We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ghost town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spinalonga Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Nikolaos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spinalonga Village
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ghost town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great trip not just for History lovers but as well for adventure travellers, the water around the island makes the island look more misterious with so much difference between the colourful water!

We had "lunch" in a nice restaurant close to the small "port" with the view of Spinalonga through the window, a place to visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimaoTino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in Agios Nikolaos and did a trip to Spinalonga from Elounda. I read the book 'The Island' by Victoria Hislop before visiting Spinalonga and so glad I did! Apart from being a beautiful book the description of the island and life on the island as a leper colony brought the island to life! If you get the chance to go to Spinalonga it is well worth it! When we went in October it was fairly quiet which made it more enjoyable however I believe it can be rather unbearable with the heat and crowds in the summer months so beware!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Murray1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Visit this Island with so much history. We stayed in the hamlet of Plaka and caught the little colourful boat over, taking 10 minutes or so. Fee €8 return leaving every 30 - 40 minutes. Entry through the old fortification tunnel way costs €2. There are toilets there and in peak season a little coffee/drinks pavilion . We read the novel "The Island" before we arrived which is SE when this island was the former leper colony of Greece from 1903 till 1957. Very poignant . Prior t hat the fortifications were built largely from the 14/15 the centuries b he Venetians and after by the Turks .
It's a pretty island as you approach but knowing some of the history enhances the feelings and enjoyment of this special place.
I'm sure it gets very busy in peak time and when the boats arrive from Eloundra and Agios Nikelaous. Take water and a hat.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PKC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Went passed Elounda to Plaka to get a boat across to the island as recommended as it's cheaper than from Elounda. €16 on a converted fishing boat for two. Can't remember entrance fee but was free for young son. Spent about an hour walking round. It takes little imagination to visualise the island when it was a leper colony.
Interesting half day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

originally a venetian fortress at the entrance to the bay it became a leper colony. Victoria Hislop's book, based at least in part on the reminiscences of an old inhabitant of the island, made the island and the area immediately famous. Up to 3,000 visitors come by boat daily from Agios Nikolaos so it is often packed and is extremely hot - use suncream, wear a good hat and take lots of water! - Our enthusiastic guide went to great lengths to tell us the island's history, and show us the stone houses built mainly on the landward side of the hill - the island can only be 1/4 mile across and is a rocky outcrop about 1/3 mile offshore, opposite Plaka. It is easy to imagine the isolation and misery of the island's inhabitants, some of whom were later even found not have leprosy at all - but still remained there for life; it was a genuine life sentence to be sent to Spinalonga -.
I'm glad we went, but because my imagination ran wild, I'm not sure I would go again!
Most boats later went from the island to a bay with some small sandy beaches and set up barbeques while some adventurous souls went swimming (good idea to have flip flop type shoes to wear in the water)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowbelly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This was our second trip to the island in consecutive years. We booked on the boat from Agios Nikolaos and had a wonderful afternoon. The boat had a cafe where it was possible to buy lunch, drinks, ice creams etc for reasonable prices. There was a stop for about 45 minutes along the way for people to swim if they wished. Our guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and happy to answer our questions.

The island itself is quite barren, but the little town where the lepers lived until the late 1950s is like a ghost town. Wild roses now wind their way through the old timbers of the former houses and shops. The atmosphere is peaceful and serene. A couple of the old buildings have explanatory panels in them, so you can find out a little about the island. It is also possible to walk round the island and see the Venetian fort etc. take your camera!!

There are no coffee bars or kiosks to buy drinks from, so remember a bottle of water and suntan lotion. It is amazingly hot there and there is little shelter.

The island, which once boasted a thriving community going about their business, now echoes to the sounds of tourists' footsteps. Soak up the atmosphere of this unique place and admire the people who used to live here. Their story really isn't so sad, but to find out why you'll have to listen to the guide!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VeneziaNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Beeing inspired by the famous book, I desided to visit the village of Plaga and Spinalonga island which is very close. The old town on top of the island and the story of the people who lived imprisoned because of their fatal deseace till their last days make you have mixed feelings about the place. However, I found the history of the place particularly interested and the fresh food at the restaurants of plaka delicious!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elsa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
1.2 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
2.5 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.4 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#8 of 36 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
5.7 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#6 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinalonga Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinalonga Village

Property: Spinalonga Village
Address: Plaka Elounda, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Hotel Class:3 star — Spinalonga Village 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Spinalonga Village Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing