We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Primavera Apartments
Ranked #26 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Essex
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 21 May 2008

We have just come home from a peaceful and relaxing two weeks at the paradise apartments. The apartments are spacious and clean with very basic kitchen equipment to self cater. Tula who owns the apartment is very friendly and is happy to help with all your needs. The cleaner kim who works 6 days a week non stop is also a great help if you need anything. The local beach havania is only 2 minutes away from the apartments and were very quite. The pool at the apartment is very deep and not very practical for the little ones.
The apartments are set back away from the main town of agios nikolaos and will take you approximatley an hour to walk into the center of town. Taxis are 6 euros if you choose not to walk into town. As we have gone at the begging of the season we had a ten minute walk to the closest shop (which is very expensive but found a spar in town which is moe reasonable). We ended up hiring a quad bike for 40 euros for 3 days to explore the area and access the town easily. The best resturant we found was a british bar called the Galley which had a large range of food british and greek which was reasonably priced.
We went on two trips with first choice to spinalonga and knossos palace - I would reccomend both trips.
I have one little moan and that is if you are flying with first choice from gatwick, i would come to the airport early to check in as we arrived at 4;15am and we was queuing up for over an hour to check in because of first choice and thompson merging into one company and only having limited desks. (you may also have this problem when leaving on your way home at herkalion)

  • Liked — Quiet relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — distance from town
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiet_little_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2007

we have just returned from two weeks here,i must say we had a great time ths appartment is basic but comfortable havania beach is close at hand and the elotia taverna is without a shadow of doubt one of the best places i have ever eaten the owner is one of the nicests people you could possibly wish to meet the local town is a short bus ride away and only 1 euro thirty to travel but the buses are nothing like back home they are really comfortable and exceptionally clean the local shop owner is also a lovely woman and nothing is to much trouble if you need help elounda is a must visit and get a full english breakfast from the cypriana it is outstanding both in quality and value the weather was very hot the only drawback i can mention is if your flight is a early morning one like mine 04.35 its a long old day and waiting about to go gets quite boring also go for a meal at the seagull by agios lake he does a really nice swordfish and chips food in general is nice and a good variety of dishes to choose from in total nice accomadation and the owner works her fingers to the bone some days putting in over 14 hour days

  • Liked — the pool had sun on it contantly
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

Arrived early morning from East Mids to the Paradise Apartments. Yes it was a pain lugging 6 suitcases down four flights of stairs, although thankfully you didnt need to use the entrance again until the flight home.

We booked a 3 bed apartment as a late deal on the internet and overall was pleased with the apartment which was generally clean with nice linen and decent towels changed regularly. The bonus was the three (yes three) terraces/balconies (one with sea view). The only complaint was that the kitchen could have done with a better clean and the fridge and cooker could have done with being replaced.

The pool was nice with plenty of sunbeds - no rush to get one in the mornings and of course the lovely Tulla.

The poolside bar was OK. Average fare and OK prices.

Not having been to any Greek Island , I have to say that we really loved Crete. The weather, the friendly people and the warm calm sea.

The apartments are a couple of minutes from Havania Beach (partly sand and shingle) and a 30 minute walk to Ag Nik with plenty of restaurants/bars to stop off along the way if you wish.

We found Olgas restaurant (again only a couple of minutes away from the aparmtents) to be really nice with a great view of the ocean from all tables. We also visited Kri Kri further along the AG Nik road and liked the atmosphere, staff and food good.

Ag Nik was really nice with a lake at its centre and some really expensive restaurants. We tried Du Lacs. The ambience and setting were lovely with food not being overly special but about twice the price we paid elsewhere!

We visited the waterpark which I would thoroughly recommend but go in the week and not week-ends as I would imagine it would be busy with the locals as well as holidaymakers.

All in all we had a wonderful time at Paradise Apartments and Crete and would return but perhaps not to Paradise Apartments partly because we found that combined with the price we had paid for the holiday along with the cost of food and drink we could have stayed in a hotel.

Go though, I'm sure you will have a great/restful holiday.l

  • Liked — near the beach but quite area
  • Disliked — new fridge and cooker needed and the AC not very effective
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

The apartments are a good 30-minute walk from Agios Nikolaos, along the coast road. Taxis are cheap though - €6 each way. It's a nice walk to town - you pass loads of bars and restaurants so you can always go into one of them to break the journey! Havania Beach is lovely - not sandy but pebbly for the most part, but with great views and lovely clean water. Olga's and Elotia's tavernas near the beach are both nice and good value. We ate lunch in Paradise's pool bar occasionally, and this was just your average bar food. No problem with it. Toula was lovely - very friendly and helpful. The pool's just the right size for the apartments, you could always get a sunbed. Our apartment was clean (and someone came to clean it every two days - and towels were replaced regularly too) but very basic. The terrace outside was lovely though. The only problem with the apartments is the steep steps to get up to the main road (where the transfer buses pick you up and drop you off). It was a bit of a pain lugging a suitcase up four flights of steps! Overall - good value and nice apartments, but far from the action. OK if you don't mind walking!

  • Liked — Proximity to beach and restaurants
  • Disliked — Lack of air con (unless you paid extra)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank YJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

after reading many good reviews about these apartments, i looked forward to a relaxing and easy holiday, which for the most part it was. however we (me and my girlfriend) did encounter problems.

As we were on a flight full of the 'clubbers' - Malia 07 etc. first choice sent us in a taxi, we arrived at the apartments at 6 in the morning with a peice of paper saying what room we were in and were told the key would be in the door....it wasnt, therefore we were forced to sit out until 9oclock and wait for tulla to get up and come and greet us... with our actual room number, although i understand this is not entirely the apartments fault i dont think its unreasonable to check that your guests made their apartments on arrival.

After unpacking we went down to the bar by the pool to pay for the air conditioning and the safety deposit boxes the brochure promised. we got the safety deposit box for €30 without a problem, however it turned out that the paradise apartments are not fully air condioned. our room (room 37) had holes where someone has intended to put it in, however it wasnt actually installed. so Tulla said we could have a very small fan for €38 for 10 days... hardly air conditioning, which would have made the whole apartment cool. a tiny fan blowing hot air onto you doesnt do much for a 30+C night, and as a result our sleeping was affected. another problem arose when at 2 in the morning on the second night the fan started to make noises like it was taking off...and then broke. that night was extremely unpleasant. however we were given a replacement. which was half the size and twice as loud. my advice would be to find out if you have this room and if you do take your own fan or plan to buy one from the town, €38 would probably get you a much bigger and more effective one..

Each room has a 'minibar' - a set of drinks in the fridge which are replaced as you drink them, however the tarrif in our room was wrong and €4 became €7 when time came to pay up, €21 for the phone wasnt too bad as we called england several times aswell as taxies.

I would advise against drinking at the pool bar, as it is much more expensive than any local taverna, there are several in a 3 minute walk. at the poolbar we paid €21 for 2 bacardi and lemonades each, (total 4 shots bacardi and 2 small bottles of sprite) which was 1.50 per bottle of sprite and 4.50 per shot of bacardi. we didnt drink there again as olgas shop(down a smALL PATH) sold litre bottles of bacardi for around €13. and the views are better from the balcony anyway.

after that night we stayed fairly distant from tulla until the day before we departed...

we arrived on the 10th and eventually got into our apartment at 9, we therefore would expect to have the room right up until the pick up at 12.30am on the 25th, (for a 4.20 flight) and therefore would have 14 full days in the apartment, however those expectations were dashed as the sign read we must leave the room at 12noon on the 24th. 16 and a half hours before our flight and 11 and a half before pick up. which is a long time without a shower. we were offered a shower in the hut near the pool however there was a head-level hole in the wall and insects about, so we just tried to keep activity down to a minimum for our last day. we were told by tulla we could keep the room till 6 (6 more hours) at a charge of 25euros, but we refused out of principle, we paid for a 14 day holiday, not a 13 day holiday and a day of uncleanliness. tulla also told me the next people in our apartment would arrive on the evening of the 25th. so us staying in there or atleast leaving our luggage there wouldnt have been a major issue, as there was the whole of the following day it was empty. it just seemed that everything we did involving tulla ended up with a dissappointment followed by an open wallet.

we will be complaining about this to first choice as will the other family who had the same thing happen to them. apparently this is a problem with the 'english travel agents' however i felt the rep was just passing the buck.

despite all of these i had an amazing holiday and we both thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent in crete and definitly would come back, just maybe not in the paradise. the location was amazing and it had really nice sunrise views, however down to tulla and first choice we thought that all the things we thought would be easy and straightforward werent at all.
from the previous reviews it seems many people liked tulla alot, and we could see she was a nice lady, she just did enough to put me off another visit to this apartments.

The town of ag.nik is amazing with some fantastic restaurants, 'Seagull' restaurant was by far our favourite, located on the lakeside on the same side as du lac (which we found overpriced and wasnt as nice as we'd hoped, for a high-price meal i would recommend megomis just up the hill with a great lake view)
Seagull was family owned and had a large menu with perfect food, it was also the cheapest place we visited. definitly worth a visit.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Poor Communication
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyeWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2007

I stayed at the Paradise Apartments along with 3 others. We had 2, 2 bedroom apartments which were clean, very spacious and had a lovely view of the sea. There are some steps to around the apartments, so it perhaps wouldnt be great for someone with limited mobility.
The pool area was just right - not too big and not too small, and of course there was always Toula ready with a friendly smile (and an english breakfast!). There is a small supermarket a 2 minute walk away and a reasonably nice beach just across the road (2 sunbeds and an umbrella is 7Euro 50) Although you're not in Agios Nikolaos there are a few nice Tavernas near by. Our fave was Candia, where the staff are great and the food yummy!
The walk into Ag Nik is right along the coast and enjoyable once the sun has gone down! if you dont want to walk there are always taxis that you can flag down along the side of the road.
For us, the location was great. I think being outside of the main 'resort' gave us more choice and perhaps made it that little bit more relaxing.
For the younger guests Malia is only a 40 euro taxi ride away if you fancy a night on the tiles. And it certainly makes you appreciate how gorgeous Ag Nik is!
So, we had a great time at the Paradise Apartments and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone! Toula certainly seems to be doing something right with so many people going back year after year!!!!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmazingG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2006

We stayed at Paradise Apartments for my hen do. I had wanted a relaxing week near enough to a town for if I wanted to go out for meals, but far enough away to relax and get away from it all. Paradise apartments were perfect.

There are only 11 apartments, so they have a really personal feel. Tula is a greek lady that runs the poolside restaurant and bar. She makes a cracking spaghetti bolognese and is really friendly and helpful.

You can walk to Aghios Nikalaos in about 25 mins. Ag Nik has a cosmopolitan feel to it with trendy bars and restuarants around a harbour. It was only 6 euros in a taxi when we were there.

Malia is a 40 min taxi ride away and is very tacky, but worth going to just for the experience! There are loads of bars, all about as tacky as each other with deals where you buy a drink and get 6 free!

You can hire pedalos, jet skis etc at several beaches nearby the apartments. Or you can just float around the apartment pool on a lilo getting a tan.

You can hire quad bikes but they advised against it due to a large number of accidents.

There are a couple of little supermarkets a few mins walk from the apartments which are stocked well enough for you to be able to cook yourself a basic meal on your little hob and eat out on your terrace with a bottle of wine.

The cockerels mentioned in other reviews are hardly noticeable and not at all annoying.

The apartments are clean and spacious and incredibly good value for money. There is nothing negative that I can think to say about them at all. I'd recommend them to anyone wanting a relaxing trip in a well run, friendly environment. The only negative I could give would be if you had children as due to the apartments being that bit further out they may get bored.

  • Liked — Spacious clean apartments
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to Du Lac - in Ag Nik - Gorgeous restaurant overlooking the bottomless lake
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
1.7 mi away
Creta Hotel
Creta Hotel
#22 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alantha Apartments Hotel
Alantha Apartments Hotel
#21 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lato Hotel
Lato Hotel
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#7 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eliza Hotel
Eliza Hotel
#27 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#25 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Primavera Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Primavera Apartments

Property: Paradise Primavera Apartments
Address: Havania, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Primavera Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Primavera Apartments Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Paradise Primavera Apartments Agios Nikolaos
Paradise Primavera Apartments Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing