We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite 5*” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sensimar Minos Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sensimar Minos Palace
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not quite 5*”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was a last minute booking and we were overall pleased with the hotel but we have stayed in 4* hotels in Crete that were on a par if not better. The location is beautiful but the hotel grounds require you to be able to cope with all the steps and slopes. The bed was the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in! There was no complimentary water in the room. There is a pool table in the room that we had the Welcome meeting in and guests continued to play loudly while our lovely Rep was doing his best to talk to us. We found the hotel more geared to Germans rather than Brits..film night was a German film, entertainment staff German (never tried to speak to us). There was the narrowest bath in the world in the bathroom and I timed how long it took to run enough water to cover the essentials....40 minutes! The resort was lovely but it was quiet at the end of season and I imagine it could be extremely crowded high season. We walked in 3 or 4 times and a taxi was 6 euros. Limited TV channels..CNN or World news for the English. We had room 146 which did indeed have a sea view but also one of the service road and were woken by the reversing bleeps of delivery lorries each morning. We tried to play tennis...the court is ok but take your own balls as the 2 we were given is not enough! We could not find fault with the food and found something we enjoyed each meal. If you go, try out the submarine boat that goes from the harbour (15 euros each)... Saw beautiful Turtles. Best thing about hotel is the adults only status..bliss.

Room Tip: Avoid 146 and thereabouts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Jane,

Thank you very much for coming to Crete and for staying in Sensimar Minos Beach. We hope you had a pleasant trip home.

We are pleased to see, that you enjoyed especially our food and with pleasure we will forward your compliments as additional motivation to our team. Also the rest of your review found our full attention. Kindly note, that we are an officially classificated 5-star-hotel, as you can also check on hotelstars.eu or grhotels.gr. We are very sorry that we did not fulfull your personal expectations and thankful that you informed us about some points. Please be sure that we will work on them.

Concerning the beds we would like to add, that everybody has different needs and habits. With pleasure we provide according toppers and in this way we are able to customize our beds to each individual needs. So if you come next time, please don't hesistate to contact the reception or send us an e-mail before your arrival and we will be happy to help you.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, if you decide to return to Crete one day.

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    135
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
53
346
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great location, helpful and friendly staff, lovely hotel and delicious food.

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite with a shared pool which was wonderful . Our patio was sheltered and private, the pool a good size and we also had access to a small private garden. Our room was very comfortable with more cupboard space than I have seen in any other hotel. Everything was spotlessly clean.

The hotel is so peaceful, the grounds immaculate with lots of different paths to wander round and a host of quiet places to sunbathe and relax.

Overall, a fantastic holiday and I am already wondering how soon we can return to this hotel and spend two weeks there next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laundrymaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Sensimar Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant trip home.

It's nice to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and appreciate especially our service, the food, the location and the quiet and peaceful atmosphere in the hotel. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again, whenever you decide to return to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I would first like to say thank you to all the staff who were always so pleasant and helpful and to the chambermaids who did such an excellent job during the two weeks we spent at the Minos Palace. It was our 35th Wedding Anniversary towards the end of our stay and it was a lovely surprise when a bottle of sparkling wine and fruit were delivered with a greetings card from the staff - such a nice gesture.

As with any review some things people might find not to their liking others might not even notice. We had booked a suite as the holiday was for a celebration. The brochure (Thomson) did not describe this accurately, the suites are actually one long room with two additional single beds by the patio doors with a sliding glass/wood partition. As this is a couples only hotel we would have preferred sofas and chairs at that end of the room. We also had two interconnecting doors into our room, whilst this could have been a disaster because there was NO soundproofing it worked out fine for us, as we had been upgraded to a shared pool room and got to know the neighbours we were all considerate to each other over noise levels. Because we were initially disappointed that the suite wasn't what we were led to believe (by the tour operator) ie separate lounge and bedroom we didn't fully appreciate the idea of having direct access to the pool from our terrace. We were soon sold on the idea. Yes the water was chilly but as mentioned in other reviews the majority of the main pool is extremely deep whereas the shared pool was 1.40m and I swam every day in it (I don't usually use a pool much as I don't like going out of my depth). On our last day we asked to see one of only 5 rooms that have their own personal pool. That was exactly what we had been expecting - (something not advertised in the Thomson brochure) - separate lounge (with sofas and chairs) leading onto one part of the terrace, walk in dressing room, steam room, bathroom with his and hers sinks etc bedroom with additional patio doors onto the terrace and a jacuzzi on the terrace as well as the private pool.

The brochure describes sea views from all rooms, - again this can be interpreted differently, we had to walk to the end of our garden for the sea view but the grounds are so lovely it didn't matter.

We loved the indoor/outdoor idea of the restaurant (roof and stone pillars but open along the front and one side) it was lovely to be able to eat with fabulous views across the bay. The food was excellent (again that can be subjective) the waiting staff appeared to be happy in their work with banter between guests and staff.

The location of the hotel as previously mentioned is on a peninsula so whilst Aghios Nickolas is just across the strip of water be prepared for a bit of a walk (we walked and used taxis - 6 euros). A small price to pay for the peaceful location of the hotel (Aghios can be busy). We also used the local buses from the end of the road (about 8 minute walk from the hotel),

We hired a car for half of our stay (booked independently over the web during our stay as the cost via Thomson was nearly 200 euros more) - you are probably getting the vibes that we were not too impressed with Thomson. Elounda and Plaka/Spinalonga are definitely worth a visit. We went to Plaka on the little road train and caught a boat across to Spinalonga from there as it only takes 8 minutes to cross to the island. We visited in September/October and the sea was changeable.

All in all we had a really nice holiday.

Room Tip: Opt for a standard room as suites are just longer rooms with two extra beds. Or push boat out and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs-CSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for coming to Sensimar Minos Palace for such a very special occasion and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home and took also some Cretan sun with you.

We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your holiday and appreciate especially the efforts our team is doing in order to pamper our guests. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim and it's very nice that you also felt this. With pleasure we will forward your kind words to our team, as this is the nicest way to say them "Thank you" at the end of the season - and also a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome your and we hope to see you again next year!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Perched on a rocky peninsular, this hotel has the best views ever. It is surrouned on 3 sides by water with a labyrinth of little pathways guiding you to clifftop and beachside sunbathing areas.
I don't know how to described the location of the hotel, except "its fabulous!"
Great food. Great staff. Great restaurant and, a hotel that happily provides for vegetarians without having to ask.
We have just got back from this hotel and would go back tomorrow.
It overlooks the main town and at 5pm each evening you can sit and watch the cruise ships arrive.
Be aware though, that this hotel is not for the unfit. It does sit on a hilltop and if you want to walk down to the beach, it is a steep slope.
The hotel sits about 40 minutes walk from the main town. It is walkable and we did it 4 times in the week, there and back. Very tiring if hot!
If you don't want to walk, get reception to call you a cab for a little over 5 euro. You can also use the local bus service but they only run about once an hour.
One warning. The main pool is very deep, even in the shallow area its more than 4 foot deep
To spread your wings further afield to perhaps Elounde, a taxi will cost you 10 euro.
So in all, this is a fab hotel and is worth every penny. You can if you want, dine at the sister hotel, the Minos beach if arranged with reception.

Room Tip: Don't bother to pay extra for your own or shared pool room. The reserved pool area has no atmosp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Mick,

Thank you very much for choosing Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We are pleased to read, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and how much you appreciate the location, the food and our service. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving nothing less than just the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you back for a relaxing break next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was our ninth visit to the Minos Palace Hotel and yet again we had a lovely holiday! Location, views, weather, food all excellent and backed up by friendly and helpful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble!! Sitting out on the terrace at breakfast and dinner looking at the seaview and AgNik is truly lovely, the whole atmosphere is relaxing and welcoming. Looking forward to returning again next year!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suebSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for returning again to Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We highly appreciate your loyalty and are pleased to read, that again your enjoyed your well deserved holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for.

Like every year, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are already looking very forward to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

What an amazing hotel. The location is spectacular ; beautiful gardens and wonderful sea views. We had a very warm and friendly welcome from helpful staff. Our room was so comfortable and spotlessly clean. Restaurant service was brilliant , the food delicious and plentiful and very varied both at breakfast and dinner. What wonderful chefs ! The Kulinarium was very impressive as was the beach bar for a lighter midday snack. All in all a very relaxing and memorable holiday. Thanks to all .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you very much for choosing Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip hope.

We appreciate your kind feedback and with pleasure we will forward your kind words as an additional motivation to our collegues, as this is the nicest way to say them "Thank you".

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

this was a super holiday my daughter and I have just returned from this lovely hotel, the staff were all very friendly and so helpful, the manager was always around in the hotel and very approachable, Buffet breakfast and dinner was plentiful and very tasty, we met many people who had been returning year after year we will return again, so much to do and you could even spend the holiday in the and around the hotel the gardens are beautiful and the little beach is so nice, as is the beach bar, the pool and the surrounding areas are very pleasant to sit and read, bedrooms, are spacious and clean, the view from our balcony was spectacular looking out to Ag Nik always something to watch little fishing boats to huge liners, all in all a very memorable holiday made perfect by the staff and manager of the minos palace hotel thank you all

Room Tip: our room 204 had fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillfieldhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Sensimar Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

It's nice to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and appreciate especially the breakfast buffet, the views and the quiet atmosphere. Your praise for the whole team is a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests, as the guest's satisfaction is our driver.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
1.0 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#6 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.6 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
3.9 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
0.5 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#5 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Minos Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Minos Palace

Property: Sensimar Minos Palace
Address: Thesi Nisi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#15 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Minos Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a rocky headland above the Agios Nikolaos Bay, the Minos Palace enjoys magnificent sea views and is just 2,5 km from the city centre. Sensimar Minos Palace offers 148 units with spectacular views of the Mirabello Bay. The hotel is luxurious but personal, picturesque, having high standards of service and accommodation. Add to this its beautifully landscaped gardens and enviable beach side location. Food & Beverage Facilities: Amalthea Main Restaurant - Indoor & outdoor restaurant located near the pool area. Serving an excellent choice of Greek and International cuisine. Enjoy the table d'hote restaurant with theme evenings offering buffet style also not forgotten are vegetarians & diabetic special menus. Culinarium Inblu Taverna - a tavern overlooking the beach serving lunch, ideal for those seeking al fresco with local specialties. Bacchus Lobby Bar - match your mood for refreshments, coffees or exotic cocktails in an elegant setting by the pool. Island Beach Bar - is the ideal place to relax and socialize, offering exquisite cocktails, hot and cold beverages, light snacks gazing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Sensimar Minos Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minos Palace
Minos Palace Hotel Crete
Sensimar Minos Palace Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing