We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Quiet and Picturesque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Minos Beach Art hotel
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Quiet and Picturesque”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a very relaxing holiday at the Minos beach. Fortunately we were upgraded to a Junior Suite bungalow (No.43) which was set in lovely gardens within sight of the sea. I can understand why many people have said it is not a 5* hotel - It definitely is not your usual glitzy, all marble 5* hotel. It is however a "Greek Island rustic 5* The whole complex is very picturesque and the crazy paving looks "in keep" with the rustic look and is fine to walk on with flat or wedge shoes - ladies you do not need high heel in Minos beach or Ag,Nik as the town is quite hilly in places. The whole area is probably not suitable if you are not too steady on your feet or you like a lot of entertainment at night. However you can always take the short walk into Aghios Nikolaos which is a pleasant place to visit day or night, with good shops, many small bars and cafes.
I would say only the Junior Suites and above could be classed as 5* so unless you get a really good deal on the sea-view bungalows I feel you will be very disappointed as they are much smaller and very basic.
LOWLIGHTS;:
Hard beds - still quite firm with the mattress topper
Uncomfortable sun loungers
Tea & coffee facilities should be in all rooms (given on request)
Little entertainment
Only get BBC world news and CNN news in English on the TV
Sort range wi-fi - the closer you get to reception the better
Stoney "beach" not very good for small children
HIGHLIGHTS;
Good food
Most of the staff are pleasant and efficient
Shop just across the road to buy water, drinks, snacks etc.
Bus stop just outside hotel
Lovely large pool
Plenty of sun loungers for everyone

To sum up: - If you just want a nice relaxing holiday in lovely surroundings, this is the place for you. If you take a good book and comfortable shoes I'm sure you will have a wonderful time like us.

Room Tip: Only go for a Junior suite or above unless you get a really good deal - the other accommodation cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlisonHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    199
    58
    17
    15
See reviews for
132
543
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we booked with Sovereign Luxury Holidays, part of Sovereign description states the "Minos Beach Art Hotel achieves discreet luxury" it was that discreet we did not find it.

This hotel is not a luxury hotel, the accommodation is tired, the beds are incredibly hard and with a mattress topper still hard and lumpy, the pillows are hard, there are no sunbed mattresses, indeed we spend the holiday attempting to find some form of comfort. The food is not four star by any standard, nor is the service, when we asked a waiter not to put the food on top of the fries as it covered them in oil, he said "the chef dresses the plate not me"

if this is Sovereign's idea of luxury then we will not book with them again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SFHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegrhotels, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travelers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We would like to thank you for informing us about the details, which did not meet your expectations and which were not at your convenience such as the room comfort and the food service. Please accept our sincere apologies for those inconveniences and be sure, that we will follow them up, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim and one of our standards is a quick reaction in case of solvable issues like yours.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again and to be able to convince you completely that our product is being updated.

With kind regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

If you want the latest in bathroom fittings, hotel room blingy or a 21st century approach to food and drink, then best to go elsewhere. Dubai, perhaps. For everyone else, there is much to love about Minos Beach. It bagged the best spot on the coastline over 50 years ago and there is ample space for everyone to have a quiet day with a front row view of the sea. The mature gardens are beautifully kept. The artwork around the grounds and the age of the hotel itself give character.

The staff were all lovely, with the slight exception of the condescending manner of the man on reception. Best in class were Eleni in the beach bar and Elena in the restaurants.

There was evidence of modernisation at the hotel over the past 50 years, presumably challenging given the age of the infrastructure. If the management would like to modernise further I would suggest the following as priorities:

- espresso pod coffee machines in every room, as found in many luxury hotels these days - this was a holiday that featured far too much instant coffee

- Some cushions on the hard, uncomfortable sun loungers

The rooms in the main building have the most gorgeous elevated view of sea and hills, but need proper blackout blinds as the shutters on the east-facing windows let in the sun, which woke me up too early each morning.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Someone_Sometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are delighted to see, how much you enjoyed the unique atmosphere and that you appreciate our services. Thank you also very much for your kind suggestions, which we will check, as each winter we are doing some smaller and bigger works concerning renovation and maintenance.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, if one day you return to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grappenhall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from a fabulous week at the Minos Beach Art Hotel. Had seen mixed reviews about the rooms but we were pleasantly surprised when we were escorted to ours (203, in the main block). Looks like the accommodation has been re-furnished as everything looked brand new. Great views of the gardens,pool and the sea. Food was of a very good standard and we thoroughly enjoyed the champagne and lobster experience at the a la carte restaurant (supplement required). Plenty of bathing platforms along the sea front with great views of the bay and town. Nothing was too much for the staff who went out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. Special thanks to Maria at the Ibiscus Pool Bar...she always had a smile, worked so hard, and was a great source of information about the local area and traditions. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in fabulous surroundings . The gardens were amazing!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms in the main block above reception. All have great views with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveandlibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are delighted to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Your kind words for the whole team is a big motivation to continue giving just the the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Perfect setting and lovely gardens. Rooms a bit spartan, at least at level we were in, Waterfront Bungalow. Food is generally very high standard. We had one visit to the Bouillabaise restaurant, but as we receive a credit of only € 15 each for being HB, an expensive dinner, though admittedly delicious. Staff are friendly and attentive, though on one occasion when the restaurant got busy there was a delay in getting our meal out of the kitchen. For a two week holiday in June by the sea in Crete, hard to beat. We would return.

Room Tip: Waterfront Bungalow - quiet, gives you chance to get in the sea without too much walking, though 95...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We are delighted to see, how much enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you especially loved our wide gardens with all the different artworks and flowers and our service. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again.

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just stayed for a week at the Minos Beach and if you want a location were you can just do nothing this is the place to stay. Room was delightful we had a superior waterfront bungalow which although expensive was extremely private and had a fantastic view. My only real complaint was the bed was probably one of the hardest I have ever tried to sleep on! We had half board but quickly realised that staying in to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant was not our idea of fun. Really don't understand why you would eat there every night when there are such lovely places in Agios town. We opted to take our half board as lunch and really enjoyed the buffet every day.

Not much goes on in the hotel very very very quiet, and longer than 7 days would be too much, but I can't fault the beautiful location and peacefulness. Would recommend the lobster evening in the al la carte restaurant expensive but a fantastic experience, one of the two nights we did eat in.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the walk room 63 is lovely, ask for a bed topper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylou49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We are delighted to see, that enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you especially loved our location, the quietness and the relaxing atmosphere.

Concerning the matrasses we would like to add, that each person has individual needs and habits concerning his sleep comfort. If somebody feels his matrass too hard, with pleasure we provide several kinds of toppers in order to customize the beds to each individual needs - just a short information at the reception is needed. So if you come next time, please don't hesitate to let us know your wishes and with pleasure we will do everything for your comfort.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again.

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is the second time I have visited the Minos Beach Hotel, and the second stay was as good as the first. The hotel location is fabulous, the food delicious, although if vegetarian the dinner option is limited to one only.
Although the rooms are basic, and not what one would ordinarily expect for 5*, the location, food and friendliness and efficiency of the staff more than makes up for this. Upgrades are being made (slowly!) such as the installation of a flat screen tv during my stay.
If walking is an issue, be sure that the hotel team are aware as some bungalows can be quite a walk from the reception/dining areas.
The recent allocation was bungalow 104 which could be noisy as very close to a municipal beach and quite a walk to the hotel itself. The noise did not bother me but I would imagine that some would prefer a quieter location, and indeed 2 couples asked to be moved after a day or two. They were re-allocated alternative accommodation without issue.
If you are not a party animal and looking for total relaxation, the Minos Beach could be the place for you!
Booked with Olympic Holidays and received full board for the price of half board.

Room Tip: Bungalows 104-108 should be avoided if peace is paramount, as they are situated near to a municipal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ldt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that in the quiet atmosphere of our hotel you found the relaxation you were looking for.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.3 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
800 reviews
67.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
3.6 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
6.6 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Beach Art hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Beach Art hotel

Property: Minos Beach Art hotel
Address: Akti Ilia Sotirchou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Beach Art hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Beach art hotel has been influenced by the traditional architectural style of fishermen’s villages of Eastern Crete. One storey, whitewashed bungalows and villas with terraces and minimal interiors are almost touching the sea. The unique environs of the hotel with its sumptuous gardens and narrow stone paved streets host the 45 works of Greek and foreign artists. In the eastern part of Crete, only a ten-minute walk from the town centre of Agios Nikolaos and a 45-minute drive from the airport of Heraklion. Exquisite decoration features, minimalist forms and Feng-Shui elements enriched by the Greek aesthetics of cotton and wood, handcrafted details, candles and water syntheses, create unique spaces and corners, making your stay in Minos Beach unforgettable. For a truly VIP experience at Minos Beach, we offer one presidential villa and three executive villas with private swimming pools, as well as exclusive bungalows that are literary “caressing” the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minos Beach Art hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Beach Art Hotel Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Minos Beach Art Resort
Hotel Minos Beach Art
Minos Beach Hotel
Minos Beach Art Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing