We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but think if this is what you really want”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minos Beach Art hotel
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Very nice but think if this is what you really want”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

For Crete and most destinations this in the 'more' expensive hotel bracket. A standard room is £180 plus a day, going up to Superior Villas (with pools or by the sea) at £400 plus a day. Includes breakfast.
It is a beautiful setting and well appointed and the staff are friendly but distant. The private sun decks and beach are excellent and great for snorkelling.
However, it is the first hotel we've stayed that has a hierarchical structure. Depending on your accommodation this dictates what restaurant you can use. Also, much to our surprise, there's a dress code for evening bars and restaurants, no jeans or any clothes that can be classed as 'sports'. Although had a brought sufficiently smart clothes (Hackett etc) these were all polo tops and the like. We weren't to happy about this after paying such a premPium. So we avoided using their bars and restaurants. Also despite the contemporary website and publicity materials, the clientele are in the main middle aged to older.
There are many good and reasonable restaurants very near the hotel, see my other reviews, and the town centre is a 15 min walk. The municipal beach is also next door which has a good cafe, the guys who run it are great, and it's worth checking out.
It is a very nice hotel but not a five star modern hotel. Internet slow, showers go cold at peak times, blownlights left unreplaced, shower gel and soap dispensers empty. The gardens are over grown and a bit unkept and the beach umbrellas and other kit woren and a bit shaky. It seems caught in a timewarp, having been established in the 60s. The art is not looking its best! We were told they still have many customers still coming after 40 years, they are still have that mind set, it's a bit Absolutely Fabulous in a way.....was chic but heading to shabby.

Room Tip: Ordinary villas are not really worth more than the hotel rooms. All have paths around them and are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much visiting Crete and for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback, as it helps us to improve. We are pleased to read, that in general you enjoyed your holidays. Please accept our sincere apologize for some weak points you figured out and be sure that we will work on it, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. Thank you for informing us about those details!

Kindly note, that in the hotel description and on our website the difference between our two restaurant is cleary explained and that a certain dresscode especially during dinner is very common in 5 star - hotels worldwide.

For us, it would be a pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to be able to convince you completely from our ability in this occasion.

With best regards from Agios Nikolaos,
Yours sincerly,
Minos Beach Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    192
    56
    17
    15
See reviews for
127
511
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

My wife and i stayed in crete for many years in the hermes hotel in ag nik, but when we married we thought we would treat ourselves and booked the minos beach for our honeymoon and we have never looked back since!!!!!!!!
in 2010 we stayed in a jnr suite which was in the garden of the hotel , the room was beautiful,spacious and spotless. we were very happy but then we moved to a private pool apartment and we were totally blown away!!!! the room was the same size and standard of the jnr suite but add in your own private pool (which is cleaned daily) , total privacy and beautiful view of the bay it really made our honeymoon something to remember for the rest of our lives.
There was no way we could ever go back to the hermes after experiencing this place so in 2011 we booked again and had another excellent two weeks and then this year (2012) we returned there for two weeks in june and another two weeks in sept!!! so you could say we really love this place!!!!!!!!!!!!
But why do we love it so much??????
Minos beach art hotel has it all , great rooms all very spacious ,clean and comfortable .
The staff really are excellent so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much , and if you want anything all you have to do is ask.
The hotel grounds are massive ,so there are no sunbed wars!!!!!!! as there are more than enough to go around.
it is a really nice walk along the coastline in the hotel grounds as they offer a good view of the bay and the port which is a 10 min walk from the hotel and also it is nice to go and check out the artwork which exhibited all around the hotel and its grounds.
The manager is a really nice man , he always makes a great effort to come and talk to as many guests as possible and when we returned in sept he was even kind enough to upgrade us ,which we totally didnt expect and as you can imagine we were very pleased!!!!
Having read some of the reviews i cant really understand what some of the people are complaining about as i have never had any cause to complain whilst staying at the minos!!?? if you like to go away and relax in beautiful surroundings ,get looked after by friendly and attentive staff and stay in really beautiful rooms then maybe its time for you to try the minos beach art hotel as well, just be careful though because if you stay once you might catch the bug like my wife and i and you will definitely be booking up every year!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: waterfont bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yeabo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming again and again to Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travelers. We hope you had a smooth return and also took some Cretan sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. For the whole team your nice words are a very big motivation to continue giving every day only the best for our guests. The satisfaction and the complete relaxation of all our guests is our highest aim and it is very nice to see, that you also felt this.

For us, it was always a big pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again!

With best regards from Agios Nikolaos,
Yours sincerly
Minos Beach Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed 4 nights in a Junior Suite located in the main building with stunning views over the gardens towards to the sea. The setting is lovely with beautiful gardens leading to a very private stretch of beach and attractive sunbathing areas running round the length of the property. The hotel has been very well-designed and with the bungalows nestling in the gardens it feels like a small resort hotel and certainly belies its 129 room capacity.

Our suite was spacious with a good-sized balcony although the bathroom was fairly basic with shower curtain and horrid soap dispensers which was more Travel Lodge than Small Luxury Hotels. Added to this the bath was cracked so all in all the bathroom really let down the standard of accommodation.

The main buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner was excellent and a good choice of well-priced local wines. The real disappointment was Terpis Restaurant which did very moderate, unimaginative lunches. It's a real shame considering its ideal position above the beach.

Service was generally very friendly and efficient.

We enjoyed our stay but 4 days was long enough. With some minor upgrades to the bathrooms and improvements to the standard of food in Terpis it could be much better and for this reason fell short in our view to merit the highest rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much visiting Crete and for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback, as it helps us to improve. We are pleased to read, that in general you enjoyed your holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for. Please accept our sincere apologize for some weak points you figured out and be sure that we will work on it, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. Thank you for informing us about those details and for letting us know your wishes!

For us, it would be a pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to be able to convince you completely from our ability in this occasion.

With best regards from Agios Nikolaos,
Yours sincerly,
Minos Beach Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

My wife and I arrived at the hotel late in the evening(after dinner had ended) to find fresh filled rolls and a bottle of local wine in our room/waterfront bungalow. This was the start of a wonderful holiday. There are a small number of what looked like very pleasant actual rooms arranged the reception area and the dining rooms but the majority are arranged in single, double and a few triple units in an overall pattern which reminded us of a village. There are wide paved paths off which individual paths lead to the bungalows. All pathways are lined with a variety of tall mature shrubs. This provides privacy yet groups of two or three or four bungalows have a degree of contact allowing guests to talk with each other- just like neighbours in a village. Waterfront units had sun-bathing beds on small paved extensions which allowed access to the clear, clean sea in the bay. The sun beds were reserved for individual waterfront bungalows. We had a large terrace and just by leaning over its walls we could watch the activities of numerous types of fish, crabs etc. The food was excellent and we would recommend half-board.
The interior of the bungalow was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and the air-conditioning was superb. The food was excellent and eaten in exceptional surroundings. All the staff we met were extremely pleasant, helpful and efficient. We have travelled widely but consider this hotel to be the best we have ever visited.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastJ_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Crete and for staying with us at Minos Beach. We hope you had a smooth return.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are happy to read, that you enjoyed your well - deserved holidays. The complete satisfaction and relaxation is our highest aim and it is nice to see, that you also felt this.

It would be a big pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to see you back soon.

With best regards,
Yours sincerly
Minos Beach Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was our third stay at Minos and little much has changed (thank goodness), the food (scrumptous! - would recommend half board where you can chose between lunch or evening meal)), room quality (clean and spacious), and helpfullness of staff were just as we remembered and helped us to begin our holiday in style.
Two nice touches when we arrived about midnight; we were given some sandwiches in case we had not eaten, and were told we had been upgraded - wow! On our last stay 8 years ago, we actually pre booked and paid for an upgraded room, but really if you are on a budget a standard room is more than adequate as all are quite close to the sea and have other similarities.
The swimming pool is large, plenty of sunbeds surround, is well maintained and clean. Here you can purchase drinks and snacks from the very pleasant and efficient Maria.
The weather for his time of year (late september), was exceptionally warm, around 30 degrees every day with clear blue skys, but without the mosquitos I recall from our previous stays earlier in the Summer.
Location was good for some sight seeing activities such as Spinalonga Island (the former lepar colony) and would recommend Victoria Hislops "the Island" for holiday reading. We hired a car for a couple of days for 80 euros all inc. and visited Michlos a small fishing village with great snorkelling and beach front bars.
One small critisism of the Hotel was the high mark up for mini bar and bar drinks (not unusual I know) in particular large bottles of still water and local beer, both of which can easiliy be purchaed across the road in the supermarket for under 1 euro. Consequently, accept for dinner, we brought from the supermarket for our days spent by the sea or on our patio relaxing. We were not the only ones doing this, and this is probably why the room fridge was quite small! I feel if Minos offered complementary water in the room on a daily basis, this would be a nice touch!
If you are Scuba Divers, we can thourougly recommend the dive centre, where Stefanos will take great care of you whether you are a new or experienced diver. PADI courses can also be taken. Visibility once under water was excellent, although a full wet suit is needed due to the water temperature. The dive centre can supply anything you might need and if diving is not your thing there are other activities or you can simply go out with the dive boat and snorkal.
We will definitely be back again and next time will not leave it 8 years!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming back to Crete and for staying again in Minos Beach. We hope you had a safe trip home and took some Cretan sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. It is very nice to read, that you enjoyed your holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for. Your praise for the whole team is a big appreciation and above all a great motivation to continue to do every day to the best for our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Minos Beach Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We'd both been working really hard and needed a break. My wife found this place and booked it.
Initial impressions of reception and grounds were good; then we were shown to our room which was elegant, VERY clean, and spacious and airy.
We settled in and went to dinner. Wow! From the first sip of the soup we knew the food would be excellent, and the standard remained throughout our stay. The table staff were attentive, efficient, and friendly.

Sunbathing was a delight. Properly built bathing platforms surround the hotel on the waterfront. So no dirty sand etc. Sun beds were plentiful despite the hotel being fully booked. When you got too hot you could slip into the sea for a relaxing swim as the surface was a calm as the pool. A proper pool ladders to assist you climbing out of the water.

And the views across the harbour were gorgeous

Particular mention for Maria at the pool bar as she was efficient and charming, and very funny. And the barman was hysterically funny, but new his trade!

Throughout the place was spotless, the room was faultlessly cleaned and towels changed and little touches like flowers in the room made it a delight.
Drinks and lunch aren't cheap, and we saw people buying water in town as it's cheaper, but we left there yesterday utterly convinced of the value we'd had for our money.

Our most relaxing and enjoyable holiday ever. Thank you to all of the team there.

Room Tip: the bungalows may be small, but all you need is a bed and shower; you'll be out enjoying the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a safe trip back to London and took some Cretan sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and we are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your well - deserved holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for. Your praise for the whole team is a big appreciation and above all a great motivation to continue to do every day to the best for our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon for some relaxing days under the Cretan sun!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Minos Beach Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel is fantastic!
We booked through secret escapes for our trip and everything was perfect !!
Our accommodation was a room situated in the main body of the hotel.The view was superb with a great balcony over looking the gardens,pool and out to sea.
The food really is top notch restaurant quality with great service.If you book half board you also have the option to eat during the day at a lovely restaurant over looking the bay,which we found gave us the option to explore the restaurants in the surrounding area during the evening which was perfect.
The staff are very friendly and professional and nothing is too much trouble.
Agios nikolaos is quite a busy little port but nearby elounda is a little quieter,with a great variety of restaurants only a 15 minute taxi ride at a cost of €13...well worth it.
The pools great,the sea is crystal clear and if your after a relaxing time then this place is for you!
We would definitely recommend ......enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steventomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Crete and for staying with us at Minos Beach. We hope you had a safe trip home to Sheffield.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are happy to read, that you enjoyed your well - deserved holidays, especially as it was a very special occasion. The complete satisfaction and relaxation is our highest aim and it is nice to see, that you also felt this.

For us, it was a big honour to welcome you for your honeymoon and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to see you back soon.

With all the best regards,
Yours sincerly
Minos Beach Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.3 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.3 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
67.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
3.6 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
6.6 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Beach Art hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Beach Art hotel

Property: Minos Beach Art hotel
Address: Akti Ilia Sotirchou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Beach Art hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Beach art hotel has been influenced by the traditional architectural style of fishermen’s villages of Eastern Crete. One storey, whitewashed bungalows and villas with terraces and minimal interiors are almost touching the sea. The unique environs of the hotel with its sumptuous gardens and narrow stone paved streets host the 45 works of Greek and foreign artists. In the eastern part of Crete, only a ten-minute walk from the town centre of Agios Nikolaos and a 45-minute drive from the airport of Heraklion. Exquisite decoration features, minimalist forms and Feng-Shui elements enriched by the Greek aesthetics of cotton and wood, handcrafted details, candles and water syntheses, create unique spaces and corners, making your stay in Minos Beach unforgettable. For a truly VIP experience at Minos Beach, we offer one presidential villa and three executive villas with private swimming pools, as well as exclusive bungalows that are literary “caressing” the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minos Beach Art hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Beach Art Hotel Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Minos Beach Art Resort
Hotel Minos Beach Art
Minos Beach Hotel
Minos Beach Art Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing