We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sensimar Minos Palace
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The location of the hotel is superb for tranquility and wonderful views. But if you want do anything outside the hotel you are very limited. The walk to town is 25-30 mins (closer to 40 mins to the Lake area), with half the journey on a quite busy road, but the other half along a nice promenade. We only found one local bar nearby (Kri Kri on the road to town- very friendly but very quiet).
Food generally was very good (for buffet food anyway). I thought the choice of fresh fruit at breakfast was poor for a hotel claiming to be five star, but overall there was plenty of choice (especially the range of baklava on offer :-).
Note - men have to wear long trousers for evening meal (but it can be jeans). Maybe it was just me being dim, but this was not apparent until I turned up and had to change.
Another good food option is the small open air a la carte restaurant at lunch time. They will give you 10 euro credit towards this if you sacrifice your evening meal. We did this on one day and had our evening meal at the Avli Taverna in the town - lovely meal in a pretty courtyard away from the busy roads.

A big plus for this hotel is the staff - all fantastic, trying really hard to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ihateliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

It's really nice to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and how much you appreciate especially the quiet and relaxed atmosphere and the stunning views our hotel offers. Thank you also very much for your suggestion concerning the buffet selection, which with pleasure we will follow up.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    135
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
53
347
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed a week in August 2014, we had a shared pool suite which was very nice and mostly because of the pool. It´s very nice and calm, we didn´t even try the main pool area. We loved the beach, it is absolutely wonderful!

About the room: It was not really a "suite", just a normal large room with access to the patio and shared pool. We expected much more stylish room so that was a small disappointment, the pictures on the website are not reality. No complimentary water and the first thing you have to do is walk the 700 m to nearest supermarket to get water. The bathroom had a smell, poor airconditioning and you could hear noises from other bathrooms...Housekeeping people were nice and professional. The bed in the room was very hard! There was no top mattress. I feel that when staying in a hotel of this price range, it´s not the guest´s concern to ask for more mattresses and they should have proper beds. But the worst experience was when there was a cockroach in our room at first night! When we told about it to the staff next morning, they told that it´s because of the gardens and they will send someone to spray something. Anyway, I wanted to sleep with light on the whole week.

About the hotel: it feels like this is a hotel for German people. They greet you in German and if they send you messages to the room, it´s first in German and then in English. Food was ok, especially at breakfast. I was delighted for the vegetarian options at dinner, good variety of food.
No wifi in the room, very difficult to use internet anywhere in the hotel. You could see people sitting in the reception and trying to have web access.

Since this is a hotel for adults, it would be nice to have proper gym and not just a fitness room with a couple of equipments, not working well. Didn´t try the spa, but I noticed that they charge for access to steam and sauna - not again something that I´ve used to when staying in top class hotels.

This is a nice 4 star hotel. Could be much better if they would update rooms, upgrade wifi, have a proper gym. And understand that not everyone wants to speak German... overall experience ok and we had a great time at the pool and beach.

Room Tip: Shared pool suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicetraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We are pleased to see, how much you enjoyed the quietness and the relaxation at your pool and by the beach and how much you appreciate our food and ecpecially the vegetarian options for dinner. Thank you also very much for your suggestions, which with pleasure we will follow up.

Concerning the bed we would like to add, that each person has individual needs and habits concerning his sleep comfort. If somebody feels his matrass too hard, with pleasure we provide several kinds of toppers in order to customize the beds to each individual needs - just a short information at the reception is needed.

Kindly note, that in our region and because of our big garden it cannot always be avoided, that sometimes insects are entering into the rooms. In such cases our housekeeping usually is coming promtly after having been informed in order to remove these animals.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, whenever you come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here recently for two weeks and I must say what a really nice time was had. The hotel was spacious, quiet and plenty of room just to wander about outside and enjoy the sea views.All the staff were pleasant and the food was excellent, plenty of choice for all tastes. Of course, when in another country one should go with the local cuisine but the hotel does cater primarily for German guests and this is reflected in the breakfast choice, plenty of German sausage on offer but not a British banger to be had. I did have problems with the wifi in the hotel, the staff did mention that there was problem with Apple products and compatibility with the system, no such problem in any of the bars in Agios so I suspect that a system upgrade may be the answer.I also found out they the hotel did not have any ironing facilities, I was told that it was a health and safety issue and that no hotels in the area provided irons! Perhaps a note on the hotel website might be a useful addition since I have never encountered that situation before nor have I ever been injured ironing a shirt. Thanks to I and M who came to the rescue, the ultimate fully prepared travellers. I must also mention that English language tv is restricted to CNN and BBC world news - German entertainment programs are available.
My clothing may have looked crumpled but really did have a good time and if you want nice place to stay for a holiday in the sun I have no hestation in recommending the Minos Palace, just pack an iron.

Room Tip: East facing catches the morning sun and overlooks over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unbiasedone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you found the relaxation you were looking for. It's nice to see that you also enjoyed our food. Thank you also very much for your suggestions, which with pleasure we will follow up.

Beside many other things we also offer sausages, ham, beans and different kind of eggs for breakfast, but we recommend to try also the Greek specialities like e.g. our famous yoghurt with honey and nuts, the pastries, fresh feta cheese, olives, etc..

Our free WiFi in general is working quite well. Indeed we experienced a few irregularities with Apple products and we are already working in a solution for this.

Please allow us to add, that due to fire safety regulations we are not allowed to provide irons in the rooms. But of course we have a laundry- and ironing service for the comfort of our guests.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, whenever you come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I have lived in Europe for over a decade and when we travel, we always “go, go, go” in order to take in as much as possible. Not this time. We booked our trip to Sensimar Minos Palace to celebrate our birthdays and anniversary. We decided we would make no concrete plans and simply relax, enjoy our hotel and see what St. Agios Nikolaos had to offer. Well, we were stunned by how perfect our 8-day stay was. Everything about Sensimar Minos Palace was simply amazing – from the hotel itself, to our suite, to the food, to the amenities, and finally, the staff. (This is a Tui-sponsored (German) hotel so the hotel is primarily German but the staff also speaks English.) What a professionally run establishment! We can’t compliment the staff of Sensimar Minos Palace enough. When we checked in, we were given a complimentary drink while our paperwork was processed. When we were shown to our room, I thought the staff made a mistake because our room was too big. When I asked the front desk about our room, I was told we were upgraded to a suite! What a wonderful surprise. On my wife’s birthday, there as a knock at the door and she was given a delicious chocolate birthday cake and a hand-written, personal birthday card from the manager – which was an incredibly sweet gesture. Our stay included half-board (breakfast and dinner included) and the amount, quality and diversity of the buffet was simply incredible. Four or five types of baklava at every meal? Fresh fruit and vegtables? An unending supply of feta? I was heaven! Since there is simply so much to see and do in Europe, we never return to any location. However, if we’re here in 2015, we’ll definitely return to Sensimar Minos Palace. We were thoroughly impressed with our stay and highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to get away and relax. If you’re looking for a party place with an exciting nightlife, this isn’t the hotel for you. The hotel is super quiet with no children. Don’t miss the Church of Ayios Nikolaos which is located on the hotel grounds. Pretty impressive display of Greek history. If I had to pick out one negative, I would go with the bed. The bed could definitely be upgraded to something more comfortable.

One final note. If you walk down the hill to the main road, take a right and walk about 500 meters, there is a great store on the left that offers everything from local gifts (olives, postcards, towels, etc.) to personal hygiene items (toothpaste, shampoo, etc.) to food and drink (alcohol, snacks, etc.). St. Agios Nikolaos is about a 20-30 minute walk the other direction but this shop is very well stocked and close to the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are advertised as having an ocean view. Of course, the more you spend, the more options yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SP6873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Sensimar Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are delighted to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. For us, it was a big honour to welcome you for such a special occasion and it's really nice to see, how much you appreciate our services, the unique atmosphere in our hotel and the food. Your kind word for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests.

If you come next time, with pleasure we will also customize your bed to your personal needs. We don't only have a pillow menu, we also provide toppers for the matrasses and so we can adopt each bed to all individual needs of our guests. So if we can do anything for you - just let us know.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are already looking very forward to see you again, whenever you come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here in July, nice low level hotel with a salt water pool.
Area around the pool was kept clear, sun beds were scattered around the area with fixed parasols.
Hotel was set on a hill meaning a short, downhill walk to the beach area, this might be a problem for people with walking difficulties. Despite regular notes from the hotel management the sun beds were always reserved by towels being left on them.
Food was very good well presented and plenty of choice.
Internet was poor wouldn't work in our room and slow in main area of hotel.
Hotel does seem to cater more for the strong German presence.
Spacious rooms beds a bit hard.
Helpful staff.
Long walk into Agios Nikolaos.
One gripe, the hotel does not supply irons but does have an ironing service, at a cost and 48 hour turnaround.
Not what I would expect from a five star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for staying in Sensimar Minos Palace. We hope you had a nice flight home.

We are pleased to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Also your suggestions found our attantion and with pleasure we will follow them up.

Kindly note, that we have officially 5 stars according to the Greek hotel classification, but the tour operators are selling us mainly with 4 - 4,5 stars in order not to awake too high expectations.

Please allow us to add as well, that for security reasons we are not allowed to provide irons in the rooms. We ask you for your kind comprehension.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, if one day you come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INVERNESS, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon and loved it! We stayed 2 weeks at the end of May, probably not the best time to go as things were just starting to open for the season etc.
The food was great, staff friendly and it was very clean.
It was only a short walk into town and we did a trip to Santorini and to spinalonga - both recommended highly!!!
Would go back tomorrow :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NI5HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Sensimar Minos Palace for such a very special occasion and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are very pleased to see, how much you enjoyed your honeymoon and how much you appreciate the friendlyness of our team, the food and the cleanliness. Your kind words are a very nice motivation to continue giving nothing less than just the best to our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again whenever you return to Crete!

With sunny regards and all the best wishes,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spent 4 night at the Minos Palace and really enjoyed it. Even though the room was probably the cheapest it was minimal but with noticeable touches of style; maybe the "sea view" could have been better but again it was certainly the cheapest room around.
The location is really spectacular and the hotel is kept quite well. Breakfast and dinner were at the best standards available and the personnel manning the dining room were outstanding, from the George (not sure about his name really) to Ioannes and all the younger staff. The chefs were also very friendly and always ready to help. I run into one of the managers and he also was extremely well mannered and friendly.
The small private beach (although there is no private beach in Greece this was so unaccessible that was totally a private beach) was surprisingly very enjoyable and well protected from both winds and waves. The little IXth century chapel on the grounds of the hotel is just a gem.
Only low point was internet access: wifi was less than unreliable, but heck: if you are vacationing you can stay a few days off the grid!
Congrats Minos Palace! A well deserved Excellent score.

Room Tip: Well even mine, that was the cheapest, was very good. If facing east instead of west would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGS136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Sensimar Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are delighted to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you found the relaxation you were looking for. Your kind words for our whole team are a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, whenever you decide to come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
1.0 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#7 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.6 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
3.9 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
0.5 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#5 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Minos Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Minos Palace

Property: Sensimar Minos Palace
Address: Thesi Nisi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#15 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Minos Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a rocky headland above the Agios Nikolaos Bay, the Minos Palace enjoys magnificent sea views and is just 2,5 km from the city centre. Sensimar Minos Palace offers 148 units with spectacular views of the Mirabello Bay. The hotel is luxurious but personal, picturesque, having high standards of service and accommodation. Add to this its beautifully landscaped gardens and enviable beach side location. Food & Beverage Facilities: Amalthea Main Restaurant - Indoor & outdoor restaurant located near the pool area. Serving an excellent choice of Greek and International cuisine. Enjoy the table d'hote restaurant with theme evenings offering buffet style also not forgotten are vegetarians & diabetic special menus. Culinarium Inblu Taverna - a tavern overlooking the beach serving lunch, ideal for those seeking al fresco with local specialties. Bacchus Lobby Bar - match your mood for refreshments, coffees or exotic cocktails in an elegant setting by the pool. Island Beach Bar - is the ideal place to relax and socialize, offering exquisite cocktails, hot and cold beverages, light snacks gazing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Minos Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minos Palace
Minos Palace Hotel Crete
Sensimar Minos Palace Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing