We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minos Beach Art hotel
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Having read a number of negative reviews on Minos Beach Art Hotel we were concerned about the reports about an old run down hotel. However we decided to try it out for ourselves and were so happy we had not changed our minds. If you are thinking about going, ignore the negative reviews – they are very exaggerated!
The hotel is a gem of a place, the views are amazing, the gardens and accommodation are well maintained and spotless. The sea is crystal clear with lots of places to go in from, the sunbeds are all new and modern. The artwork dotted around the grounds make for interesting walks too.
The walk into town takes circa 20 minutes and there is a good waterside promenade to walk along most of the way. There is a small shop just across the road to buy water/snacks from. Agios Nikolaos town is very touristy but you can find some decent tavernas to eat in. Our favourite restaurants in town were Pelagos, Avli and Faros. Migomis on top of the lake is excellent but pricy and serves more French style food than Greek.
We had opted for a seafront bungalow and we were not disappointed. We could see the wonderful view of the sea and the distant mountains from our bed, from our private terrace and from our reserved beach spot.
The hotel restaurants serve very good food and the service is also impeccable. Breakfast offers a delicious buffet, and Terpsis for lunch offers lovely traditional food. We only ate once at Bouillabaisse and we were disappointed with the slow service there. Cannot comment on the other restaurant as we never tried it as we opted to use our half board at lunchtime (Terpsis) and eat out in town in the evenings. We would like to thank especially Nikos, Nektarios, Nitza and the barman at the Main Bar for their friendly and welcoming service and smiles.
The only negative points we can remark on: the a/c in our room was not working, and nor was the mini bar fridge. However a call to reception and maintenance were over within 5 minutes to repair them. These amenities are however rather old and should be replaced. The phone also is so old that its actually retro and possibly modern now!
I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.
Room tips: bungalows 101 to 103 are the best, 104 to 109 are too close to the public beach and are slightly cut off from the hotel grounds. The bungalows further in after the sandy beach offer more privacy but get shady quicker in the afternoons so don’t go for those if you are sun worshippers like us.

Room Tip: bungalows 101 to 103 are the best, 104 to 109 are too close to the public beach and are slightly cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicandPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

What a perfect place to unwind and relax for a while! Definitely the best hotel in the area. Staff greeted us with the warmest welcome even at 5am after passing through a few not so ideal looking hotels immediately reassuring me and my partner we'd made the best choice possible out of the options in the area! Staff couldn't be nicer doing all they could to ensure a great stay despite being young visitors we were still treated with complete respect. Would recommend the spa massages highly. The food couldn't be faulted great room service too! Ideal place if you enjoy art and photography the hotel grounds and beach are totally beautiful as well as peaceful with many secluded spots of tranquility! The nearby harbour town is also beautiful, locals are also the friendliest people :) we stayed in the actual hotel complex and the view from our balcony was incredible our week long stay felt like two! Didn't need the private pool the grounds are quiet enough never more than a few people in the pool at once ! Was worried after reading some of the already posted reviews but honestly the beds are comfortable ,rooms not got the most modern televisions but the place is so great you won't need a TV at all! Thanks to the staff for a great holiday all round highly reccomded would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We did not choose this hotel, but stayed here as part of a wedding party. What a lucky occurrence! Minos Beach is comfortable, beautiful, relaxing, charming and genuine. From the fantastic and charming staff, to the comfortable room (#120 - junior suite), to the excellent food, drinks and entertainment - flawless.

The location is excellent - outside of the town center. We enjoyed the short walk to town and nearby restaurants.

The amenities and features are lovely: two small beaches, plenty of entry points into the water throughout the property, a sizable pool, plenty of sun lounge locations, on-property restaurants of good quality. The breakfast is one of the best we have found anywhere in any hotel in the world. Great quality and fresh with many choices.

Children will love it (but the kids' presence will not be overbearing for those who don't have children, because there's so much space): We traveled with our 13-year-old and our niece and nephews (7, 5 and 2) and all of them had a great time, with plenty to do, see and learn.

Thanks to TripAdvisor, we asked for a mattress topper, which was perfectly comfortable for us. We also asked for coffee service in our room (tea, Nescafe, kettle), which was replenished regularly - perfect for mornings on our front patio.

As reported by others, the WiFi is slow (in an evening, you could find us all in the bar near the lobby trying to upload photos and check email, because that is where the best connection could be found). It wasn't a problem for us, since we weren't there to work.

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at Minos Beach and would be happy to return. Huge thanks to the staff for providing such a delightful and happy stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a wonderful experience. The level of service was exceptional and the surroundings delightful. We were never rushed, nothing was too much trouble and although full there was no pressure on facilities. Many of the guests we met were revisiting and we would have no hesitation in going back.

Room Tip: The superior bungalow with sea view provided easy access to the sea front and gave extra space and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Don't often return to places for fear of disappointment but the second visit to the Minos Beach Hotel did not disappoint. The service from all staff was excellent and delivered with a genuine smile. Late night check in was very welcoming and the service in the dining room was excellent;the restaurant manager runs a tight ship so super service even though we were in the 'ordinary' restaurant. Last time we were in bungalow 21 and this time 28 both had great views....towels are fluffy and thick and bed linen is lovely; well done to the maid as the room was spotless.
So if you're looking for a relaxing break away from the chaos and noise of the city this hotel is for you. Five minutes from the hotel is a fab new bar on the water's edge with great music and a reasonably priced lunch menu. Well done to all the staff at the Minos Beach, you made our holiday.
OK you need a mattress topper and there should be tea/coffee making facilities in the room but once you see the view ........bliss.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frances84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 6 times! Why have we been back so many times? It is a beautiful hotel comprising lots of small villas, the views are stunning, the water is clear, the pool is huge, the service is excellent. The hotel is a short walk from many tavernas if you are on bed and breakfast and the walk along to prom to the town is not too long. Because we are familiar with the hotel and Agios, we can get relaxing straight away rather than spend several days settling in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WoodstockJack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The best Hotel in Agios Nikolaos Crete.
Staff is excellent.
The little Venice Minos Beach Art Hotel.
Minos Beach art hotel, a favorite of all those appreciating genuineness and authenticity, provides a luxurious stay in minimalist surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apapachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.3 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
1.2 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
6.3 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
16.3 mi away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Beach Art hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Beach Art hotel

Address: Akti Ilia Sotirchou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: £150 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Beach Art hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Beach art hotel has been influenced by the traditional architectural style of fishermen’s villages of Eastern Crete. One storey, whitewashed bungalows and villas with terraces and minimal interiors are almost touching the sea. The unique environs of the hotel with its sumptuous gardens and narrow stone paved streets host the 45 works of Greek and foreign artists. In the eastern part of Crete, only a ten-minute walk from the town centre of Agios Nikolaos and a 45-minute drive from the airport of Heraklion. Exquisite decoration features, minimalist forms and Feng-Shui elements enriched by the Greek aesthetics of cotton and wood, handcrafted details, candles and water syntheses, create unique spaces and corners, making your stay in Minos Beach unforgettable. For a truly VIP experience at Minos Beach, we offer one presidential villa and three executive villas with private swimming pools, as well as exclusive bungalows that are literary “caressing” the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Minos Beach Art hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Beach Art Hotel Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Minos Beach Art Resort
Hotel Minos Beach Art
Minos Beach Hotel
Minos Beach Art Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing