We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holidays!!!”
Review of Lato Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lato Hotel
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My family (wife and 2 children) together with another family, friends of us, visited Crete and stayed at Lato Hotel in Agios Nicolaos from the 20th until the 26th of July 2014.

We read the good critics for the hotel in Trip advisor and decided to book.

Where shall I start from? I am thrilled with this hotel!!

Lato is operating by a family, and they sure treat their guests as staying at their own home.

We made the reservation through Van (Vangelis) who is a member of the owning family. He was very helpful and allocated us a good family room with a king size bed and up and down beds for the children. He answered all our questions and did all his best to satisfy us before and after our arrival at the hotel.

The location of the hotel is one of the biggest advantages as it is only 15 minutes walking away from the centre being at the same time near and out the centre. One of the best beaches of Agios Nicolaos is situated just a 2 minutes walk from the hotel (Ammoudi beach).It also has a small playground and our children could spend some time there.

The room was fantastic. They had good quality towels, tea and coffee facilities and a fridge for our family needs. The children were very enthusiastic with the up and down beds and the king size bed was very comfortable for me and my wife. What really impressed us regarding the room but also all common areas and pool, was the level of cleanliness. I really cannot find a false regarding cleanliness. You could see and feel the good level of cleanliness wherever you go in the hotel. Well done!

The breakfast deserves to be mentioned. They had a good variety of items offering fresh products coming from their fields. Another member of the family, Mrs Maya, was preparing a specialty every day! We ate her delicious fig marmalade and her orange cake. We cant wait to go again for more delicacies..

The hotel was offering also lunch with limited dishes around the pool area. It also has a nice bar where you can enjoy your drinks around the pool or at night time when you need to relax. It does not offer dinner but who needs it as around of the hotel there are plenty of good choices.

The 3rd member of the family, Mr George, was very helpful with coordinating our trips around the area. Whatever he recommended was wonderful and worth it a visit! Thank you George!

In conclusion I would like to refer again to the quality of service, the cleanliness, good room, nice pool area and fresh breakfast. Excellent value for money! Perfect stay!

But mostly I would like to say about the way the owning family treats its guests. As owners, they do their best in order to provide genuine and excellent quality of service. Our holidays were enriched due to this family and their efforts to satisfy us!

Thank you Lato!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank meliosaristidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Arrived back on the 5th August 2014 after a wonderful holiday, but one week just was not long enough.

This was our first to stay at Lato Hotel and Agios Nikolaos.

We can’t believe how lucky we are to have stayed at this pretty Greek family run hotel; it was just what we were looking for.

Lato hotel is small and very welcoming, with a gentle Cretan charm, the rooms are small and comfortable, but to be honest in this beautiful part of Crete you will not be in your room very much, rooms are clean with tea making facilities, You can for a small extra charge you can have a fridge and Air Con, and safety deposit box which is in the 24 hour manned reception area.

As said in a previous post, the travel companies drive a hard bargain with these small hotels, so we thought the charges were very fair.

We stayed in room 110 on the ground floor at the rear of the hotel; we had a small Veranda balcony with two chairs and a table, just perfect for sitting and enjoying a cup of tea or a glass of wine.

The hotel have sea view rooms, and if you book direct with them you stand a better chance of being able to have one, but even if you book through your travel company the hotel management will do their very best to try and give you a side or sea view, but it is not always possible as the Hotel is very popular and appear to have a steady flow of bookings.

We were very happy with our room and found it to be quiet and relaxing, and private.
Breakfast is very nice, with cooked food, fresh fruit; homemade cake, cereals and some very tasty bread the small team of maids that serve are just charming, you can eat in the breakfast room or sit outside in the morning sunshine and enjoy the views across the Mirabello bay.

The family that own and run Lato hotel are always happy to help you with information on local attractions and directions to various locations.
Well I must also give a special mention to Jeanette the lovely lady that cooks and serves the lunch time snacks, she also runs the small bar in the day and in the evening, and she is indeed a legend , famous for not just her chips, but the lovely selection of food available.

Agios Nikolaos town centre is a 15 minute stroll from Lato hotel, a very nice scenic walk along the road with views across the Mirabello bay.

On the way into town there are some very nice restaurants and Cafes, and then on reaching Agios Nikolaos an abundance of places to eat and drink, and many nice shops.

My wife and I are looking forward to returning to Lato Hotel and next time for longer. xxx

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Family and I have just returned from a week in Agios Nikolaos, based at this family run hotel. Advertised as 2 star but definitely should be rated higher. Rooms were spotless and the staff were very friendly. All you can eat breakfast. Only fifteen minutes walk from the town with plenty of restaurants along the way. Will definitely stay here the next time we visit Crete.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A small hotel with good,clean facilities. Close enough to walk into the town and to be independent. The breakfast included a range of local foods which complimented the Greek style, such as yoghurt and homemade preserves. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would consider using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front get the morning sun whilst rooms on the back are sunnier in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel and deserves, at the least, another star in its rating. It is just a few minutes walk to a sandy beach and restaurants. The Lake area, shopping and the port are within walking distance. The grounds are lovely and well manicured. The hotel itself is nicely decorated and the dining and bar areas are certainly functional and spacious enough to accommodate a full house. The breakfast was different each day of the week and the offerings were plentiful, varied and very tasty. The staff were always very friendly and helpful.

Our room had a lovely sea view. Whilst the room was on the small side it had everything we needed and was very comfortably furnished and clean. The bathroom was roomy. The only thing I would suggest to the management would be to install ceiling fans. Air-conditioning is available for purchase on a weekly basis. We did not purchase it as we were out most of the day. It was quite warm in the room but once we learned to get the air flowing naturally we found it comfortable enough, however, a fan would have been much appreciated.

We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea-view. Upper floors have stronger breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flambard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is perfectly positioned just a short walk from the main town, the rooms are vet clean, the breakfasts are great and the staff are all friendly and helpful. We were in room 1 so we did not get a sea view but as we don't spend much time in our room that was fine, we did get a little noise from the road but nothing to be too bothered about. As you come out of the gate don't turn right to go into town turn left and walk about 50 yards to the most amazing traditional Greek taverna called Kpi Kpi, this is proper Greek food and its normally full of locals rather than tourists, one night we went there was a greek wedding in full swing! You are treated as friends rather than customers I highly recommend it,

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Well, having read some of the reviews I thought that I had stayed at a different hotel!! Husband and I arrived at nearly 4.00am and was helped to our room with our cases - not a hint of not being made welcome quite the opposite. Okay the next day I did say that I wasn't happy with the room and again the owners could not have been more helpful. Nothing at this hotel is too much trouble and I must say that I am quite a tough nut to crack!! The Lato is so clean and the bedding and towels are changed regularly and it is possibly the first time in a hotel that you can go back to your room about 11.00am and the room has already been serviced. The breakfasts are lovely with a mixture of continental and cooked, a great variety of homemade cakes, preserves and fresh fruit and Sundays cheeses pies are just yummy. The staff at breakfast are simply charming. You do have to pay for air con, safe and fridge but I feel that in this instance it is justified as the tour operators (Thomas Cook in our case) do drive a very hard bargain with hoteliers. It is in walking distance of the town with a choice of taverna's so for us it was ideal. As a two star hotel you could not do any better in my opinion and would certainly recommend it. Remember your can't please all of the people all of the time, again well done Lato!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel. Second floor has the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Olwen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
1.5 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
889 reviews
1.9 mi away
Naiades Almiros River Hotel
Naiades Almiros River Hotel
#15 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
2.5 mi away
Faedra Beach Hotel
Faedra Beach Hotel
#34 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Du Lac hotel
Du Lac hotel
#21 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lato Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lato Hotel

Address: Ammoudi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: £28 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lato Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, attractive hotel set in beautiful surrounding gardens overlooking the Mirabello bay. It reflects the charm and peacefulness of the countryside, while the resort is within 15 minutes walking distance. A great friendly family hotel that ensures a more enjoyable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lato Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lato Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Lato Agios Nikolaos
Lato Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing