We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great veiws and staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minos Beach Art hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Minos Beach Art hotel
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great veiws and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I have been twice to this hotel and had a water room on the last visit it was just the thing for chilling out. Whilst the hotel is classed as 5 star it's close but not there yet. The staff our great and will always go that little bit extra without coming over as being false they treat you as you like to be treated if it's like one of the family and they get to know your and share but if you want it strictly profesional that's what you get.
The setting is great with a view over St Nicholas bay and on Sunday you can even heard part of the church service. Yes the ground are rustic but they are very well kept and lit up at night when you are making your way back to the room .The art work has now weathered and blends into the surroundings. It's a 25 minute stroll into town and 5 euro taxi back. And yes we will return in May 2014 and as always looking forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RabbiBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming back to Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to see, that again you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. With pleasure we will forward your kind words to our team, as we think, that this is the nicest way to thank them and of course also a big motivation.

It was a big pleasure so welcome you and we are already looking very forward to see you again next year!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    192
    56
    17
    15
See reviews for
127
511
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Minos Beach in September. My partner Kellie wrote a review. This is to add..

The trip was for my partner's birthday and also a surprise engagement.

The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful in planning for these events and also upgrading our room when we arrived. A big thank you!

The highlights were the room (bungalow), the private sun bathing spot you get with the bungalow and the restaurant and entertainment. This was first class, the food exceptional and the service (especial head waiter Miltos) superb.

We will definitely come again.

The only quibbles and I say this to hope for continual improvements when we come again :-)

* The wifi connection was poor. I know the hotel has made upgrades here recently but more work is needed to cope with the new demands on wifi from smart phones etc. We rarely had constant connection throughout the complex so this was not just outside our room

* ironing board in rooms or available. We ironed our stuff like most people before packing but during travel shirts get creased. The hotel requires you to wear trousers in evening for restaurant (quite right!) and I prefer to wear a shirt with trousers. Anyway I went to reception and they don't provide an iron etc. to guests only laundry service at five euros a shirt to iron. This is too much just to iron out some creases. The receptionist did however after I asked get the laundry to do this for free and I provided a tip but it would help to save this bother in future.

* sometimes the service in the bar area was too slow taking more than 15mins to get service by the waiter. This only happened once but on a sat night. When there was more than one waiter for instance during the excellent entertainment evenings this was much better.

So all in all superb, thank you Minos Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neildfulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice and for joining us for a very special occasion. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are very pleased to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. With pleasure we will forward your compliments as additional motivation to our team.

Thank you also very much for your remarks, as they help us to improve.

Please allow us to inform, that for health and safety reasons in Greece by law we are not allowed to provide irons to our guests to use them in the rooms. If this would be different, with pleasure we would have provided an iron for you, but we can just ask you for your kind understanding, why we were not able to fulfill your wish.

Thank you also very much for informing us about the WiFi. In June/ July we already installed far more antennas in the whole hotel and it since then it was working quite well. Please excuse the inconveniences and be sure that we will check the antennas again and work on it.

Concerning the bar, we can just ask you for our sincere apologise. Our barman is doing his very best to serve our guests quickly, but if the bar is full, it can last a bit. We will think about giving him a helping hand, especially when we have live music.

For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I will not bore you with what is not up to the 5 star grading rather to say that the only things that are definitely 5 star are the staff. They are beyond expectations and the best we have found worldwide in the last 25 years. Nothing is too much trouble and they all work so hard and always with a smile. Nothing is forced, their attention to detail and genuine wish for you to enjoy your holiday more than earns them 5 star.
The drinks prices are also 5 star (not in a good way!), as is the beautiful setting and location. The rooms and the hotel are functional and the food is good but 4 star at best.

If you expect 4 star you will not be disappointed but bear in mind the 5 star price you pay to go there.

Room Tip: Ask for mattress toppers they help marginally. All rooms are twin but can be made up to doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We are pleased to read, that you appreciate especially our staff and the service and with pleasure we will forward your kind words to our team, as this is the nicest way to say them "Thank you" and of course also a very big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

Please allow us to add, that we are officially classified as a 5 - star - hotel according to the European hotel classification, as you can see also on www.hotelstars.eu or www.grhotels.gr.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year.

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We are currently staying at the beautiful Minos Beach Hotel. We were slightly concerned after booking to read a few negative reviews. Yes the paths are uneven, but that adds to the rustic charm of the hotel and grounds, which are well kept and beautiful. Yes the beds are hard, but a request for a mattress topper solved the problem. We have found wi fi coverage to be excellent all over the hotel and grounds. Our first floor room 204 in the main hotel has a lovely sea view, which is kept spotless by the always smiling Despina. One of the great joys is always being able to find a lounger by the pool or the sea any time of the day. Maria in reception very helpful when we had a minor problem. We will definitely come back, and the dream would be to stay in one of the lovely waterfront bungalows.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 418Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for staying with us in Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had smooth trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to read, that you really enjoyed the unique charme and the atmosphere of Minos Beach. Your compliments for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Almost perfect. Great position just outside Ag Nik, wonderful layout within the superb gardens, marvellous access to the sea and sunbathing areas. On top of all that, fabulous food and helpful staff. This is not a place for wild parties but is just perfect for peaceful rest and relaxation. We met many people who go back there every year and we will almost certainly return next September.

Our only criticisms are minor and, I believe, easily addressed -

1. There is no access to irons/ironing boards and you have to use a laundry service. We have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world and they all now provide this facility.

2. The wifi needs to be improved. Given the extent of the hotel grounds I appreciate this could be problematic but there does need to be good wifi in all the rooms.

If these two issues are resolved by next September, we will be able to write a perfect review.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bevan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Bevan,

Thank you very much for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to see, that your enjoyed some peaceful and relaxing days in Minos Beach and enjoyed especially the food and our service. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

Please allow us to inform, that for health and safety reasons in Greece by law we are not allowed to provide irons to our guests. If this would be different, with pleasure we would have provided an iron for you, but we can just ask you ask you for your kind understanding, why we were not able to fulfill your wish.

Thank you also very much for informing us about the WiFi. In June/ July we already installed far more antennas in the whole hotel and it since then it was working quite well. Please excuse the inconveniences and be sure that we will check the antennas again and work on it.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My sister and i have just returned from 2 fabulous weeks at the Minos Beach Art hotel. Upon arrival we were immediately given an amazing free upgrade to a superior seafront bungalow with a private pool. The lovely receptionist brought us a cool drink while the porter sorted our luggage. From that point the holiday just got even better and better.
The bungalow was very spacious with a huge outside area, stunning panoramic views, and of course our own pool and sunbeds! If you don't like a hard bed then mail the hotel before you arrive and ask for a mattress topper and it will be waiting for you, along with fresh fruit and red wine. The fruit is replenished daily by the charming "fruit man" who arrives daily with his basket! The cleanliness of the rooms is immaculate. Ok, some of the rooms need a little updating, but this must be balanced against the sublime sense of space, peace and tranquility of the hotel which is immediately apparent as you take your first steps out of reception into the exquisite well maintained gardens. The location of this hotel is priceless, and indeed it is rare these days to find a hotel with such luxury of space and location without spending vast amounts of cash!
The panoramic views of Mirabello Bay are breathtaking. Even though we had our own pool and sunbeds, it was never a problem getting beds if we fancied a change, either around the main (gorgeous) pool or by the sea or on the two little beaches.
The friendly and helpful staff were, without exception, fantastic. The food was beautiful and plentiful. Don't miss the Mediterranean buffets or gala dinners! My only gripe would be that there is supposed to be a dress code in the restaurants for dinner but it wasn't strictly imposed. This is a shame when you have taken the trouble to dress up for dinner, as we enjoyed doing. I also agree with the reviewer who mentioned the smoking. This was really annoying in the Ambrosia restaurant with some people puffing away between each course- yukky for us non- smokers. This happened wherever you sat in the Ambrosia so if there is a designated smoking area it wasn't apparent!
I agree about the paths - we found no problem with the paths which are just the same or better as elsewhere in town. Ignore all the reviewers who moan about the dated rooms and the old tv's. Quite frankly if you spend a holiday here in your room watching tele you really need to get a life!
The drinks prices are ok for a 5* hotel - ever tried buying a cocktail or a bottle of wine in a London 5*?? There are lots of nearby tavernas if you don't wish to pay the hotel prices. The little shop over the road is also well stocked.
Before you leave, make sure you find out about the history of the hotel which is in it's 50th year. Take a look through the visitors books from the 60's and be amazed at the comments from the first famous and royal visitors including Walt Disney and the Apollo astronauts!
We thoroughly enjoyed every second of our amazing holiday in this unique hotel and we thank the manager and his wonderful staff for an fabulous holiday experience. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deltablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice and for writing this phantastic review, which describes very well our hotel. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are very pleased to read, that you really loved your well deserved holidays, enjoyed the unique atmosphere of Minos Beach and also took the time to have look in our guest books in the lobby. Did you see the pictures from the beginning of Minos Beach in the conference room as well?

Your big compliments for the whole team are a great motivation to continue pampering our guests, whereever we can. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim and it's nice to see, that you also felt this.

Thank you also very much for your small remark. Please allow us to add, that we have a non-smoking area in the restaurant terrace. Of course we cannot avoid that the wind blows smells to places where they should not be, but if you come next time, please ask our staff to be placed in the non smoking area.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We spent a glorious week at Minos Beach in Sept. On arrival at the hotel we were upgraded from a garden room to a sea view bungalow, immediately we were impressed.

Our bungalow was really nice, modern with everything you need for a Greek holiday, as we arrived in the afternoon we immediately unpacked and opened a bottle of Greek wine and sat on our balcony and watched the sun set.

We were half board at Minos beach all food was excellent. Loved the buffet on the Sunday evening, all other nights were three courses with options, it was nice to be able to pick your starter and dessert from the buffet. The Gala dinner on Saturday was pretty impressive; 5 courses. It was great to be able to swap dinner for lunch as a couple of times we ate in the town.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and helped my now Fiancé arrange my birthday and proposal, thank you!

Pool area was really nice, we swam most mornings before breakfast. We did not sunbath here as we had our own private spot by the bungalow but there seemed to be spaces in sept.

It is easy to get in to town from the hotel, guess it depends on your age but not far at all. Agree might be tricky if you had heels on but in a pair of sandals or wedges not a problem.

There is a little shop across the road to get water so you do not need to pay hotel prices. There is also a little tavern close buy if you want lunch or a cheap cold beer away from the hotel.

All in all a really great holiday and we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in 72 - just set back from the sea, I think 73 is right on the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Minos Beach for such a special occasion and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are very pleased to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you also tried the nice tavernas in Agios Nikolaos. Your nice words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim.

For us, it was a big honour to welcome you for a very special and unique holiday and we would be very happy to welcome you again for your honeymoon!

All our best personal wishes and best regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.3 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.3 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#6 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
3.6 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
6.6 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Beach Art hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Beach Art hotel

Property: Minos Beach Art hotel
Address: Akti Ilia Sotirchou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Beach Art hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Beach art hotel has been influenced by the traditional architectural style of fishermen’s villages of Eastern Crete. One storey, whitewashed bungalows and villas with terraces and minimal interiors are almost touching the sea. The unique environs of the hotel with its sumptuous gardens and narrow stone paved streets host the 45 works of Greek and foreign artists. In the eastern part of Crete, only a ten-minute walk from the town centre of Agios Nikolaos and a 45-minute drive from the airport of Heraklion. Exquisite decoration features, minimalist forms and Feng-Shui elements enriched by the Greek aesthetics of cotton and wood, handcrafted details, candles and water syntheses, create unique spaces and corners, making your stay in Minos Beach unforgettable. For a truly VIP experience at Minos Beach, we offer one presidential villa and three executive villas with private swimming pools, as well as exclusive bungalows that are literary “caressing” the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your Minos Beach Art hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Beach Art Hotel Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Minos Beach Art Resort
Hotel Minos Beach Art
Minos Beach Hotel
Minos Beach Art Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing