We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spinalonga Village
Nearby Hotels
Faedra Beach Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas(Agios Nikolaos)
US$480
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elpida Village(Istron)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Candia Park Village(Agios Nikolaos)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Du Lac hotel(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Minos Beach Art hotel(Agios Nikolaos)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$290
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lato Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
56
28
9
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
28
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleper colonyvictoria hislopdefinitely worth a visitboats arrivefree reigncafe pricesrocky outcropbeautiful place to visithired a carleprosysadnesssuncreameurosagiostoiletcretesea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Visit this Island with so much history. We stayed in the hamlet of Plaka and caught the little colourful boat over, taking 10 minutes or so. Fee €8 return leaving every 30 - 40 minutes. Entry through the old fortification tunnel way costs €2. There are toilets there and in peak season a little coffee/drinks pavilion . We read the novel "The Island" before we arrived which is SE when this island was the former leper colony of Greece from 1903 till 1957. Very poignant . Prior t hat the fortifications were built largely from the 14/15 the centuries b he Venetians and after by the Turks .
It's a pretty island as you approach but knowing some of the history enhances the feelings and enjoyment of this special place.
I'm sure it gets very busy in peak time and when the boats arrive from Eloundra and Agios Nikelaous. Take water and a hat.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank PKC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Went passed Elounda to Plaka to get a boat across to the island as recommended as it's cheaper than from Elounda. €16 on a converted fishing boat for two. Can't remember entrance fee but was free for young son. Spent about an hour walking round. It takes little imagination to visualise the island when it was a leper colony.
Interesting half day.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

originally a venetian fortress at the entrance to the bay it became a leper colony. Victoria Hislop's book, based at least in part on the reminiscences of an old inhabitant of the island, made the island and the area immediately famous. Up to 3,000 visitors come by boat daily from Agios Nikolaos so it is often packed and is extremely hot - use suncream, wear a good hat and take lots of water! - Our enthusiastic guide went to great lengths to tell us the island's history, and show us the stone houses built mainly on the landward side of the hill - the island can only be 1/4 mile across and is a rocky outcrop about 1/3 mile offshore, opposite Plaka. It is easy to imagine the isolation and misery of the island's inhabitants, some of whom were later even found not have leprosy at all - but still remained there for life; it was a genuine life sentence to be sent to Spinalonga -.
I'm glad we went, but because my imagination ran wild, I'm not sure I would go again!
Most boats later went from the island to a bay with some small sandy beaches and set up barbeques while some adventurous souls went swimming (good idea to have flip flop type shoes to wear in the water)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowbelly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This was our second trip to the island in consecutive years. We booked on the boat from Agios Nikolaos and had a wonderful afternoon. The boat had a cafe where it was possible to buy lunch, drinks, ice creams etc for reasonable prices. There was a stop for about 45 minutes along the way for people to swim if they wished. Our guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and happy to answer our questions.

The island itself is quite barren, but the little town where the lepers lived until the late 1950s is like a ghost town. Wild roses now wind their way through the old timbers of the former houses and shops. The atmosphere is peaceful and serene. A couple of the old buildings have explanatory panels in them, so you can find out a little about the island. It is also possible to walk round the island and see the Venetian fort etc. take your camera!!

There are no coffee bars or kiosks to buy drinks from, so remember a bottle of water and suntan lotion. It is amazingly hot there and there is little shelter.

The island, which once boasted a thriving community going about their business, now echoes to the sounds of tourists' footsteps. Soak up the atmosphere of this unique place and admire the people who used to live here. Their story really isn't so sad, but to find out why you'll have to listen to the guide!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank VeneziaNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Beeing inspired by the famous book, I desided to visit the village of Plaga and Spinalonga island which is very close. The old town on top of the island and the story of the people who lived imprisoned because of their fatal deseace till their last days make you have mixed feelings about the place. However, I found the history of the place particularly interested and the fresh food at the restaurants of plaka delicious!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Elsa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews