh fruit' is far from it. Also the shower gel and shampoo is no-brand and you actually have to ask for it to be replenished yourself at reception.
Food: good breakfast. But a table-bin, metal table number and paper napkins are the sort of things you might see in a cheap Mallorca high-rise hotel. Oh and they clear the buffet at 10am on the spot - not impressed! Lunch is what you'd get in any good english Gastro pub so nothing amazing though the salad buffet is superb. Dinner is OK but having people sit in different restaurants according to which room they stay in is absolute nonsense - especially as they are adjacent to each other! There is limited menu choice and so we rather ate out than being the last table at 10pm!
The Spa and gym were never open so you had to get a key from reception.
All in all not exactly what you would expect from a proper 5* hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank netty1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Crete and for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a save flight home.

We appreciate your feedback and feel very sorry, that we were not able to fulfill your personal expectations during your stay. Please accept again our sincere apologize!

We have read your critic points with a lot of interest, because we are working daily in our services and our quality and respect a lot our guest’s opinion and suggestions.

Concerning the table bins, we want to inform, that many guests have been asking for it, when we did not have them. So we put them according to our guest’s wishes and take care to keep them clean frequently. The numbers on the tables we are using for operational reasons. Many times we have trainees from colleges of hotel management and sometimes also new employees, who might not know the seating order very well in their first days. To make sure, that every guest gets exactly what he ordered and to avoid confusions, we are using the table numbers. As we are trying to work as environmental – friendly and to reduce our water consumption as much as possible, we took the decision to use napkins from recycled paper in the morning in order to avoid too much water consumption and washing powder for the laundry of napkins.

In our hotel description, which is used by the travel agencies, and on our website the difference between Ambrosia and Bacchus restaurant is clearly explained. It is also mentioned, that for lunch or dinner we offer a choice of menus. Additional to various starters and desserts, each evening we daily serve at least 8 different freshly cooked main dishes (4x international meats and fishes, 2x Greek dishes, 2x vegetarian dishes). For lunch, in our tavern with its wonderful sea view our guests find a small buffet with daily fresh cold and warm starters and can choose the main course from the big menu or enjoy the dish of the day.

For space reasons, it is not possible to offer dinner in just one of the restaurants. As we want our guests to enjoy their dinner relaxed and peaceful and without queuing, we took the decision, to device the restaurants depending from the booked room category.

Kindly note, that the small wellness center and the gym is opened Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 10.00 – 17.00, as normally it is not highly frequented.

Dear guests, although we did not convince you during your recent holiday, we kindly ask for your comprehension about our point of view. We would be very happy if you return to Crete one day and may give us a second chance to convince you from our ability.

With best regards,
Yours sincerely,
Minos Beach Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.3 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
5.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
3.5 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
3.6 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Beach Art hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Beach Art hotel

Address: Akti Ilia Sotirchou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: £130 - £583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Beach Art hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Beach art hotel has been influenced by the traditional architectural style of fishermen’s villages of Eastern Crete. One storey, whitewashed bungalows and villas with terraces and minimal interiors are almost touching the sea. The unique environs of the hotel with its sumptuous gardens and narrow stone paved streets host the 45 works of Greek and foreign artists. In the eastern part of Crete, only a ten-minute walk from the town centre of Agios Nikolaos and a 45-minute drive from the airport of Heraklion. Exquisite decoration features, minimalist forms and Feng-Shui elements enriched by the Greek aesthetics of cotton and wood, handcrafted details, candles and water syntheses, create unique spaces and corners, making your stay in Minos Beach unforgettable. For a truly VIP experience at Minos Beach, we offer one presidential villa and three executive villas with private swimming pools, as well as exclusive bungalows that are literary “caressing” the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Minos Beach Art hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Beach Art Hotel Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Minos Beach Art Resort
Hotel Minos Beach Art
Minos Beach Hotel
Minos Beach Art Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing