We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Minos Beach Art hotel
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely relaxing experience”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a wonderful experience. The level of service was exceptional and the surroundings delightful. We were never rushed, nothing was too much trouble and although full there was no pressure on facilities. Many of the guests we met were revisiting and we would have no hesitation in going back.

Room Tip: The superior bungalow with sea view provided easy access to the sea front and gave extra space and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    195
    57
    17
    15
See reviews for
130
525
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Don't often return to places for fear of disappointment but the second visit to the Minos Beach Hotel did not disappoint. The service from all staff was excellent and delivered with a genuine smile. Late night check in was very welcoming and the service in the dining room was excellent;the restaurant manager runs a tight ship so super service even though we were in the 'ordinary' restaurant. Last time we were in bungalow 21 and this time 28 both had great views....towels are fluffy and thick and bed linen is lovely; well done to the maid as the room was spotless.
So if you're looking for a relaxing break away from the chaos and noise of the city this hotel is for you. Five minutes from the hotel is a fab new bar on the water's edge with great music and a reasonably priced lunch menu. Well done to all the staff at the Minos Beach, you made our holiday.
OK you need a mattress topper and there should be tea/coffee making facilities in the room but once you see the view ........bliss.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 6 times! Why have we been back so many times? It is a beautiful hotel comprising lots of small villas, the views are stunning, the water is clear, the pool is huge, the service is excellent. The hotel is a short walk from many tavernas if you are on bed and breakfast and the walk along to prom to the town is not too long. Because we are familiar with the hotel and Agios, we can get relaxing straight away rather than spend several days settling in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodstockJack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neapolis, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The best Hotel in Agios Nikolaos Crete.
Staff is excellent.
The little Venice Minos Beach Art Hotel.
Minos Beach art hotel, a favorite of all those appreciating genuineness and authenticity, provides a luxurious stay in minimalist surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apapachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a superior sea view villa and found the accommodation very clean and comfortable. Having read many reviews I was a tad anxious about the bed, but with the topper it was fine. Our daily cleaner was wonderful providing fresh linen and thorough cleaning daily. The swimming platforms along the waterfront provide ideal sunbathing locations, and the furniture is adequate.
We had half board and mainly chose to eat at the hotel in the evening. Breakfasts are good with plenty of choice. As we were in superior accommodation we took our evening meal in the defined restaurant. This included an amuse bouche, fruit juice or soup, a starter, a main course, a salad and desert buffet. The meals varied over the week from very good to rather underwhelming, I would have been eating out if I'd stayed for longer than a week. The head waitress, Elena, does an excellent job. Only Greek wine is on offer and was not really to our taste.
The pool bar is very well run by an excellent lady who cooks perfect toasties and takes pride in her domain.
All in all a very pleasant experience, but not luxury by any means.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffsStroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just arrived home from my 3rd visit to this amazing hotel and I am already planning a return visit.
What makes this hotel so special is its unique location and relaxed but sophisticated atmosphere. You experience the sights sounds and atmosphere of a seafront location, surrounded by turquoise sea… you drift off to sleep with the sound of lapping waves on the sea shore you are serenaded by ever present cicadas and the gardens are a botanical delight and truly miraculous, filled with vibrant colour and
lush vegetation. Hibiscus, bougainvillaea, geraniums explode with colour around you while you awake to glorious morning glory flowers every day greeting you with their sapphire smile.
The sea is crystal clear, there are ample sun beds and you have a huge variety to choose from
your nearest sun soaking neighbour will be at least 30 meters away so privacy and peace comes as part of the package.
We went half board using our half board package at lunch time where you have an amazing lunch with attentive service at the Tersis restaurant which has something for everyone with huge variety and well executed Greek traditionals which you enjoy from an elevated position overlooking the bay shaded by pine trees(my favourite part of the day).In the evening we visited the town in order to inject some variety and experience some local cuisine and local colour ,but most of the time had to drag ourselves away from the perfect nurturing tranquil hotel environment.
The staff at the hotel were attentive welcoming and genuinely warm and exceptionally professional they welcomed us back again as if we were part of the family. We met a couple that have been returning to this hotel for the past 20 years….it's that special.
Accommodation is simple and typically Greek with natural furnishings and simple decor so if you're a fan of the brassy over embelished Dubai type hotel don't book this hotel as this place has a charm of its own and its simplistic decor has its own special purity, integrity and lure.
Lastly I must enthuse about the Spa at the hotel and the lovely Gina who played a significant part in removing the angst tension and accumulated stress that had built up prior to my holiday. Gina is warm welcoming and skilled at finding those tension areas and soothing the muscular knots also diffusing the anxiety that can prevent a sense of well being…she truly has healing hands.
We stayed in a superior sea view bungalow and I feel this is the best accommodation mainly due to the exceptional views but for me the most important added extras are privacy, peace and the tranquil surroundings…if you want events and entertainment this isn't the place for you. Be prepared to go with the flow ….there is a relaxed sophisticated dress code and every one speaks… greeting each other with the customary Kalimera ,Kalispera .
Thank you Minos beach again for a wonderful holiday experience.

Room Tip: Depends on budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I booked a trip and stayed at Minos beach art hotel at the end of June. We had a fabulous time, with great weather ( a few windy days) but lots to see and do. The food was really good quality, and the full board option is worth doing if you're going to be at the hotel most of the day. The snacks available outside of meal times are somewhat pricey. The beach and access to the sea is lovely and swimming great. The staff are very friendly without being intrusive. The rooms are well equipped, not fancy but clean and well maintained. There is privacy and not a feeling of too many people around, even when full. The restaurant for lunch and sea front bar are perfect and good dive centre attached to the resort. Would have been good to have a double bed as we just had two twins pushed together with separate mattresses and bedding .

Room Tip: Ask for sea front and with a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.3 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
67.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
3.6 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
6.6 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Beach Art hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Beach Art hotel

Property: Minos Beach Art hotel
Address: Akti Ilia Sotirchou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Beach Art hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Beach art hotel has been influenced by the traditional architectural style of fishermen’s villages of Eastern Crete. One storey, whitewashed bungalows and villas with terraces and minimal interiors are almost touching the sea. The unique environs of the hotel with its sumptuous gardens and narrow stone paved streets host the 45 works of Greek and foreign artists. In the eastern part of Crete, only a ten-minute walk from the town centre of Agios Nikolaos and a 45-minute drive from the airport of Heraklion. Exquisite decoration features, minimalist forms and Feng-Shui elements enriched by the Greek aesthetics of cotton and wood, handcrafted details, candles and water syntheses, create unique spaces and corners, making your stay in Minos Beach unforgettable. For a truly VIP experience at Minos Beach, we offer one presidential villa and three executive villas with private swimming pools, as well as exclusive bungalows that are literary “caressing” the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minos Beach Art hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Beach Art Hotel Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Minos Beach Art Resort
Hotel Minos Beach Art
Minos Beach Hotel
Minos Beach Art Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing